We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Kansas City

18011 Bass Pro Dr, Independence, MO 64055-5425
Lowest prices for your stay
US$ 137
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/10/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (168)
Room & Suite (26)
Pool & Beach (5)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.


#3 of 19 hotels in Independence
Travellers' Choice
Stoney Creek Hotel Kansas City - Independence is conveniently located at the interchange of I-70 and I-470 just ten minutes from downtown Kansas City and only seven miles from Arrowhead and Kauffman Stadiums. This spacious urban lodge offers a truly one-of-a-kind experience for hotel guests and meeting planners alike. This property features a complimentary hot breakfast, complimentary high-speed Wi-fi, McCoy's Whiskey and Wine Bar, an indoor/outdoor heated pool, and whirlpool/fireplace suites. With over 30,000 square feet of conference and event space, complete with a variety of breakout rooms, this is the perfect location for your upcoming business meetings, corporate events, and weddings. The hotel is part of "The Falls, at Crackerneck Creek," which offers spectacular natural views with an 18-acre lake, waterfall, and outdoor event space. You will be surrounded by many unique dining establishments, Bass Pro Shop, and the Independence Events Center, where you can catch a hockey game or even a concert. Whether traveling for business or leisure, the Stoney Creek experience will leave you feeling relaxed and refreshed.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Bar / lounge
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Vending machine
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know


Full view
44Car recommended
Grade: 44 out of 100
10Restaurantswithin 1 km
2Attractionswithin 1 km
426Reviews5Q+A91Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 305
  • 85
  • 24
  • 5
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Kelly B wrote a review 5 Sep
Des Moines, Iowa67 contributions5 helpful votes
We really enjoyed this hotel. It was clean, modern and well maintained. It had beautiful decor with various wood pieces we enjoyed looking at. This is a great location if attending a Royals or Chiefs game. It was about 6 miles away. They had a warm continental breakfast which we loved. There were eggs, sausage, biscuits & gravy, cereal, yogurt, toast, bagels, fruit and a variety of beverages. The room had a microwave & mini fridge. I will say there were a lot of families staying at this hotel, but we didn't mind it. The lobby was cozy with a fireplace, piano and nice sitting area and the hotel backs to a lovely pond. They have an indoor/outdoor pool & hot tub, but we didn't get a change to enjoy it. The bar area had a lovely upscale mancave feel to it with neat cowhide couches and a ping pong table. There is a wonderful Mexican restaurant right next door called Los Cabos. I highly recommend it. Also next door was Duluth Trading and Bass Pro Shop. We enjoyed shopping at both. The hotel staff was incredibly friendly and professional. Two recommendations for the hotel would be to do some serious weeding in the landscaping out back and a sign at the edge of the road. There was no sign with the hotel name and the front of the building just says hotel in fancy letters. It was dark when we arrived so we thought we were at the right place, but a sign with the name would have been a big help.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Sleep Quality
Response from Matt Lawrence, General Manager at Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Kansas City
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for the great comments! It is such a wonderful description of our property. Thank you so much! Can't wait to have you back again!
Read more
smb71smb wrote a review Aug 2021
Kansas City, Missouri2508 contributions
Overall, the stay was acceptable EXCEPT for the very heavy presence of marijuana smoke in the first floor hallway at 2am. Both my elderly, disabled mother and myself have an allergic reaction to it which makes it very difficult to breathe. I complained at the front desk, and the gentleman working not only seemed disinterested but also claimed that he believed it to be legal to consume in a hotel due to Missouri's medical marijuana program, and stated that there was "nothing he could do." Not only is consumption not permitted in the hotel by its own policies, but it is also illegal under the program regulations. I spoke to the front desk again the next morning, and was essentially told the same thing vis a vis their not being able to do anything. I emailed the corporate customer service department, and have not had any response. We travel extensively for my daughter's softball tournaments, but will avoid this property in the future due to this issue and the complete lack of empathy on the part of the staff when it was brought to their attention despite the illegality and the fact that it was causing medical issues.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Response from Matt Lawrence, General Manager at Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Kansas City
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for the candid review. We do not allowing smoking in any of our rooms. This is not acceptable and not typical. We do our part to ensure that smoking is kept to designated smoking areas and ask that all of our guests do their part as well. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and sharing with everyone. We will address and continue to improve our product so that all of our guests feel safe, clean, and comfortable. Thank you again.
Read more
smalltownnegirl wrote a review Jul 2021
Hastings, Nebraska128 contributions10 helpful votes
This place was exactly what we needed for a get away. My son and I stayed here over the 4th of July weekend and had a great time. Our room was perfect, pool was great, staff was all friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good and staff did their best to keep the food stocked. We loved sitting out back and looking over the little lake outback, was nice to have something peaceful to look at. Convenient to get too as well since it's right off the interstate, lots of restaurants around as well. We'll be back, this will be our new hotel of choice when coming down for Royals games.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Response from Matt Lawrence, General Manager at Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Kansas City
Responded 17 Jul 2021
We are truly humbled to receive such a great response! Thank you for staying with us. Our hotel does have so many other great benefits as you stated. The area is great and it is easy to get around. Hope to see you again!
Read more
hkmefford wrote a review Jul 2021
Windsor13 contributions1 helpful vote
Stoney Creek Hotel Independence was very close to St. Luke's Medical Group building where my wife had eye surgery and had follow up post op next morning so did not want to drive 2 hours home then 2 hors back next day and also she needed place to rest nd sleep after surgery so we stayed there. They were very friendly and helpful giving us room on first floor and also letting us check in early so she could be out of sun and heat outside. Very nice quiet room and she slept most of afternoon. Plenty of eating places within 1 mile so got takeout meal when she woke up and was ready to eat since she could not eat before surgery and very hungery. They also had good breakfast with warm cooked food and many other choiceswith coffee, milk and juices Will stay there again when needed
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
Response from Matt Lawrence, General Manager at Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Kansas City
Responded 17 Jul 2021
Thank you, Herb, for sharing your experience. We are focused on creating an exceptional home away from home for you. I am happy to hear that we were able to serve your needs. Hope to have you back again down the line!
Read more
Steve wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I am a frequent visitor to this area and remember them building this hotel a few years ago. Most of my traveling is for business so I normally stay with other brands when in town, but this time I came to watch my grandson's baseball tournament. The group was staying here so did I. The outside is stylish and the lobby was typical Stoney creek decor. I am familiar with Stoney creek brand from my stays in Peoria IL. First sign of trouble was I noticed the elevator carpeting was stained beyond any hope of cleaning it and convered with trash. Since I arrived at 3:00 to check in I was surprised it hadn't at least been recently vacuumed becausethe cleaning staff was still working. The room looked clean but the furniture was stained and the desk chair back was broken. The desk and tables were showing their age also. This hotel has the potential to be a nice place but they need to start doing the maintenance that in needed or they will end up as a brand Z soon. They have a great location I would hate to see that for them.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Response from Matt Lawrence, General Manager at Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Kansas City
Responded 17 Jul 2021
Thank you for sharing your experience. This is certainly not typical so our team already have addressed these concerns. We hope you visit again and appreciate your feedback!
Read more
US$127 - US$179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
United StatesMissouriIndependence
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Kansas City
Which popular attractions are close to Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Kansas City?
Nearby attractions include Cable Dahmer Arena (1.0 km), Waterfall Park (0.2 km), and Main Event Entertainment (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Kansas City?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Kansas City?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Kansas City?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, a lounge, and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Kansas City?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Kansas City?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cheddar's Scratch Kitchen, Tim's Pizza, and Los Cabos Mexican Grill and Cantina.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Kansas City?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Kansas City?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Kansas City?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Kansas City offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Kansas City?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Bingham Waggoner Mansion & Estate (6.7 km), Harry S Truman National Historic Site (7.2 km), and Independence Square (7.2 km).