Love Dale Lake Side Home Stay

Pulickelchira Puthanangadi, Alappuzha 688555 India
Traveller (321)
night view
Room & Suite (68)
My Best Place in the House.. Sat there for Hours.
Dining (49)

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Sat, 4 May
Breakfast included
₹2,797
Fully refundable before Fri, 3 May
Breakfast included
No fees just great deals
₹1,940
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

5.0
#3 of 94 guest houses in Alappuzha
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
This idyllic lakeside home stay is located a short distance from the tourist town of Alleppey/Alappuzha in Kerala. A quiet, relaxed, clean and mosquito-free accommodation has 4 rooms with ensuite bathroom, both AC and non-AC, but all with fans. A local or continental breakfast is included with home cooked meals optional, including local fish delicacies. Pick ups and transport can be arranged.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Fishing
Car hire
Massage
Mosquito net
Newspaper
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Safe
Seating area
Extra long beds
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Sofa
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Lake View
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi
279Reviews8Q+A65Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 230
  • 39
  • 8
  • 0
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Olga M wrote a review Feb 2020
Moscow, Russia40 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
One of the best homestays that we have ever stayed in!

Everything is just amazing! Rooms are clean and have everything you need, view is marvelous, you can see fishermen passing on the boats every morning that adds to the overall ambience. We loved waking up in the morning with the sound of nature and birds singing. There is a big seating area on the lake where the breakfast and dinner are being served.

The place is perfect to relax, unwind and enjoy yourself and the nature!

The owners are very warm, helpful and hospitable people! We felt like we were at home such a warm welcome and stay it was! They can organize yoga lessons, boat tours, tuktuk, train and many other things.

For breakfast you get actually 2 - contental and South indian one, we were so full that we had to skip lunch every day. For dinner we were always served fresh fish or prawns, vegetables, curry, rice etc. There was always plenty of food and everything was delicious!

We had our laundry done, they return it either same or next day!

All in all - great stay, great memories and absolutely great value for money!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GrandTour07115612794 wrote a review Nov 2022
1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We are from Chennai. Stayed from 9/11/22 to 14/11/22. Self, wife and 18 year old son.

Having stayed in many home stays all over India, I would easily rate this stay at Love dale as the best one.

Mr.Anshad and Mrs.Ameena were so nice and their hospitality was literally overwhelming.

They made us so very comfortable with delicious home made food, and with sumptuous quantity. The menu was never repeated. They went out if their way to see that our palate is taken care of.

The cottage was lovely to say the least. The polished wooden interior was awesome. 24 hours running hot water, bath tub made it more special. The bed was comfortable and linen was changed thrice during our stay.

The scenery outside is a sight to behold, with a beautiful garden complete with hammocks for relaxation. We can just relax seeing the vast lake right in front of us, hearing the birds chirping, all day.

Mr.Anshad gave valuable tips regarding our boat trips to Kuttanad and Kumarakom bird sanctuary. He suggested govt operated boat tours, which saved us from bargaining with private operators.

The morning village walks were a fascinating experience. Seeing the fishermen folk wading in their boats with the days catch of muzzels, fish etc. was nice.

The interaction with other guests (a wonderful family from Israel especially) made the trip adorable.

When we were seen off by Mrs &Mr.Anshad, we only had sweet memories.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul P wrote a review Feb 2020
Todmorden, United Kingdom39 contributions54 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is not a 5 star hotel. It does not have 24 hour room service, and a glitzy cocktail bar or a swimming pool. What it does have are owners who care deeply about their guests and will do everything they can to meet their needs. This goes from ordering tuktuks, arranging outings, providing information on places to visit, booking trains, and coping with special dietary needs. Oh and by the way the food is excellent, over generous, and not for those on diets! The rooms are simple, clean, and the beds comfortable. The location by the lake serene. Oh yes and they do your laundry - without fuss, quickly and efficiently - when did that last happen to you in a posh hotel?

What more do you want? Lovedale is ridiculous value for money by European standards.

Thank you Anshad and family for a wonderful time. We will return
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
vaijayantikulkarni wrote a review Dec 2021
Pune, India4 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The host is a cheater.
please do not opt for this home stay
I booked the 400 sq.ft ground floor room ( as mentioned in the website) for 3 adults - me and my parents , who are senior citizens, costing me Rs.2080
But when I reached the place, I was offered the rooms upstairs when booking was for ground floor, which was just 150 sq.ft
when I asked the host about the same, he said the room allocation is subject to availability, as mentioned on website.
please note, nowhere this is mentioned.
the host has no help to carry luggage to room.
In my case, he asked my driver to carry luggage and then he took it to upstairs and same story while check out.
the property has no facility for drivers. they have to stay somewhere else.
The rooms have no mosquito nets as mentioned on website.
The ac remote was missing in the room.
when we started the fan ,all the dirt from behind the cupboard came out.
the host has provided property with max 10 lit geyser and he has deliberately slowed down the hot water flow.
I had to take a bath with cold water as it was taking around 1 hr to fill the small bucket with hot water and we did not that time and patience.
finally I asked the host's wife for hot water for my parents as I did not want them to take bath with cold water.
the water provided was not hot at all.
When I asked the reason for the low tap water pressure, the host said, he has done this in all the rooms.
regarding food, it is overpriced.
for any breakfast, it costs Rs.75 which is way higher than any decent hotel like Arya Sarvana bhavan.
I can not comment on food quality as I did not avail service as it was overpriced.
overall , a very bad experience at this home stay.
the host has excuses ready for any discrepancies.
please avoid this home stay
.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Anshad Lovedale, Owner at Love Dale Lake Side Home Stay
Responded 3 Jan 2022
All our 5 rooms are very spacious. We do not know why this guest has attempted to show such a manipulated view of our homestay. We do not know what grudge they have against us. The photo they have shared is only a secluded part of the room. We assign rooms according to availability. I cannot ask our other guests to move out to make way for another, this was a demand that this guest in all their arrogance put forward. There is no option in any of our websites to select a specific room, I do not know how they manage to do that. This is because we are a homestay. All our guests carry their own luggage, we help out as much as we can to our abilities. Because we are a small business, we do not have accomodation for drivers. But as the above guest has conveniently left out, I forwarded their driver to a nearby lodge and paid his Rs. 150 room rent from my own pocket. If you'd asked us, we would've provided you mosquito nets as well. And no, we haven't deliberately slowed down the pipes. It is moronic of you to think that we'd do something like this. The pipe just needs to be slowed down for the water to come out very hot. And no, it does not take an hour to fill. Says a lot about your patience that you couldn't wait 5 minutes. This is an aspect of our homestay that no other guest has had any problem with ever. No other guest has had a problem with our breakfast prices as well. It is usually paid for within the room rent., but because you did not choose that option, it cost you Rs 75. It goes without saying that the guest was very rude and is ready to nitpick on every minor detail. We do not recommend them in any way.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Yvonne wrote a review Mar 2020
19 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovedale is a place to settle down quietly for a few days. It is a very peaceful place. The owner and his wife will make you feel at ease immediately and will help you with everything. The food is fantastic. Every day again. You can make trips to the beach, to the other side of the lake or just a day sailing around the lake or take a canoe trip through more narrow canals. It is an ideal place to relax and unwind.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Binoy Jacob wrote a review May 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
One of the best homestay in Allapey. The owner is very helpful and he has helped us with taxi and nearby good places. The view from this place is incredible, you can see beautiful sunrise and houseboats .The food was just awesome specially the kareemeen and the prawns curry was just next level. I would definitely stay in the same homestay next time. If you are in Allapey do stay in this homestay you can experience peaceful and amazing stay.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Anshad Lovedale, Owner at Love Dale Lake Side Home Stay
Responded 26 May 2022
Thank you for the review.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SashaPare wrote a review Dec 2022
Montreal, Canada2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The property is beautiful and provides a nice change of pace from city life. Alleppey is easily accessible from the home stay but the location is far enough that you can have a more interesting and less touristy experience. Hosts were extremely helpful in coordinating activities and the food was delicious. Highly recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: The location is somewhat remote, with all the pros and cons that that entails
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Padmapriya wrote a review Jul 2022
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It all started when we planned for a vacation to Kerala. After long research we came across this homestay.Initially we were in Dilema about booking this Stay. But once we arrived everything changed. This property is right on the bank of vembanad lake. You can just sit and relax with ur family and friends in the outdoor dinning area . we didn't have any issues with food and the good part is you can enjoy all authentic kerala dishes without any hesitation here . The food was delicious 😋, kids enjoyed the food. Owner of the property is very friendly he can arrange auto,cabs,shikara,houseboat anything on time. His Mrs is a supercook and to my surprise we didn't waste even single piece of food. Good place,neatly maintained, nice location, tasty food,very safe and everything comes within our budget. If u ever think of enjoying perfect town free vacation this is the place guys.. Go for it..
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Claudia C wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Amazing beautiful place if you want to be far away from the crowded and noisy city.
The beautiful Vembanad lake will quiet your mind and nourish your soul.

The hosting family will welcome you with an open heart and make sure you have everything you need to enjoy your stay. They provide support if you want to do some sightseeing or have some trips around and enjoy the beauty of the lake Vembanad or get to the Marari beach. You will also get best Kerala food on the table, made with care and love!

The 5 days I wanted to stay here turned out to be 10 and I will surely come again!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Best view, easy accessibility, quite, nature
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Anshad Lovedale, Owner at Love Dale Lake Side Home Stay
Responded 26 May 2022
Thank you for the review
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rose H wrote a review Jan 2020
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom41 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent 3 nights with Ashand and his family in the cottage I n the lovely gardens. The lake view is spectacular with fishermen passing in their canoes and every kind of bird and wildlife close by. There is no need for a houseboat as you’ll see far more nature at Lovedales. It is a 15 min walk to the ferry to take you to the bird sanctuary across the lake. You will walk through the village with local fishermen and coir workers next to all kinds of flora and fauna. Ashand arranged an eco backwater canoe trip for us which was fabulous. He is a complete mine of information and you really won’t want to leave. Thanks so much for your kindness and generosity Ashand.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from LovedaleAlleppey, Owner at Love Dale Lake Side Home Stay
Responded 28 Jan 2020
Hello ma'am, thank you so much for your kind words. We are happy to hear that you are satisfied with our service. Best Regards Anshad
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from jonoewen
Riding Mill, United Kingdom17 contributions7 helpful votes
We travelled as a couple but our experience in Kerala were that it is generally a far safer and hasslefree place compare to North India. Lovedale itself is absolutely delightful and the hosts are also equally charming and unobtrusive so extremely helpful and concerned for the well-being of their guests. I would strongly recommend it for solo female travellers.
Answer from Liv R
Halifax, England, United Kingdom14 contributions17 helpful votes
There is plenty space for parking there. You can reach the resort by car. Leave the main highway at Chertala and make your way to Puthanangadi village. Contact host for more detailed directions. You will really enjoy it there.
Answer from mageshmech
Bengaluru, India173 contributions23 helpful votes
yes. but just check if there is another room attached to it which am not sure.
Answer from Anshad L
Alappuzha, India1 contribution
Hello Sir, If you reach 6 am give me the date.if the room is available you can check in early. Thanks Anshad +91 9846210251
Anne H wrote a tip Feb 2024
Dublin, Ireland14 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I think there is kayaking near by. I got government boat over to the bird sanctuary which was fun but it was too late in the day for a guide"
Read full review
Bianca v wrote a tip Mar 2023
Breda, The Netherlands2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Connect with the host for getting there and away"
Read full review
SashaPare wrote a tip Dec 2022
Montreal, Canada2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The location is somewhat remote, with all the pros and cons that that entails"
Read full review
Satheesh wrote a tip Jun 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"1st floor with sitout"
Read full review
Claudia C wrote a tip Apr 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Best view, easy accessibility, quite, nature"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Alappuzha area.
PRICE RANGE
₹1,750 - ₹2,833 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IndiaKeralaAlappuzha DistrictAlappuzha
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

LOVE DALE LAKE SIDE HOME STAY (Kerala/Alappuzha) - Guesthouse Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Love Dale Lake Side Home Stay
Which popular attractions are close to Love Dale Lake Side Home Stay?
Nearby attractions include Mararikulam Beach (6.3 km), Bay Island Driftwood Museum (6.2 km), and Kumarakom Bird Sanctuary (5.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Love Dale Lake Side Home Stay?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Love Dale Lake Side Home Stay?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a desk, and extra long beds.
What food & drink options are available at Love Dale Lake Side Home Stay?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Love Dale Lake Side Home Stay?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Love Dale Lake Side Home Stay?
Conveniently located restaurants include Lime Tree, The Waterside, and Granma.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Love Dale Lake Side Home Stay?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Hindi.
Does Love Dale Lake Side Home Stay have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the lake view available here.
All Alappuzha HotelsAlappuzha Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in AlappuzhaHotels near Love Dale Lake Side Home Stay
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday homesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire