We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Red Roof Inn Madison

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Red Roof Inn Madison
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

119 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 118: English reviews
Jackson, Wyoming
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Older Red Roof with Typical Drive-Up Rooms. Basic Rooms / Nothing Fancy. Advertise as 100% Smoke Free but Smoking was Very Present. People stand in their Doorway and Smoke and Walk the Walkway Smoking. If you are 100% Smoke Free How About Enforcing Staying Away from the Doorways , Eh. What is it with Smokers , Very Rude and Inconsiderate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
Denver
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was a disaster. Hotel has major deferred maintenance issues. Everything is in need of repair. It is so bad that our door mechanism got jammed and we were trapped in our room. When we went to use the phone to call the front desk for help, it didn't even work! We had to climb out the window, thankfully on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Denverdk
Steven M, Manager at Red Roof Inn Madison, responded to this review

Dear Denverdk, I am sorry there was an issue with your door lock. Upon checking we did find that the clutch on the latch broke. We are very sorry for this inconvenience. You also mentioned that the telephones were down that day. We were in the process of installing an new telephone system on the property and the phones were...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Not a good place to stay. Be leery of what you can't see. I had to do two doctor visits behind my stay at Red Roof Inn. The room was still dirty from the previous visitors. There was soap scum and hair in the bath tub, along with facial hair in the bathroom sink and used tissue under the bed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jill J
Steven M, Manager at Red Roof Inn Madison, responded to this review

Dear Jill J, Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. We take all comments seriously and would like you to contact us regarding your stay. If there was a bed bug issue it is addressed immediately. Our Housekeepers and maintenance department check rooms regularly for possible bed bugs and if a guest mentions it the room is...

Grinnell, Iowa
Reviewed 3 November 2016

Room was billed as non-smoking. It was obvious that smoking had occurred in the past, especially in the bathroom area. Room was quiet, convenient (outside door) and bed was very comfortable. Desk clerk said it was very difficult to control people who chose to smoke in the room but would have maintenance work on it right away. Room rate was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ed P
Steven M, Manager at Red Roof Inn Madison, responded to this review

Dear Ed P, Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us in Madison, WI. We are pleased the room was comfortable, quiet, and convenient. I am sorry there was an odor from the previous guest. We have shared your comments with housekeeping to be sure they address odors with maintenance so those can be addressed before our new...

Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Reviewed 2 November 2016

I rarely write bad reviews, especially of economy hotels, because I figure you get what you pay for. I'm okay with no-frills or lack of amenities. What I'm not okay with is filth. My room at Red Roof Inn was disgusting, not in its entirety, just the wall beside the bed. There was a booger collection on the wall that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dickersn
Steven M, Manager at Red Roof Inn Madison, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. I am reviewing the rooms with our housekeeping staff to ensure they understand the importance of maintaining our guest rooms. I will have the walls checked in room 227 and be sure they are up to standards. I am sorry for any inconvenience that may have been caused during your...

Galena, Illinois
Reviewed 2 November 2016

We had to go to Walmart and buy febreze and some blankets and bedding. Our room smelt so bad and the carpets where really dirty. With in the first hour of being there at 4 in the afternoon there where police all over the parking lot someone was being arrested. Its really not a good place to stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie R
Steven M, Manager at Red Roof Inn Madison, responded to this review

Dear Julie, Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. I have reviewed your comments with our housekeeping staff. We have been working with some new staff and will be going over the importance of reporting to maintenance when there are odors in the guest room so they can be properly addressed. It was unfortunate that the police...

Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Spent the night for freakfest 2016 in madison. Room was a little expensive $133 a night for the quality of the room. It was listed at 3 stars but it's probably a 2.5. Room was clean and well lit. It's in a part of town that had a ton of hotel's and restraunts near by. If it we're not for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Art F
Steven M, Manager at Red Roof Inn Madison, responded to this review

Dear Art, Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us for the Freakfest weekend. We are pleased the room was clean and comfortable. We will share your comments with the staff as they do enjoy hearing when they do a good job. Again, thank you and we hope to see you again in Madison when traveling. Sincerely, Steve...

Glen Head, New York
Reviewed 27 October 2016

Was perfectly adequate and comfortable for an overnight stay. Bed and pillows were very comfortable. The heat and the air conditioning were very easy to use and effective. This is a great value and I would not hesitate to stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 895amy
Steven M, Manager at Red Roof Inn Madison, responded to this review

Dear 895amy, Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us in October. We are happy to hear that your room was comfortable for your overnight stay. We will share your comments with the staff as they enjoy hearing when they do a good job. Again, thank you and we hope to see you again in the future. Sincerely,...

Marshfield, WI
Reviewed 24 October 2016

We stayed in a standard king room; which is supposed to be smoke free but was definitely smoked in. Also terrible wi-fi and loud neighbors didnt help with sleeping either. Not recommended. In addition, they were sold out so we weren't able to get into a different room at all.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dannew692010
Steven M, Manager at Red Roof Inn Madison, responded to this review

Dear dannew692010, Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us in October. I am sorry there was an issue with odor in your guest room. We will be sharing your comments with the staff to ensure they are reporting this to maintenance when someone violates the smoking ban in Wisconsin. This way it can be properly addressed before...

Reviewed 2 October 2016

I read many reviews for this Motel after booking and I expected a horror show, however, I found it to be better then expected. Room was very clean and bug free. Looked to have newer paint job. Room did have smell but I think maybe the room had been shut up for a while. I aired it out and it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Larry D
Steven M, Manager at Red Roof Inn Madison, responded to this review

Dear Larry D, Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. We are pleased that the room was comfortable for you. Yes, we were painted about 1 year ago so the outside does look modern and fresh. We are also working with our housekeeping staff to be sure rooms are fresh smelling even when closed up for several...

27 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.1 km away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Madison-Northeast
0.4 km away
Econo Lodge Madison
Econo Lodge Madison
#45 of 61 in Madison
88 reviews
1.1 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Madison East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Madison Airport
7.5 km away
Super 8 Windsor/Madison North
0.5 km away
BEST WESTERN East Towne Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Madison

Address: 4830 Hayes Rd, Exit 135a, Madison, WI 53704-3261
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Price Range: ₹ 4,061 - ₹ 6,024 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Madison 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Red Roof Inn Madison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Red Roof Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Red Roof Inn Madison staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay at any other hotel in the area I'm sure it will be better.”
 of 5 bubbles Denverdk, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Might be good to have a hairdryer for those who have to travel lightly. ”
 of 5 bubbles 895amy, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for recently updated room”
 of 5 bubbles FrankInMilwaukee, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“No real view rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles 886wallyk, 26 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Any other hotel”
 of 5 bubbles hexx17, 2 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay