We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Historic Streetcar Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Historic Streetcar Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

522 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 500: English reviews
Start your review of Historic Streetcar Inn
 Click to rate
Saint Louis
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Good room for a good price. Housekeeping is spotty but just ask the front desk for anything and they will take care of it. There was never enough for breakfast and each day we stayed we had to ask for coffee to be made but not a big deal because the price was so good.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank patricklT7539UP
Metairie, Louisiana
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This place is laughable. Extremely poor service, management non-existent, basically a half-baked attempt at a hotel. Don't bother, this is a pathetic imitation of a bed and breakfast (I say breakfast, though I'd never eat a thing these people served).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wgeorge1122
Covington
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

However I feel that there should have been some type of warning about potential problems before hand. This was our only time to do this type of trip with the family. I feel that management should have come to talk to us. Not the staff was not knowledgeable but. It would have help us feel more at ease had we...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank I959KAdaniellew
jmarian0, Manager at Historic Streetcar Inn, responded to this review

Dear I959KAdaniellew, Thank you for your feedback. You are correct that historic sites do come with added difficulty of maintenance. Since we have only recently acquired the property many of these issues are new to us as well, but we are working diligently to fix them as we are made aware. If there is anything further we can do for...

Kissimmee, Florida
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

First, let's discuss the bed. King size mattress on top of double mattress - don't get too near the edge you will fall off. Bathroom dirty, cracked tiles on floor, bathtub lethal when wet. $50 charge on credit card for key that would cost at the most $2.00 to replace. Curtains falling off rods. Advertised as in the Garden District,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank patpatton2
jmarian0, Manager at Historic Streetcar Inn, responded to this review

Dear patpatton2, Thank you for your feedback. As we have only recently acquired this property, upgrades are still in the process. So we greatly appreciate the patience and understanding of our guests as it will take time to restore this beautiful historic structure to it's former glory. Regards,

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My experience here went from bad to worse over the corse of the evening until I finally decided I couldn't stay the night there and asked to have my night refunded. I can at least say that I was able to cancel the reservation and have my funds refunded. There is no elevator and so I hauled my bag to...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tanya C
jmarian0, Manager at Historic Streetcar Inn, responded to this review

Dear Tanya C, Thank you for your feedback. We are disturbed to hear about your recent stay, but glad that things were taken care of at least. Rest assured these issues are being addressed. Regards,

Hampton
Reviewed 1 week ago

It was decent for the price we paid. I wasn't too thrilled with the parking situation, but it worked out okay in the end. They didn't have a blanket or bedspread. The room was comfortable for what we needed it for. Which was just a place to store our stuff and shower and change. Overall I felt safe and the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank leonardd568
Trisha L, Front Office Manager at Historic Streetcar Inn, responded to this review

Dear leonardd568, Thank you for taking the time to share your impression with us. I do apologize for your issues with parking and any other lacking accommodations. Unfortunately, due to the location of the property, we can only offer street parking. In addition, I am sorry that you were not provided with a blanket. Though we do not keep them...

Tustin
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel was cheap and in the perfect location! 10 shorts minutes from Bourbon street and lots of other awesome things to see close by! The staff was polite and the rooms were perfect! I would definitely stay again!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jaredltww
Trisha L, Front Office Manager at Historic Streetcar Inn, responded to this review

Dear jaredltww, Thank you for taking the time to share with us your feedback. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay. We look forward to having you back! Please contact us directly on your next visit. We would be pleased to personally assist you! Warm Regards

Loveland
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is about 20 dollars less than better known chains. I would spend the extra next time and stay somewhere else. The whole facility had an unpleasant smell. The bathtub had stains and rust, and there was peeling paint in the bathroom. There wasn't even a closet or location to hang clothing. The breakfast is not worth considering as...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank anngT2991HF
Trisha L, Front Office Manager at Historic Streetcar Inn, responded to this review

Dear anngT2991HF, Thank you for sharing your comments. I do apologize that the hotel was not what you expected. I understand your concerns and we are in the process of making necessary improvements and repairs. If you would like to discuss further, please feel free to contact me. Kind Regards,

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I liked it because it was all the antique looking . We only stayed on night, it was clean. Only had problem with they didn't have hot water the next morning. Breakfast was all cold stuff not anything hot, all microwaveable and toaster. It was not bad for something for a night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Latreece A
jmarian0, Manager at Historic Streetcar Inn, responded to this review

Dear Latreece A, Thank you for your feedback. Sorry to hear that you didn't have hot water in the morning, but glad to read that that did not ruin your stay. Regards,

Gulfport, Mississippi
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Ok place, older rooms not updated, no dedicated parking so have to AMR trip around corner to park on side of street. Breakfast very very minimal( cereal, crossaint muffin,apple and oatmeal). Not much cheaper than some of the brand hotels. Couple restaurants bars within walking distance.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beth S
jmarian0, Manager at Historic Streetcar Inn, responded to this review

Dear Beth S, Thank you for your feedback. As we have only recently acquired this property, rest assured that improvements are in the works. Perhaps by your return trip you may find things more favorable. Regards,

181 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (170)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Arts District / Warehouse District
The Hotel Modern
The Hotel Modern
#105 of 161 in New Orleans
983 reviews
Garden District
Prytania Park
Prytania Park
#85 of 161 in New Orleans
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Avenue Plaza Resort
#67 of 161 in New Orleans
696 reviews
Central Business District
The Lafayette Hotel
The Lafayette Hotel
#87 of 161 in New Orleans
513 reviews
Algiers
Federal City Inn & Suites
Federal City Inn & Suites
#89 of 161 in New Orleans
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Historic Streetcar Inn (formerly the Avenue Garden Hotel) is located on the historic St. Charles Avenue Streetcar line. Step out of the hotel's front door and walk out to the car stop, which is located just in front of the hotel. The French Quarter and Downtown are only minutes away via the streetcar, which drops you off at Canal and Bourbon Street! Travel in the opposite direction and go back in time as you take in the majesty of St. Charles Avenue's mansions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Historic Streetcar Inn

Address: 1509 St. Charles Ave., New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Avenue Garden Hotel)
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Price Range: ₹ 5,236 - ₹ 15,902 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Historic Streetcar Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Historic Streetcar Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Garden New Orleans
Hotel Avenue Garden
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Historic Streetcar Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Historic Streetcar Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Wifi weak, don't expect much and you won't be disappointed.”
patpatton2, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Some rooms have doors in breakfast area- opt for a different room to ensure a quiet stay. 2nd/3rd floor very quiet on south side.”
ppax86, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Do not stay here choose another place.”
soulsoul, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Go somewhere else.”
birse2014, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Stay Down town at the Hilton or the Ritz both of these have never let us down.”
101kristens, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5