We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Five Continents Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Five Continents Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

158 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Five Continents Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 145: English reviews
new egypt
Reviewed 10 May 2012

We had a wonderful stay at 5C B&B!!! We stayed in the Eurasian suite and it was absolutely beautiful. The room is very quiet and the bed is so comfortable. There is a balcony outside the room that we used every night. The property is absolutely stunning both inside and out. Peter is a wonderful host. And Akko was my...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jo b
PeterNeu, Owner at Five Continents Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for writing. It was great to have you here and I'm so glad you liked my breakfasts. Hope to see you again soon in New Orleans.

Minden, Nevada
Reviewed 27 April 2012

The Five Continents proved to be a wise choice for our particular needs and was easy to access from the I-10 freeway. We stayed three nights in the North American cottage behind the main house, which suited us well since we had a small dog with us. The gated driveway looked narrow, but even with our fairly large vehicle we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David M
PeterNeu, Owner at Five Continents Inn, responded to this review

Thanks so much for writing. I am glad you had such a nice time with us. We always enjoy having pets in the North American Cottage. Akko (our dog) is very welcoming. We look forward to your next visit to New Orleans.

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 20 April 2012

When we arrived we were greeted by Peter, who directed us to our parking spot. We drove through a little gate and were able to park directly in front of the cottage, which stands behind the house. The location of 5Cs was close enough to the French Quarter that we walked everywhere. When we had too much food and drink...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BRS-KCS
PeterNeu, Owner at Five Continents Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for writing. It was great to have you here. We always enjoy having pets in the North American Cottage. Hope to see you again soon in New Orleans and here at the Five Continents.

mcminnville, oregon
Reviewed 20 April 2012

I am from Louisiana and have been to New Orleans many times. I have great memories, but this place has ruined New Orleans for me. I wanted to show my son (age 19) how great the city is, so we stayed 3 nights at a hotel in the Quarter and had a great experience there. I made a reservation at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cathy N
PeterNeu, Owner at Five Continents Inn, responded to this review

So sorry you had negative experience. In a 19th century historic home gates and driveways are narrower than in newer suburban areas. That having been said, we have had many guests with large SUVs and even trucks park in this are, without a problem. I hope your next visit to our wonderful city will be more pleasant.

Chicago
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We stayed in the Eurasian Suite, double bedroom with bath. Peter is a fine chef who is very pleasant and caring. We got married on Friday the 13th in the French Quarter on this trip. Beautiful old home with southern charm. Large rooms, high ceilings and great location, close to the French Quarter but without all the hoopla. Very Peaceful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeff H
PeterNeu, Owner at Five Continents Inn, responded to this review

It was great fun and a privilege to share in the joy of your wedding here in New Orleans. We hope to see you all here again soon.

Pinecrest, Florida
Reviewed 6 April 2012

What a beautiful house and a wonderful host. We stayed in the European Suite. The master room was large with ample space and the adjoining living room/bedroom was very spacious. The bathroom was large and we loved the footed tub. :) Breakfast is worth getting up for, we set our clocks to make sure we didn't miss it. Our host,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank V B
PeterNeu, Owner at Five Continents Inn, responded to this review

So glad you all had a great time in New Orleans and with us at the Five Continents. Regarding the pull-out couch in the sitting room in the European Suite, we have added a rollaway bed for extra guests. It has worked well. Hope to see you again soon in New Orleans.

Reviewed 29 March 2012

We stayed in the cottage in the rear of the property. This was our first trip to New Orleans, and we hadn't stayed inn a Bed and Breakfast in many years. We arrived to a warm and friendly greeting from the owner, Jess. The home itself is absolutely gorgeous! The rooms were sparkling clean, and you really are made to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mojo_one
PeterNeu, Owner at Five Continents Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for writing a review. It was wonderful to take over the B&B from Jess back in September. Although I've added a number of personal touches to the decor and to the breakfast menu, I am proud to continue the long tradition of excellent hospitality for which the Five Continents is so well know. I look foward to your next...

Newton, Massachusetts
Reviewed 21 March 2012

We had a great trip to New Orleans and the Five Continents was an our base. It is excellently located on Esplanade Ave - a quick drive to the French Quarter or up to City park. You can also walk to the French Quarter if you enjoy long walks. Parking is free (in the lot or on the street). Breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank EC1962
PeterNeu, Owner at Five Continents Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us, and I am so glad you had a great time in New Orleans. Yes, the Asian Suite, the smallest and least expensive of our suites, needs some updating. This has been a priority since I purchased the property. The bathroom is bit small, and especially so when there are more than two people staying in...

Reviewed 18 March 2012

We were really excited to stay with Five Cont B&B solely based on recent reviews. Property is very nice and in a generally convenient location. Breakfast was prepared well but we did not get to have any of the delicous sounding dishes that were listed on the website and highly recommended by other guest. We were disappointed with service a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BrianKoren
PeterNeu, Owner at Five Continents Inn, responded to this review

I am so glad that you all had a great time in New Orleans and that you stayed at the Five Continents. I am sorry to hear that we did not fully meet your expectations. In light of your observations I have isntituted a seasonal Breakfast Menu Card to include some of our usual items such as Eggs Sardue, Russian...

Lake George, New York
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Our experience was second to none. The inn is just beautiful and the location is great. Each morning we were treated with a wonderful breakfast served in courses at just the right time. The relaxed atmosphere allowed us to make the most of our weekend. The cab service suggested by the owner was quick to respond and only $7.00. Next...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Laura C
PeterNeu, Owner at Five Continents Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for writing and your kind remarks. It was great to have you all here for your anniversary. Look forward to your next visit and you can rent bikes nearby.

64 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Treme
Degas House
Degas House
#63 of 139 in New Orleans
140 reviews
Uptown / Carrollton
Audubon Park House Bed & Breakfast
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Maison de Macarty
Maison de Macarty
#26 of 139 in New Orleans
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Street Inn
#17 of 139 in New Orleans
173 reviews
Garden District
Green House Inn
Green House Inn
#15 of 139 in New Orleans
320 reviews
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 139 in New Orleans
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Four Continents Guest House is a 5500 SF 1880's Greek Revival Mansion on beautiful live oak lined Esplanade Avenue 8 blocks from the historic French Quarter. It has a separate cottage in the back, off street gated parking, a balcony and front, back and side upstairs porch. Each room is themed for a different continent. Luxury on a budget. Either individual room rentals or the entire compound. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Five Continents Inn

Address: 1731 Esplanade Ave, New Orleans, LA 70116
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Price Range: ₹ 8,510 - ₹ 20,084 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Five Continents Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Five Continents Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
5 Continents Bed And Breakfast
Five Continents b&b
Five Continents Hotel New Orleans
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Five Continents Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Five Continents Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Loved the balcony and sitting room in European suite”
 of 5 bubbles 123sisb, 29 Jun 2015 | Read review
“We were in the Middle a Eastern room which required climbing outdoor stairs. Would be very difficult for anyone with mobility problems.”
 of 5 bubbles 503karenj, 1 May 2015 | Read review
“Perhaps choose a larger room or go elsewhere closer to the French Quarter.”
 of 5 bubbles TWISH326, 9 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Any room would be perfect, just remember that the establishment is decorated in period furniture, so choose the bed size that fits your needs.”
 of 5 bubbles Snowdog1965, 16 Mar 2015 | Read review
“The Cottage offers the greatest privacy and has a wonderful porch for reading, enjoying a glass of wine, or just relaxing. It is not a part of the main house, although you have a key to the main house for entering for breakfast. Visit their website for pictures.”
 of 5 bubbles TravelcriticfromNY, 9 Dec 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay