Bella Homestay Kerala

Bella Homestay Kerala

Near Nehru Trophy Finishing Point Thathampally, Alappuzha 688013 India
Bichu and Natasha
Traveller (243)
Blue room
Room & Suite (52)
Enjoying lunch after cooking class
Dining (24)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

5.0
#2 of 94 guest houses in Alappuzha
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
Bella Homestay is a lovely bed& breakfast nestled in small suburban streets of Alleppey, near the Punnamada lake and boating terminals, and a walking distance from the old city center. It has 5 AC rooms with attached bathrooms, large halls and seats outs to chill out and a pleasant garden. Biju and family will offer you traditional keralan breakfast, make travel arrangements for you and organize backwater tours.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Yoga classes
Free breakfast
Boating
Canoeing offsite
Kids stay free
Babysitting
Airport transportation
Wifi
Yoga room
Personal trainer
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Car hire
Taxi service
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Seating area
Bottled water
Coffee / tea maker
Dishwasher
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
City view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi, Tamil

Location

Near Nehru Trophy Finishing Point Thathampally, Alappuzha 688013 India
405Reviews0Q+A49Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 360
  • 33
  • 1
  • 2
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Brian M wrote a review Feb 2020
Crowborough, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were given a lovely warm welcome from Biju, on arrival we were served delicious pineapple lassi, so refreshing. The house is spacious, light and airy, and the room was comfortable and cool, with a pleasant balcony, and everywhere very clean. Biju arranged for us to take a backwater trip by ferry and punted canoe, a perfect way to see the tranquil smaller backwaters. The shaded verandah by the entrance was a great place to sit and relax, and we could see humming birds flitting about in the trees in the compact lovely courtyard garden. Breakfast was served on the verandah by Sunita who was so helpful, friendly and welcoming.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Autonomy123 wrote a review Feb 2020
Swindon, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in Alleppey for a couple of nights and couldn't recommend Bella Homestay enough. Biju and his family were so welcoming and friendly, and the bedrooms were very comfortable. They also booked a fantastic day on a small boat for us, where we could experience some of the smaller waterways away from the larger boats. Biju was also very help in arranging our onward train journey from Alleppey, thank you very much!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Laura A wrote a review Jan 2020
Venice, Italy
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I loved my stay here!!!Mr Biju welcomed me in such a warm and informative way,that I felt at home from the first moment.The homestay is a few steps from where all the boats to go to the backwaters are moored.I received a lot of tips about the area!Mr Biju arranged a Backwaters tour for me which was great!And breakfast was really delicious!!!Thank you so much for such a pleasant stdy!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nadine wrote a review Mar 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We loved our 2 nights at bella homestay, the breakfast was lovely and tasty, the recommendations for tours to do in alleppey were great. The Tuktuk-Driver Afsal is the best tuktuk-Driver we ever had in India, he was truly amazing.
We would totally recommend Bella Homestay for a stay in Alleppey!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Emer S wrote a review Aug 2012
Dublin, Ireland
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I have stayed in several homestays in Kerala, and nowhere have I experienced such rudeness and aggression as in Bella Homestay.

We found the service slow and the hosts abrasive.

Whenever we used water either while showering or washing our teeth the water smelled of eggy sewage. It was disgusting! Also, there were no proper showers, so the floor was always wet. This wouldn't have been so much of a problem if we weren't paying so much for Bella.

Biju, the host offered to drive myself and a friend to visit his friend's house boat, with the possibility that we might stay there for a few nights. When we told him that we weren't sure about the house boat he was immediately furious and accused us of wasting his time. He told us that he didn't need our money and that we were no friends of his. The situation was very awkward.

Overall, our experience was horrible and we couldn't get out of there fast enough.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2012
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from NatashaBiju, Owner at Bella Homestay Kerala
Responded 28 Aug 2012
Dear Mme, We feel sorry to say that your review is wrong and false. First of all, how one can believe words of people who steal accessories from our homestay? You arrived at our place without prior booking, saw the room, acknowledged the price of 1500 INR with breakfast and tax included and took the room. We guess it was not so bad if you decided to stay on the spot. The price of 1500 INR is also not a top price for middle range accommodation. Secondly, you looked happy during your stay and how could it be otherwise? To say that we behave rude with our guests is a joke! We have a long experience in tourism field and we have manners that would not allow us to treat our clients without respect, no matter how difficult they are. Biju arranged for you another homestay for a cheaper price as we were full the next day. You were happy also with that one. As for the houseboat, you obviously had no idea of the prices and expected a luxury boat for a bargain tarrif. Finally the boat that you liked was also arranged by us, only Biju sent another person to show it to you. We helped the best way we can as we do with all our customers. Because your review is so different from your behaviour in Bella we think it is not genuine and cannot be trusted. Kind regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sophie R wrote a review May 2015
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My friend and I booked a room at Bella Art and Meditation House very last minute on booking.com. On the website it said there were 3 rooms available to book for that night. So I reserved 1 twin room and went there about half an hour later. When we arrived the owner would not open the gate but only spoke to us over it. He said he had decided to have family that night instead and that we could not stay there! I explained to him that we had booked online and if it was not available he should change it online too. He just spoke over me and was very unreasonable and rude. I said of course, if he did not want us there we did not want to stay, but that I would write a review online saying what had happened. He then accused me of threatening him. He seems to have lots of excellent reviews but to us he seemed a very unpleasant and extremely rude man. I would not want to stay here!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2015Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from NatashaBiju, Owner at Bella Homestay Kerala
Responded 6 May 2015
Dear Madam, Thank you for your comments. I was not present at the time of your arrival but wish to respond in the name of my husband Biju. You booked your room through booking.com who recently introduced an option for same day booking without any prepayment or credit card details. As I was traveling I could not close this option from my smartphone, as it can be done only from the computer. All this is unfortunate and I am sorry for that. You didn't pay anything though we will have to pay to booking.com their commission. Now, you booked a room and then arrived 20 min later, almost 3 hours before our official check in time. This demands a bit of arrogance, don't you think? We are not a hotel, just a homestay, we do not have stuff sitting in front of the computer 24 hours a day to check on new bookings...How easier would it be if you just called before? My husband was going to attend a very important meeting upon which depends our future. He is loved by me and all people who are anywhere close to him and perhaps you just attacked him, threatened him and so he responded strongly. See how many of our guests just adore him... To you and to all of our future guests I would like to say- be human, a mishap, a mistake can happen even if we do our best to avoid it, please we are not your slaves, machines, and we deserve also a bit of cooperation and heart, and for sure respect. We have a lot to share, to love, to give and receive from you, and we are happy to assist our guests in any way, but nobody likes to be insulted. Perhaps Biju is not a diplomat, and then what....we hand our hearts on the plate. Natasha
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Elisa P wrote a review Dec 2015
Lindau, Germany
1.0 of 5 bubbles
During three nights stayig at the homestay we had two times problems with the door handle. Once the host fixed it, but soon it was broken again. When we tried to pay for our stay the host started a discussion about the door handle wich soon turned into wild accusations, which we first didn´t understand. After realising that he accused us of "damaging his house on purpose" we tried to discuss the issue, but he got more and more aggressive in his behavior, so we decided to leave although it was late at night. When we tried to pay him for the three nights we stayed (we actually had reserved four but did not feel comfortable to stay another one after the argument) he refused to take our money, because he also wanted us to pay for the door handle that we "broke on purpose" and the fourth night (because it was after "checkout time") and called the police. We were shocked. In the end we could leave by paying what we had offered before and went to get a bus to the airport in the middle of the night.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2015Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Diane-Rishi wrote a review Jan 2016
Paris, France
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The homestay was clean, tidy and in good condition. A few things could be improved:

- the breakfast was very basic toast and egg - the Keralan breakfast is the same with the addition of idly/sambar or similar and is only available from 9 am
- we were told a laundry service was available - our clothes were given back to us humid and not very well washed (washing powder stains etc). We had to have them washed again after leaving the homestay. I wish the owners could have let us know if laundry was going to be too much trouble and we wouldn't have bothered with it.

In spite of this I wish I could give a better rating but unfortunately the behaviour of the owner Biju was very unsettling made us highly uncomfortable. Things got really out of line.

We had ordered a taxi through Biju but after the tour the driver created issues and tried to charge us a different price than what we had agreed. Biju intervened and sided with the taxi driver without hearing us out. While we were calmly trying to explain the situation to him (it could have been sorted out quite easily), Biju entered into a rage and became very rude and aggressive. He insulted us and looked really threatening, rude words and gestures were used (that too in front of my parents, which was simply unacceptable).

The owner of this place seemed to be under a huge amount of stress and lashed out on us saying he was working like a slave and telling us about issues he was having with the business and his hectic work schedule, which is sad but very inappropriate to tell us, particularly in this manner. We felt so insulted and uncomfortable that we wanted to leave. After long discussions, he admitted he had made a mistake and was almost in tears, going from one extreme to the other, but the damage was done.

We eventually stayed to spare my parents more drama but were truly gutted. My wife and parents were very upset. I would not recommend this place due to the erratic behaviour of the owner. From that moment onwards we just counted the hours and were relieved to leave this place.

I see this place gets a lot of positive reviews and feel cheated because my experience was the worst I had in India.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2015
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from NatashaBiju, Owner at Bella Homestay Kerala
Responded 25 Feb 2016
Dear Diane, I am extremely sad that your experience in Bella was a bad one. I try hard to make all my guests happy and satisfied, so it is very sad for me that it wasn’t successful with you. Although I feel it’s purposeless to enter into a detailed discussion with you here. Your arguments about my mental health are simply inappropriate in this place and I do not want to go that way. I don’t want to insult anybody, all I want is just to write about the facts, so please let me clarify: Upon your arrival you asked me to arrange a taxi for you for a sightseeing tour around Alappuzha. You agreed to pay the driver 1300 INR charge. Then the next day you were supposed to go for another tour including Marari Beach and other places, for which you agreed to pay the driver 1000 INR. But you have changed your mind on the way the first day. You did all the 2 days program in one day and you paid the driver for that only 1100 INR. He made much more kilometers than planned initially, so it cannot be a surprise that I stood on the driver’s side in this conflict. It was a 200 INR (3USD) issue only and for that little you treated him as common cheater and thief. Yes I got angry, I admit, because I do not tolerate when people misbehave and do not respect others. The driver was only doing his job, he didn’t try to take more money from you. You have changed your program on the way, so the charge for the taxi had to be adjusted. You write that the issue could be solved peacefully, yes I agree. But it’s not because of me or the driver that it turned into an open conflict. You didn’t want to pay these 200 rupees more, instead you firmly ordered me to do it, as if it was my sightseeing not yours… well in my eyes this was not a sign of good will to solve the problem, rather a sign of disrespect and I must say that I felt very much insulted and treated as a slave who must obey somebody’s else orders. You also told me that you were late with your program because of my late breakfast service, but please note that I informed you right at your arrival that the continental breakfast is served from 8 am and Keralan breakfast from 9 am. I am really sorry that you didn’t like our menu, but I wouldn’t call it simple. We always serve fresh juice, filter coffee, bananas together with toast bread, eggs, jam and butter. Idlys, dosas and sambar are the traditional and most popular breakfast items in Kerala, that is why we serve it as Keralan breakfast. I am sorry if our laundry service didn’t meet your expectations, but you never told me anything about it. I could have sorted it out for you, if I only knew. You tried to punish us by writing a double “terrible” review on Trip Advisor, as if one wasn’t enough. I can only say that even though I do not agree with your arguments, this is your right to say what you think. We do our best to give our guests all needed help, assistance and respect but we also need to be respected, don’t you think? Otherwise it simply cannot work. My best wishes for you Biju
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kiwifaye2014 wrote a review Jan 2016
London, United Kingdom
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a bad experience here. We booked a Deluxe-twin with balcony and garden view on booking.com many weeks in advance. On arrival we were given a small room downstairs, next to the kitchen, with frosted glass windows, no view, cracked toilet and a warped sliding toilet door that was very difficult to close. We were told it was because they were busy and we were staying only one night. On departure we were charged the same rate as a deluxe room. I said I thought it was unfair that we were being charged the same rate as the deluxe room. The owner did not agree. He became very agitated and angry. He said that we could leave and not pay if we were unhappy and we were treating him like a slave (his term, not mine). We paid in full as our taxi was waiting and it simply wasn't worth the hassle. Bella homestay does get many 5 star reviews but as some other reviewers have said we found the owner rude and very unpleasant. Sadly, I cannot recommend this homestay. No doubt Biju's wife will try and justify his behaviour. In two weeks in India this was our only negative experience.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2016Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
19Sheppard61 wrote a review Nov 2012
5.0 of 5 bubbles
If you are looking for somewhere to stay in Alleppey then look no further, this is the place to be. Natasha and Biju and Jacky (the pug) keep a beautiful home. It is extremely clean, comfortable and welcoming. The whole place is beautifully decorated, with a contemporary style mixed with a little something special. The rooms are bright and comfortable with aircon and lovely bathrooms. We suggest you don't dither and get your room booked because if you don't there are plenty of other people that will. Biju's fruit smoothies are an absolute must. Thank you Natasha and Biju xxx
Read more
Date of stay: November 2012
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Globetrotters01 wrote a tip Mar 2019
Deinze, Belgium314 contributions71 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms are quiet and well equipped. Spottless too!"
Read full review
Jonathan H wrote a tip Jan 2018
2 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms are decorated individually and quiet."
Read full review
SerenaGS wrote a tip Dec 2017
London, United Kingdom20 contributions48 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms excellent..very clean"
Read full review
Christina wrote a tip May 2017
Clawson, Michigan37 contributions35 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms are beautiful and clean, but the rooms upstairs have a nearby balcony."
Read full review
Muhammed P wrote a tip Apr 2017
18 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The top rooms are great, with a private balcony"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Alappuzha area.
LOCATION
IndiaKeralaAlappuzha DistrictAlappuzha
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BELLA HOMESTAY KERALA (Alappuzha) - Guesthouse Reviews & Photos - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Bella Homestay Kerala
Which popular attractions are close to Bella Homestay Kerala?
Nearby attractions include Mullakkal Rajeshwari Temple (0.4 km), Pulickattil Handicrafts (0.3 km), and Pulikunnoo (0.06 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Bella Homestay Kerala?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and airport transportation.
Which room amenities are available at Bella Homestay Kerala?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Bella Homestay Kerala?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Bella Homestay Kerala?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bayroute Bistro, Brews and Burgers Bistro, and Thaff Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Bella Homestay Kerala?
Yes, guests have access to yoga classes during their stay.
Does Bella Homestay Kerala have airport transportation?
Yes, Bella Homestay Kerala offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Bella Homestay Kerala?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Hindi, and Tamil.
Does Bella Homestay Kerala have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
Is Bella Homestay Kerala accessible?
Yes, it offers facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Alappuzha HotelsAlappuzha Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in AlappuzhaHotels near Bella Homestay Kerala
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday homesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire