We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Machan

Save
Share
Private Road Village Jambulne, 8 km Short of Aamby Valley, Lonavala 412108 India
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
US$ 172
View deal
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
Booking.comUS$ 172
SnaptravelUS$ 188
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (2064)
Room & Suite (560)
Dining (70)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#14 of 171 hotels in Lonavala
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
An award-winning eco-resort in Lonavala. The Machan is a story of dwellings that rise above the forest floor and form a symbiotic relationship with their natural surroundings. All of its individual accommodations are floating in the air, with enchanting views and elegant rustic interiors. Its carbon footprint is minimal - with its energy generated solely through solar and wind. Located in Jambulne, one of 25 biological hotspots of the world and a mere 2.5 Drive from Mumbai (1.5 Hours from Pune), the Machan makes for an accessible weekend getaway. We invite you to take some time away from work and immerse yourself in this one of a kind experience. Reconnect with family, friends and loved ones in the comfort and privacy of this truly exclusive retreat.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Paid internet
Hot bath
Free breakfast
Hiking
Board games / puzzles
Spa
24-hour security
Parking
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Massage
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi
1520Reviews96Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,013
  • 314
  • 99
  • 47
  • 47
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Prasad wrote a review 4 Dec
1 contribution
One of the best place I have ever visited, friendly and supportive staff. Best place to run away from the hustle bustle city. You can just relax with your loved ones without disturbance of phones. Best place to visit!!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Aloysius Lobo wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
This place surely doesn't disappoint. Before going here I read a lot of reviews, many were positive and some were downright bad. However, now that I have been there I feel I need to write a review that really makes justice to the place. We booked the canopy machan for 10th September, however 2 weeks before our stay our dog fell critically ill, we had to cancel and thought our money is surely down the drain, however upon learning that our dog is so I'll they gave us an extension which we gladly accepted, however once again our dog hadn't recovered. They graciously gave us an extension on the condition that it would be the final one. We were really grateful because rarely any resorts make such exceptions. We were staying in Canopy 1. The room was clean and the view was simply mind-blowing. Coming to food I read many reviews that the food was very expensive. I had both their set menu and al carte menu. The food was filling and extremely tasty. Considering the cost, one has to understand that it's in the middle of jungle and the cost of getting fresh produce daily is expensive, moreover most high end restaurants in Lonavala would charge you same if not more. The best thing I liked about this place was no cell reception. I and my husband have been married for over a decade. Having the phone out the way allowed us to have long conversations with each other, which also bought us closer emotionally, spiritually and physically. I would highly recommend anyone who can afford this place to come here, atleast once. This place is truly worth the money. I know I will be back here, maybe not so soon, but surely in a couple of years."
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Shweta Chauhan wrote a review Nov 2021
Mumbai, India1 contribution
+1
The one of the bests!!! Food was fantastic, service was good, place was clean, property is maintained very properly, view was good, loved the forest trail… last but not the least, entry to the property was awesome
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Aarthi wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
We went there to celebrate my parents’ 50th wedding anniversary and our stay from oct 31st to nov 2nd was wonderful. What made it fabulous was the amazing environment, the property and the staff who always had a smile on their face. The service was top notch and the food was simple but very tasty. They also accommodated our requirements for a Jain cuisine. Our celebration was made special and memorable thanks to the wonderful team of the Machan!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Jyoti Keswani wrote a review Nov 2021
Navi Mumbai, India3 contributions4 helpful votes
We had booked a starlight machan which comes with a swimming pool and a skylight. We were shown how to open the skylight and told to open it after 9 pm at night as the insects would have found their nest to roost by then. But when we tried to open it at 10 pm, it would simply not open! So the technician was called and he said that there was a major problem and they couldn't do anything till morning. But we had to checkout in the morning and the entire experience was ruined! Also, they could not even reach the incharge of the place as he would not pick up his calls at night. We had paid 30,000 for this particular machan, and its main skylight feature wasn't working! We were damn pissed. And even if there was an issue that it wasn't working, they did not provide us with another machan or refund us part of the money as a solution. When we spoke with the general manager in the morning, he was unhelpful and quite arrogant about it. Instead of providing a proactive solution or even acknowledging his mistake, he rudely told us to be "only happy with the vibe we experienced of the place" In fact, he turned quite preachy and said that it's not about "the lodging here" and that the skylight is "unique machinery" that may or may not work. Oh really? Then maybe you shouldn't be offering different styles of machans (along with machinery that doesn't work) at such expensive rates! Another thing I noticed that his words and actions didn't make any sense! When my partner told him that the whole point of the skylight was that we could sleep under the stars at night (atleast for an hour), he had The Gall To Laugh Right In Our Faces! (Let's look at what the website description says of The Starlight Machan - "Bringing the ancient concept of a "star bed" to the modern era, our luxurious Starlight Machans have a translucent, retractable roof for guests to enjoy the pitter-patter of the rains in the Monsoons and the starry night sky in the Winters & Summers.") IMAGINE LAUGHING AT THE VERY USP OF WHAT YOUR BRAND IS OFFERING! Ironical, isn't it? After arguing with him, he finally waived off our food expense bill which amounted to around 3000 rupees as "settlement" But we were still not happy with his arrogant attitude and the frustration we had felt when there was no one around to help us at night. Furthermore, we noticed later that the machan itself had minor defects like a broken table, broken bathroom stand and such. So, it looks like the the machan wasn't maintained well as well. Overall - Location might be great, but if the service and hospitality is so bad, then what's the point of going to such a place? I would recommend to avoid this place for sure.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from TM General Manager, General Manager at The Machan
Responded 2 weeks ago
Please refer to the response to "ShreyasJoshi" as this is a duplicate review put by you.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$138 - US$267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Machan & Camp Canopy
LOCATION
IndiaMaharashtraPune DistrictLonavala
NUMBER OF ROOMS
29
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Machan
Which popular attractions are close to The Machan?
Nearby attractions include Lion's Point (3.9 km), Lonavala Lake (7.6 km), and Tung Fort (5.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Machan?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a spa, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at The Machan?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Machan?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Machan?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Hindi.
Are there any historical sites close to The Machan?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Tung Fort (5.8 km).
Does The Machan have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.