We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Thirumala Ward, Alappuzha 688011 India
E-mail hotel
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
StayForLong
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (869)
Room & Suite (155)
Videos (2)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#14 of 132 in Alappuzha
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Alleppey, also named as ‘Venice of the East’ by the Viceroy of India Lord Curzon, is one of the oldest trading centers, bridging India’s ties with Greece and Rome during the Middle Ages. The culture of Alleppey has its soul defined in the ‘Sangam Era’ with art, literature, social and economic collaborations with Tamil Nadu, Kerala and Sri Lanka. It also draws its influence from the Dutch and Portuguese settlers of 12th Century, which established Christianity in the region. Sterling Lake Palace Alleppey Resort is centrally located in 14 acres of lush greenery and calm water bodies, parallel to the Vembanad lake. Built with a private lagoon surrounded by backwaters, the resort features 58 luxurious rooms and suites, overlooking the Vembanad Lake – the longest freshwater lake in India. The resort also boasts an Ayurvedic spa, water sports, exotic flavors of the coast and delectable global cuisines. Want to relax? Check out the incredible island swimming pool, and sip your favourite cocktail poolside, while taking in the beauty around you.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Mini golf
Fishing
Indoor play area for children
Valet parking
Public wifi
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Airport transportation
Car hire
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Massage
Salon
Steam room
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Shops
Butler service
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi
635Reviews21Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 346
  • 168
  • 69
  • 25
  • 27
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Shreyas Ananth wrote a review 9 May
4 contributions
A must visit if you are in Alleppey. Wonderful Location, beautiful rooms and views, Excellent staff except the one is restaurant with blue shirt and black pant - might be the supervisor who was so immature in handling customers. The sunset boat ride which is offered as complimentary is one of the best rides - do not miss it. Boat driver was very humble, he suggests on where to take picture, he slows down at certain places which is good for photography. Food: Good Breakfast. Limited options for Vegetarians in lunch and dinner but can survive, chefs are not flexible to make something new for you - or may its just the supervisor not trying hard. Staff: All are Wonderful. Binu - ensured we had a smooth stay. Just the restaurant supervisor was a bit immature. Definitely a YES YES YES place to go for.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Lake View room are the best, actually all rooms has lake side view in one side or the other
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Sterling Holidays, Owner at Sterling Lake Palace Alleppey
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Sachin, Namaste! We are elated to know that you enjoyed your holiday at Sterling Lake Palace Alleppey. Thank you for making the most out of our resort. We are glad that you enjoyed the service rolled out by our staff members. We have taken a note of your concerns and have shared it with our management team. We hope you give us one more chance again to roll out a pleasant holidaying experience. Sincerely, The Sterling Holidays Team
Read more
Falak S wrote a review Oct 2021
9 contributions
Hotel's Favourite
We stayed at Lake Palace for 1 night, and I must say the place is as good as shown in photos (even better). Multiple activities like mini golf, pedal boat, cycling, etc. and complimentary 1 hour evening sunset cruise. Covid protocols were followed properly. Their service is cherry on the top. Extremely attentive and responsive towards all their guests. Special mention to Ajith Shah who guided us through the entire property and made sure that the trip was indeed memorable. He was prompt in responding to all our requests and always went an extra mile in ensuring a wonderful stay. P.S. Dinner was also great. +1 to the chef and manager who prepared the dishes as per our requirements.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Sanal Devadas, Guest Services / Front Office at Sterling Lake Palace Alleppey
Responded 27 Oct 2021
Dear Mr.Shah, The entire team at Sterling Lake Palace would like to thank you for such pleasant feedback about your recent stay with us. It gives us great pleasure to read that your experience went beyond your expectation with our flawless associates taking care of your every need. The entire team hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back with us in the near future. Thanks & regards Sanal Devadas Service Manager Front Desk
Read more
anex a wrote a review 1 May
1 contribution
I travelled with my family & they all loved it. The property was fabulous. The Chief Chef Ebin's food was delicious especially chicken biryani, mutton biryani, prawns ularth and chicken varutharachathu was yummy. Masala of mutton biryani was 😘Overall we enjoyed it....
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Sterling Holidays, Owner at Sterling Lake Palace Alleppey
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Anex, Namaste! We are delighted to know that you had a memorable vacation at Sterling Lake Palace Alleppey. Our resort is aimed at providing a holidaying experience like no other where our guests can connect, spend time with their loved ones and enjoy themselves amidst the best of hospitality and tranquillity of nature. Chef Ebin will be pleased knowing that you loved his chicken biryani, mutton biryani, prawns ularth, and chicken varutharachathu. It was a pleasure to host you. Sincerely, The Sterling Holidays Team
Read more
K S Nair wrote a review Apr 2022
Kochi (Cochin), India5 contributions
Spent 3 nights with family in their higher category facility called Privilege Suite (Duplex villa). Just ‘an ok stay’ that’s all, nothing special to mention, except the suite was spacious and it was on upper floor of a duplex villa facing the lake. There are several issues that need immediate remedial measures. Staff are fairly (not all) friendly and courteous but appear untrained and low on efficiency. Quality and quantity of food portions served do not match the so-called 4-star property in spite of the fact that everything is overpriced! (no issues though on pricing, if quality, taste and qty had been adequate conforming to a luxury hotel!). If I need to list the shortcomings, there are plenty. Service is pitiably very slow. Free breakfast buffet lack variety, some dishes are tasteless, and I didn’t see any real change of dishes and pastries over 3 days. Same stuff, all days! I expected a much higher quality of experience in this otherwise vast property. Poor Upkeep of recreational facilities are another issue to be addressed to. One incident I got really annoyed with was, when I was told by the restaurant that they do not supply some simple snacks like nuts or chips. I was told bluntly that nothing of those sorts were available! Service book /menu says mini fridge is stacked with beverages and small snacks etc but it was just sitting empty! Property is vast but concrete tiles occupy a major landmass of the sprawling resort thus making whatever vegetation, trees and garden lesser dense. Tiles are protruding on pathway making walk a little scary at certain areas! Overall for a frequent traveller within India and outside, like me and family, it was not a very appealing experience worth the price we paid for (that too for a privilege suite!).
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Sterling Holidays, Owner at Sterling Lake Palace Alleppey
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear K S Nair, Namaste! Thank you for holidaying at Sterling Lake Palace Alleppey and sharing your feedback. We thank you for your earnest feedback. We are grateful to you for bringing to our attention that needs our introspection and investigation. Our management team has already started a process to look into the matter and overview the possible deviations. Sincerely, The Sterling Holidays Team
Read more
Mrigank Sharma wrote a review Apr 2022
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India3 contributions
Stayed a night here on the second leg of our 5 day Kerala holiday. Beautiful property situated on a lake. Ingress and egress to property via their quaint hotel mechanized boat. Took 2 adjoining rooms. Large rooms, but certainly past their 'best before' dates, especially their attached bathrooms. The family loved their jet boat and kayaking facilities. F&B options and quality was a let-down, including in-room dining and the buffet breakfast. The staff were courteous but a tad low on efficiency. This place has potential for improvement and deserves to be rated a notch above.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Sterling Holidays, Owner at Sterling Lake Palace Alleppey
Responded 7 Apr 2022
Dear Mrigank, Namaste! We are grateful to you for holidaying at Sterling Lake Palace Alleppey and sharing your feedback. Thank you for making the most out of our scenic location and activities. We are grateful to you for sharing the aspects that can be improved, our management team has taken a note of the same. Promising the best - always! Sincerely, The Sterling Holidays Team
Read more
Preeti wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
Experience unparalleled luxury at this lake side property offering well appointed rooms.A must visit place on your bucket list. Good ambiance surrounded by scenic beauty all along the resort, provides you a one of a kind experience with mango 🥭 plants just plug n eat
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Sterling Holidays, Owner at Sterling Lake Palace Alleppey
Responded 5 Apr 2022
Dear Preeti, Namaste! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your holiday at Sterling Lake Palace Alleppey. We are glad that learning that our resort was able to offer you an experience of the finest luxury and hospitality amidst our exotic location. Hope to host you again. Sincerely, The Sterling Holidays Team
Read more
AshishMalik wrote a review Mar 2022
Bahadurgarh, India30 contributions25 helpful votes
The resort is recently leased by Sterling group from original Lake palace owner. It's recently renovated, there are just 58 rooms in a total area of 25+ acres. Most of the amenities are complementary such as Paddle boat, Cycling, Billiards/ Pool, Other Indoor games, etc. and even an evening one hour backwater cruise from 5 to 6 PM. We stayed for 2 nights and got complementary buffet candle light dinner during our stay for a night. Rooms are large and clean and so is the swimming pool in between their artificial lake. We liked everything during our 8 days stay at different sterling resorts. Only thing which was not to our liking was GM Sardar Ji didn't greeted us with a smile when we were waiting for battery car at gate during our Check In and he was passing from there though on a call and moreso before going to boat cruise, we asked for complementary water bottles for 3 of our rooms and he guided us to a house boy to ask him to pull bottles from our room instead. Else, during whole 8 days at all resorts we got N number of bottles as per our requirements. Later, after calling house keeping- they ensured to meet our demand. All other staff members were worth praising specifically restaurant staff.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Go for Premier rooms which face natural lake.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Sterling Holidays, Owner at Sterling Lake Palace Alleppey
Responded 31 Mar 2022
Dear AshishMalik, Namaste! We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful experience at Sterling Lake Palace Alleppey. Thank you for making the most out of our rooms and amenities. We have shared your feedback with our management team. We await the chance to host you again in the near future. Sincerely, The Sterling Holidays Team
Read more
goelay wrote a review Mar 2022
New Delhi, India929 contributions96 helpful votes
+1
It’s one of the best properties considering backwater views in Alleppey. We stayed here for one night and was amazed with the property. We took lake view premium rooms for its views and we loved the views. Room are pretty old style and doesn’t worth the price but I think price is for the views and not room so overall a good property with average rooms. Food is good here considering my taste for North Indian food. Also their are ample activities for kids and adults.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Book lake premium view rooms
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Sterling Holidays, Owner at Sterling Lake Palace Alleppey
Responded 14 Mar 2022
Dear Goelay, Namaste! We are grateful of your kind feedback of your stay at Sterling Lake Palace Alleppey. We are glad that our exotic location added much joy to your stay. Thank you for liking our dining options and activities. We have shared your feedback with our management team. We hope to host you soon. Sincerely, The Sterling Holidays Team
Read more
Josy wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution
Worst,impolite talking employee. Sterling employee Anoop with no knowledge in dealing with customers. Arrogant and rude customer service from the employee Will never take sterling even as an option. Teach him how to behave.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Sterling Holidays, Owner at Sterling Lake Palace Alleppey
Responded 2 Mar 2022
Dear Josy, Namaste! We are saddened to know that you did not enjoy your experience at Sterling Lake Palace Alleppey. We are extremely concerned to know of the issue that you have highlighted. Our management team has taken a note of the same and is currently investigating the matter. We assure you a much pleasant experience in the future. Sincerely, The Sterling Holidays Team
Read more
Sambhu wrote a review Jan 2022
Washington DC, District of Columbia13 contributions8 helpful votes
Great check in and check out experience . Wonderful and helpful staff. Menu has options from all around the world . Pool is gorgeous and well maintained. Staff is accommodating. Rom Service was excellent. Views of the lake from the room is breathtaking
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Sterling Holidays, Owner at Sterling Lake Palace Alleppey
Responded 22 Jan 2022
Dear Sambhu, Namaste! It delights us to know that you had a pleasant holidaying experience at Sterling Lake Palace Alleppey, Thank you for commending our hospitality. We are glad that you enjoyed our swimming pool, service, and scenic views. We await the chance to host you again in the near future. Sincerely, The Sterling Holidays Team
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$77 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
lake palace hotel alappuzha, lake palace alappuzha
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Lake Palace Resort
LOCATION
IndiaKeralaAlappuzha DistrictAlappuzha
NUMBER OF ROOMS
58
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sterling Lake Palace Alleppey
Which popular attractions are close to Sterling Lake Palace Alleppey?
Nearby attractions include Mullakkal Rajeshwari Temple (0.8 km), The Alleppey Billiards (1.0 km), and Aiswarya 1 GM Designer Jewellery (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sterling Lake Palace Alleppey?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Sterling Lake Palace Alleppey?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Sterling Lake Palace Alleppey?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Sterling Lake Palace Alleppey?
Yes, free parking and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sterling Lake Palace Alleppey?
Conveniently located restaurants include Brews and Burgers Bistro, Cafe Paradiso Espresso Coffee Bar, and Bayroute Bistro.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sterling Lake Palace Alleppey?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Sterling Lake Palace Alleppey have airport transportation?
Yes, Sterling Lake Palace Alleppey offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sterling Lake Palace Alleppey?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Sterling Lake Palace Alleppey offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sterling Lake Palace Alleppey?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Hindi.