We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Edgewater

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Edgewater
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

606 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Edgewater
See the most recent reviews
Showing 602: English reviews
Wilmette, Illinois
Reviewed 9 September 2016

The hotel was completely renovated and redone a few years ago. It is beautiful and top of the line and easily the nicest hotel in Madison. The valets and front desk personnel are friendly and very helpful and rush to greet you and help you. The rooms are very nice with great views of the lake. Bathrooms and bedrooms are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ghayesfam
asupinmadison, General Manager at The Edgewater, responded to this review

Dear ghayesfam, Thank you for your review on The Edgewater. We, here at The Edgewater take great pride in customer service and hope that each guest feels relaxed while staying on the water. I am glad that you felt as our employees rushed to make sure that you were greeted and made sure your stay was as enjoyable as it...

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 8 September 2016

Everything about the Edgewater is amazing - from in-house reservations, to the rooms in each tower, to the food in every restaurant, to the car service, and to the spa and complimentary work out space. And most of all, the impeccable service from every staff member! The lake-view or lake-front rooms showcase the beautiful lake, but any room offers luxury...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DEEG1970
asupinmadison, General Manager at The Edgewater, responded to this review

Dear DEEG1970, Thank you for your review on your recent stay at The Edgewater. Thank you for such an amazing review it sounds like you were able to enjoy every amenity that we have to offer here at The Edgewater. From dining in our restaurants, to getting in room dining and having our valets drive around the city so you...

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewed 8 September 2016

My wife and I spent a Tuesday overnight at the Edgewater Hotel in Madison . The greeting from the valet, and the desk clerk made us feel very welcome . We had a beautifully appointed , large room that overlooked Lake Mendota . The room was spotless and the bed was very comfortable . We used the spa ( relaxation...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terry60097
asupinmadison, General Manager at The Edgewater, responded to this review

Hello Terry60097, Thank you for your review on your stay here at The Edgewater Tuesday evening. I am happy to hear that you had a relaxing evening here and were able to take the time to enjoy our relaxation pool in the spa. Having a cocktail overlooking the lake and while watching the sunset is a must-do while staying or...

Dodgeville
Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

The Edgewater should be at the top of your list if you are looking for luxury, location, service, and amenities in a five star hotel. With luxury appointments in each room, you are usually facing either Lake Mendoza or the state Capital building. From the large whirlpool/warming pool to the steam rooms and spa, you won't be short on relaxation...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul4ejjr
asupinmadison, General Manager at The Edgewater, responded to this review

Dear Paul4ejjr, Thank you for your review on your stay at The Edgewater. It sounds like you had a very relaxing evening here at The Edgewater. We love the location of our property as it is a quick skip to everything in Madison. Quick 3 blocks to the Capitol Building, 4 blocks to state street, walking distance to UW Campus,...

Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 6 September 2016

Was there for a wedding, did an early morning yoga session and asked for a early check in, so I wouldn't be waiting around without a room. I got a room at 11:00 a.m when there regular check out time is 12:00. The room was beautiful and seemed to have great views from every angle. Loved staying and had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rebeccafassler
asupinmadison, General Manager at The Edgewater, responded to this review

Dear rebeccafassler, Thank you so much for your review of The Edgewater. I am so happy that we were able to accommodate you with an early check-in so you could relax before your big day. Our property has beautiful views of both the lake and the Capitol Building and is difficult to get a bad view of either. I am...

Glenview, Illinois
Reviewed 6 September 2016

Although our room did not have a view of Lake Mendota, it was a very nice comfortable room. We were there on a busy labor day weekend to attend a wedding. The whole experience was wonderful. I would definitely would come back. Staff was very friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colsie4
asupinmadison, Owner at The Edgewater, responded to this review

Dear Colsie4, Thank you for your response of your stay here at The Edgewater. We are happy that you could enjoy our property and enjoy a busy weekend here in Madison. It sounds like the time you spent in Madison was amazing and were able to enjoy the wedding. We hope to have you join us again soon on the...

Amesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 September 2016

My wife and I stayed here after being apart for 6 months due to work commitments. We booked the spa for a relaxing couples treatment and the service was very good. We did have some issues with the champagne and chocolate strawberries that were ordered however after a couple of phone calls the staff were very helpful and resolved the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jon S
asupinmadison, General Manager at The Edgewater, responded to this review

Dear Jon S, Thank you so much for your response of your relaxing stay here at The Edgewater. I am happy to hear that you choose The Edgewater as your destination to be with your wife after 6 months of being apart, being able to relax and just be within each others company. I am happy that the couples message...

East Texas
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

We visited here on a busy Labor Day Weekend for Madison. The city was hosting The Taste of Madison, but more than that the Hotel had 3 weddings that Saturday night. First, we had some maintenance issues we call about but they did not seem to have been addressed. Next, we called guest services to have our car brought up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Two_Wilsons
asupinmadison, General Manager at The Edgewater, responded to this review

Dear Two_Wilsons, Thank you for your response to your stay at The Edgewater. Taste of Madison, the first weekend the UW students are in town, and Labor Day weekend calls for a busy weekend for The Edgewater. I do apologize that things took longer than normal here at The Edgewater, with all the happenings around the property unfortunately must have...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 6 September 2016

What a great spot! The last time I stayed in Madison I was doing my internship and had no money. It was nice to be able to experience Madison from a different perspective. We had a lake-view room-bonus was a large balcony overlooking the lake. I wish we had been able to stay a bit longer; we only had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pknski
asupinmadison, General Manager at The Edgewater, responded to this review

Dear Pknski, Thank you for your review of your stay at The Edgewater. It is one thing we are very proud of here is our location of our property, as it is a quick hop to the Capitol Building, State Street, Campus and right on the lake, what else could you ask for when visiting Madison? We are happy that...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 27 August 2016

First the two disappointments. I used the valet parking while staying at the hotel. It took 30 minutes to get my car back at the end of my stay. The reason? The car was not parked in the location on the valet ticket. Hence they had to search the whole parking garage to find my car. This made me late...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
asupinmadison, General Manager at The Edgewater, responded to this review

Dear Richard W, Thank you so much for your review on your stay here at The Edgewater. While many of your comments were positive, I do apologize for the inconvenience of the misplacement of the car, uncharacteristic for our valets but nonetheless I will be forwarding this comment to our Manager and will be ensuring this does not happen again....

199 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (177)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (47)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Other (65)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.5 km away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
0.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
0.9 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
0.9 km away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#8 of 61 in Madison
622 reviews
2.2 km away
HotelRED
HotelRED
#9 of 61 in Madison
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
The Statehouse
The Statehouse
Cuisines: American
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
As Madison's first and only AAA Four Diamond property, The Edgewater is the proud revival of an historic hotel, right on the shores of Lake Mendota, adjacent to the University of Wisconsin and steps from the state Capitol, in the heart of downtown Madison. The restored property maintains the classic facade of its predecessor, now called The Langdon Building, and a new tower, The Wisconsin Building, all with completely new interiors, several restaurants, a magnificent spa, ballrooms, and a large plaza that connects both hotel guests and the public with the beautiful waters of the lake. The hotel has 202 guest rooms, the majority offering gorgeous lake views, including presidential suites and studios with kitchenettes. The Edgewater Spa provides fitness and personal training overlooking Lake Mendota, as well as full service, customized hair, makeup, nail services and relaxing massage. Restaurant options range from The Statehouse for distinctive dining, to The Boathouse, a bar and restaurant in the great Wisconsin tradition of casual waterfront spots, The Icehouse for very casual dining, and The Cafe, for coffee and lighter fare throughout the day. Meeting and banquet facilities range from The Grand Ballroom and Mendota Ballroom, both in the Wisconsin Building, to The Red Crown Club on top of the Langdon Building, offering versatility and spectacular views of Lake Mendota. The Plaza lies at the heart of The Edgewater between The Langdon Building and the Wisconsin Building, almost an acre, open to the public with regularly scheduled outdoor events, concerts and celebrations, converting in winter to a skating rink. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Edgewater

Address: 1001 Wisconsin Place, Madison, WI 53703-1302
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Price Range: ₹ 10,446 - ₹ 20,277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Edgewater 4.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Edgewater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Madison
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Edgewater staff and other travellers.
17 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from The Edgewater staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try and stay in the main building where reception is if you don't like stairs!”
 of 5 bubbles AJinNewYork, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Lake Front”
 of 5 bubbles home2much, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The Premium Lakefront King is worth every penny.”
 of 5 bubbles shakermaker319, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a ground floor (first) on the water. Easy out for walking.”
 of 5 bubbles dontmakeamove, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors have a better view of the lake.”
 of 5 bubbles Heretic42, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay