We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Heritance Tea Factory

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Heritance Tea Factory
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,359 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Heritance Tea Factory
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,993: English reviews
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The conversion of this old tea factory into a hotel with modern amenities is most impressive. Some of the original machinery has been left in place which gives the whole place a most original and quirky aspect. The rooms are on the small side but are comfortable and well appointed. There is a heater which may well be needed during...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
Nipuni S, Manager at Heritance Tea Factory, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, It is nice to see that you all have enjoyed the serene and unique experience offered along with the breathtaking views. We are grateful of your high recommendation. Please pay another visit to us for a longer stay and we assure you some more enjoyable and pleasing experiences. Yours Sincerely, Roshanlal Perera. General Manager, Heritance Tea Factory.

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 1 week ago

Heritance Tea Factory just has it all! From comfortable rooms to fantastic cuisine and excellent service, I would thoroughly recommend this property for complete relaxation. There are so many positives about the hotel be it the efficient check in/ check out, fantastic views and cozy feel of the hotel, you just do not want to leave. This is the ideal...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dominic G
Nipuni S, Manager at Heritance Tea Factory, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We are delighted to see your inspiring review and accept our gratitude for visiting Heritance Tea Factory during your vacation. It is our pleasure to receive the massive positive endorsements as well as the recommendations given. We are eagerly waiting to welcome you and your loved ones at Heritance Tea Factory and please make your plans for...

Hunstanton,Norfolk
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a lovely hotel done up to a very high standard. I loved the way they painted what was original different t owhat they had done so that you can see the work that had been pout into the refurbishment. Our room was lovely with great views over the front of the hotel, and equipped with everthing you could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Farmboy20021
Nipuni S, Manager at Heritance Tea Factory, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, It gives us great pleasure to see that you have enjoyed the unique experiences and we are extremely delighted that you have enjoyed the courteous service of the staff as well. We invite you and your loved ones to spend another leisurely time with us when you are back on holiday. Yours Sincerely, Roshanlal Perera. General Manager,...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The experience of just getting up to the hotel is fun having to decamp from our large coach in to small mini-buses for the 3km ride up the hill. The hotel is fascinating in it's conversion from the old tea factory. Rooms are large enough but you'll pick up noise both from the rooms above and echoes in the building...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Will_Of_The_North
Nipuni S, Manager at Heritance Tea Factory, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We are delighted to see your inspiring review and accept our gratitude for visiting Heritance Tea Factory during your vacation. It is our pleasure to receive the positive endorsements as well as the recommendations given. We are eagerly waiting to welcome you and your loved ones at Heritance Tea Factory and please make your plans for a...

Ashford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have travelled to a lot of countries and stayed in a lot of hotels but this place is memorable for so many reasons. The location, high on a ridge surrounded by working tea plantations. The truly brilliant restoration and conversion, the owner reduced the number of rooms rather than compromise on his dream. The views, especially on a morning,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KeswickTraveller
Nipuni S, Manager at Heritance Tea Factory, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We are delighted to see your inspiring review and accept our gratitude for visiting Heritance Tea Factory during your vacation. It is our pleasure to receive the positive endorsements as well as the recommendations given. We are eagerly waiting to welcome you and your loved ones at Heritance Tea Factory and please make your plans for a...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Sri Lanka's people have been so hospitable , friendly and great. This hotel's staff are nothing less than that, too. Very wonderful service from reception to butler. As for the room, it could use a little updating. The flooring need to be changed. There needs to be a mesh on the windows so we can open them without worrying about...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Evilmisspolite
Nipuni S, Manager at Heritance Tea Factory, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for sharing your sincere thoughts with us based on your stay at Heritance Tea Factory. We have taken your constructive criticism very positively and will incorporate your suggestions wherever possible. Please pay another visit to us for a longer stay and we assure you some more enjoyable and pleasing experiences. Yours Sincerely, Roshanlal Perera. General...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is not a commercial operation that provides tea to the world, however, it does produce tea for its own tourist purposes and is nestled in the heart of tea country. It provides superb insight in tea production through its tea plucking tours and its nature walks (superb 2 hour walk around the villages and the tea plantations). Inside the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Greg T
Nipuni S, Manager at Heritance Tea Factory, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, It is nice to see that you all have enjoyed the serene and unique experience offered along with the breathtaking views. We are grateful of your high recommendation. Please pay another visit to us for a longer stay and we assure you some more enjoyable and pleasing experiences. Yours Sincerely, Roshanlal Perera. General Manager, Heritance Tea Factory.

Dorset, UK
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Tea Factory is a fascinating building and has been beautifully restored. We stayed on the executive floor and I imagine the views are usually spectacular although it was misty and raining for most of our stay. The room itself was a bit of a disappointment after the other rooms we experienced on our travels. Whilst it included everything you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JB37
Nipuni S, Manager at Heritance Tea Factory, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, It gives us great pleasure to see that you have enjoyed the unique experiences and we are extremely delighted that you have enjoyed the unique ambiance of the hotel. We invite you and your loved ones to spend another leisurely time with us when you are back on holiday. Yours Sincerely, Roshanlal Perera. General Manager, Heritance Tea...

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Beautifully restored/designed former tea factory, with wide ranging views of the local tea plantations and village. Many original features retained. Clean and comfortable room. Very professional and friendly staff. We had one dinner in the old railway carriage adjoining the hotel : a bit on the expensive side by local standards but a great experience, excellent food and wine and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TimTHF
Nipuni S, Manager at Heritance Tea Factory, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, It gives us great pleasure to see that you have enjoyed the unique experiences and we are extremely delighted that you have enjoyed the unique ambiance of the hotel. We invite you and your loved ones to spend another leisurely time with us when you are back on holiday. Yours Sincerely, Roshanlal Perera. General Manager, Heritance Tea...

Kidderminster
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Highly recommend travellers to stay here. The hotel building itself is just so interesting and steeped in history. Original British machinery dating back years are all around and it shows the influence we had as a country. Again very friendly staff dressed in heritage costumes. Rooms were small by Sri Lanka standard but clean and comfortable. Meals were buffet but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
Nipuni S, Manager at Heritance Tea Factory, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, It gives us great pleasure to see that you have enjoyed the unique experiences and we are extremely delighted that you have enjoyed the unique ambiance of the hotel. We invite you and your loved ones to spend another leisurely time with us when you are back on holiday. Yours Sincerely, Roshanlal Perera. General Manager, Heritance Tea...

2,262 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2246)
Viewed
Dining (191)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (693)
Viewed
Room/Suite (230)
Viewed
View from Room (182)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
2:54
Videos (5)
Viewed
Other (892)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuwara Eliya
7.8 km away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#3 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
1,377 reviews
8.0 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
1,839 reviews
8.2 km away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#2 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#5 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
690 reviews
8.1 km away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#4 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
119 reviews
37.1 km away
Earl's Regency
Earl's Regency
#8 of 65 in Kandy
1,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Heritance Tea Factory

Address: Kandapola, Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: ₹ 18,114 - ₹ 25,745 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Heritance Tea Factory 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Heritance Tea Factory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritance Tea Factory Hotel Nuwara Eliya
Tea Factory Nuwara Eliya
Tea Factory Hotel Nuwara Eliya
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Heritance Tea Factory staff and other travellers.
21 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (21)

Questions? Get answers from Heritance Tea Factory staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had a premium room with great views.”
 of 5 bubbles IanandDorothy, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Avoid rooms on the first floor above the restaurant, as you could be disturbed by the breakfast noises early in the morning”
 of 5 bubbles helensO5258TN, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Great views, upper floors are best, room service is excellent value for money- portions are huge,”
 of 5 bubbles dominicg6, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Not first floor above reception. Noisy with phones ringing”
 of 5 bubbles 853RichardW, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“front facing rooms overlook the tea plantation compared with the rear facing looking over to staff quarters and laundry”
 of 5 bubbles Withaas, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5