We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Machan

Save
Share
Private Road Village Jambulne, 8 km Short of Aamby Valley, Lonavala 412108 India
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Booking.com
US$ 172
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
FindHotel
US$ 145
View deal
Hotels.comUS$ 172
PricelineUS$ 168
Trip.comUS$ 171
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (2064)
Room & Suite (560)
Dining (70)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#14 of 171 hotels in Lonavala
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
An award-winning eco-resort in Lonavala. The Machan is a story of dwellings that rise above the forest floor and form a symbiotic relationship with their natural surroundings. All of its individual accommodations are floating in the air, with enchanting views and elegant rustic interiors. Its carbon footprint is minimal - with its energy generated solely through solar and wind. Located in Jambulne, one of 25 biological hotspots of the world and a mere 2.5 Drive from Mumbai (1.5 Hours from Pune), the Machan makes for an accessible weekend getaway. We invite you to take some time away from work and immerse yourself in this one of a kind experience. Reconnect with family, friends and loved ones in the comfort and privacy of this truly exclusive retreat.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Paid internet
Hot bath
Free breakfast
Hiking
Board games / puzzles
Spa
24-hour security
Parking
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Massage
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi
1520Reviews96Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,013
  • 314
  • 99
  • 47
  • 47
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Shreyas Joshi wrote a review Nov 2021
Mumbai, India1 contribution2 helpful votes
The Location: We went in mid November and the location looked very beautiful with cool weather and greenery everywhere. Even the trip from Lonavala main city to the Atvan village itself is very scenic. The property is surrounded by jungle and is part of jungle itself with fences ensuring that no unwanted wild life enters the property. The Lodging: We took a starlight machan. This machan has a two bedrooms with decks/balconies. The upper deck has a single person bathtub. There feels little privacy though to use the bathtub as your neighboring two machans will be visible from the deck. You could use it with swimsuit on though. The upper room has an open roof bath with commode and the washbasin indoors. A nice setup so that you don't have to worry about bugs creeping into the
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
1 Helpful vote1 Repost
Helpful
Share
Response from TM General Manager, General Manager at The Machan
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear "ShreyasJoshi" At the very outset I do apologise for the malfunction of the roof and we did at multiple times expressed this to you. However, it is with a lot of dissappointment that I see such a review from you after you were offered a recovery for one mal-function of the roof and that was a fair one. You also resorted to put up two reviews seperately. We offered to rectify it in the morning but you denied. Over and above waiving off all your food and incidental charges and duly apologised, we only attemoted to guided you on what is that you should undertand that you have gained from here. Not everyone underetands that unless told. Regards
Read more
NatAgar30 wrote a review Nov 2021
48 contributions44 helpful votes
The machaan makes a poor effort at being a luxurious resort and no effort at being a tree house resort which it claims to be one. We stayed at the forest plus machaan number 5, and lucky us that we chose to stay just one night. The beds were squeaky, bathtubs unclean, bathrooms unclean (the one at the reception so bad that I had to wait until we got ours which wasn't clean too), kettle broken, unclean cups, and the list goes on. Forget covid protocols, wonder how they even do their basic cleaning if bathtubs bathrooms and cups themselves are so poorly maintained. The reception being poor in responding to crisis that one can call them to fix something as basic as providing a functioning kettle, and be assured that after numerous calls and false promises like give me seven
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from TM General Manager, General Manager at The Machan
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear "NatAgar30", I feel terribly sorry that you have this impression and apologise for the delay in service and other observations. All the furniture are made inhouse and are maintained such, however if you would have called us we would have attended to the bed issue in a jiffy. We have atleast 80 more guests dining the same food and sometimes its just a personal taste. We are very happy to adjust or customise as much as possible for you based on your taste. We understand that this is not a structured Hotel building with boundaries and that there would be hotel staff around to show directions to guests. We have hence errected numerous direction signage inside the property. If our guests just follow them they will reach the desired place. There all types of Machans available. Sometimes while you book, we may not have the one with your specific requirement. You are either given a choice of another date or a choice left to you to take a decision. However our reservation consultants do inform of the structure. All most all guests also come here for the peace & serenity and they do appreciate when we request them to lowerdown their volumes. incase of disturbances to others. If you would have told us of the disturbanses we could have got it addressed.
Read more
Vaishnavi Mallavarapu wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
The best place to disconnect and rejuvenate. It was heaven on earth. Food was fresh and tasted fantastic. The atmosphere and facilities were great. The staff support and service was excellent! Highly recommended. It’s a very different experience from regular resorts and properties. If you really love to be in nature, a must visit. Starlight machan just left me speechless. Will visit again for sure. Thank you!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Helpful
Share
Sujit S wrote a review Oct 2021
Mumbai, India2 contributions1 helpful vote
Machans was an amazing job xperience. The best part is you are fully literally disconnected with the outside world and you get to enjoy the scenic natual beauty spread across multi acre in a very raw style. The buffet they offered was also nice, especially the morning breakfast. The roads leading to machans gets a little rough towards the entry as it is situated in a remote village but its worth after you get inside the property. This place is amazing to get refreshed. Note: People having Airtel and Jio network please dont bother to check your phone at Machans as it is completely shunned off. Only vodafone and idea network os available that too with great difficulty. The idea is to enjoy and be with nature so it shouldn't matter at the end of the day.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Mansi B wrote a review Oct 2021
Mumbai, India1 contribution1 helpful vote
The place is nothing short of what you make of it from the photographs you see!! Very very aesthetically curated, this place is definitely couple goals! We selected the sunset and starlight machans. #mustvisit#romanticgetaway#treehouse#heavenonearth
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
PRICE RANGE
US$138 - US$267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Machan & Camp Canopy
LOCATION
IndiaMaharashtraPune DistrictLonavala
NUMBER OF ROOMS
29
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing