We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Tarangire Safari Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tarangire National Park
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Tarangire Safari Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

824 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 672: English reviews
Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A wonderful and magical place to stay in the Tarangire National Park ! Magnificent views are only the beginning of how great this lodge is. From luxurious rooms to luxury tented rooms on property with the baboons. The food is magnificent ! The service is top notch. Would have loved to have stayed longer !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dtrevinosbs
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The location is amazing... the view, from either tent, bungalow or restaurant is amazing. Like a painting... in the valley zebra's, elephants, giraffes etc etc calmly walk by. We stayed in a bungalow, it was really good, but for the 'safari experience' next time I would pick a tent. Food and service are good, and there even is a pool...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbara d
Geraldton, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

really enjoyed staying at this tented lodge. the view was spectacular, watching the elephant's and wildebeest below was amazing. loved the welcome drink and free nibbles. the wifi was great but naturally only in the communal area, which was extremely comfortable and conveniently exploiting the fabulous views. the food was nice, nothing spectacular but with lovely service. the tents were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dori_the_explorer
Porini64, Owner at Tarangire Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Jamba Dori_the_explorer for sharing your review with us. Happy you enjoyed our setting and our lodge & service. Will check on the lunch boxes. "Asante sana for the recommendation." A. Simonson

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The lodge sits up on a bluff where you can see forever. When we arrived there were literally hundreds of elephants passing by. It was an amazing sight. This time we were in a bungalow but I think I prefer the tents, all have wonderful views. Loved getting up and having coffee on the veranda, watching the sun come and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandi C
Porini64, Owner at Tarangire Safari Lodge, responded to this review

"Asante sana" Sandi C for sharing a 5 star review. Delighted you returned for another visit and still appreciated everything. "Karibu tena" A. Simonson

Bellingham, Washington
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This was so much more than I expected. Staff fabulous - truly over and beyond. View to die for. Lodges rustic in appearance but totally fully functioning. Had pool and internet and the food was seriously five star or more. Stay here!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hollyc360
Porini64, Owner at Tarangire Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you Hollyc360 for the "Wonderful" review. Delighted the lodge met your expectations! "Asante sana and karibu tena" A. Simonson

Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Expensive, but worth it. The location, at the top of an escarpment, offers super views over the plains, and there is always something to see as you sip your beer or cocktail. The en-suite tents are good, but no more. Food is fine, but not exceptional. What you are paying for is the location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diane S
Porini64, Owner at Tarangire Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you Diane S for the 5 Star Location Review. And that you had a worthwhile stay. "Asante sana & Karibu tena" A. Simonson

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 November 2016

We’d heard the word “Lodge” and assumed we’d be in a slightly more solid structure than we found ourselves in - so I guess you could say we were slightly reluctant customers! But our reservations were totally unfounded: this place is great! The signs all boasted a “great view” and it does not disappoint! Sundowners, nibbles and the view from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GlynFromWales
Porini64, Owner at Tarangire Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Hello GlynFromWales, Thank you for your review. Happy you were surprised & rested with your stay here. I do query your phrase " be wary if you have allergies." This is something we definitely cater to as long as guests let us know. Even if it is last minute, we do aim to please. Delighted you conclude it was "a...

Kiddy
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Tarangire Safari Lodge in a bungalow, which was spacious with hot and cold running water. Fabulous view, really friendly staff. The only problem was they under catered. If you did not go to the meal immediately they started serving the choices were diminished. The one night they ran out of lamb so hubby had vegs only.The veg...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cookekiddy
Porini64, Owner at Tarangire Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Hello cookekiddy, Thank you for your review as we always appreciate feedback in case of any shortcomings. Disappointed to read that the buffet options were not plentiful but I have followed up with our dining staff and Monica was your waitress. She confirms the Zucchini gratin hot dish was finished but there were still other vegetarian options. Because to prepare...

Reviewed 27 October 2016

Everything about this place is amazing. The setting is spectacular. The staff go out of their way to make you feel special. The food was plentiful and delicious. The tent accommodations far exceeded my expectations. It was like staying in a 4 star hotel but with lions roaring in the distance. We did not get to spend much time on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Minnette S
Porini64, Owner at Tarangire Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you Minnette S for sharing 5 stars. Happy you had a great experience here. One night is indeed too short. Welcome back again for a much longer stay. "Asante sana" A. Simonson

The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewed 27 October 2016

This was a homecoming, I stayed here often some 15 or 20 years ago. My memories had made this into a magical place and lo and behold, it still is magical! We stayed for 3 nights which was great as I could stay behind and have a long leisure day watching the animals below from the tent, while my husband...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nossim
Porini64, Owner at Tarangire Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you Nassim for the review. Happy to have you visit again and to read that you find it just as you remember. We aim to maintain the 'magical character' : ) 3 nights. Wonderful! "Karibu tena" A. Simonson

780 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (755)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (83)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (139)
Viewed
View from Room (96)
Viewed
Dining (49)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (345)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tarangire National Park hotels
17.3 km away
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
#7 of 30 in Tarangire National Park
532 reviews
26.8 km away
Tarangire Simba Lodge
Tarangire Simba Lodge
#10 of 30 in Tarangire National Park
48 reviews
40.8 km away
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
#1 of 30 in Tarangire National Park
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
256.4 km away
Tarangire Treetops
Tarangire Treetops
#2 of 30 in Tarangire National Park
356 reviews
40.6 km away
Sanctuary Swala
Sanctuary Swala
#6 of 30 in Tarangire National Park
187 reviews
0.0 km away
Whistling Thorn Tented Camp
Whistling Thorn Tented Camp
#24 of 30 in Tarangire National Park
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Built on top of a high bluff with a breathtaking panorama, our lodge is superbly located in Tarangire National Park, providing one of the best views in Africa. Carving out the landscape below the lodge is the Tarangire River, a favourite watering place, which attracts impressive numbers and a variety of game. The scene unfolds before you while lounging on the outdoor patio, allowing you to appreciate Tarangire's diverse wildlife. At the heart of the lodge are the impressively high thatched roofs of the lounge and dining room. The open-sided design allows an uninterrupted view of the landscape and wildlife below, and captures the cooling breeze while you dine on our delicious home cooked safari cuisine. The lounge area has oversized armchairs made from old dhow boats, which make a perfect place to relax. Those wanting something a bit more active can take a dip in the pool, a bird walk around the lodge grounds or hunt for souvenirs in the Baobab boutique. Our twin tents combine the authentic safari atmosphere of 'nights under canvas', with more modern comforts of electric light and en suite bathrooms with solar hot water. We also have bungalows that provide the space and convenience of solid walls yet blend into their surroundings by using local stone and echoing the traditional round Maasai huts. Tarangire Safari Lodge offers morning & evening bush walks along the river, Night Drives and Game Drives and don't miss a massage with a view at "Patulivu"! "Karibuni" or Welcome! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tarangire Safari Lodge

Address: P.O. Box 2703 | Arusha, Tarangire National Park, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Tarangire National Park
Price Range: ₹ 12,252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tarangire Safari Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Tarangire Safari Hotel Tarangire National Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tarangire Safari Lodge staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Tarangire Safari Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The tented rooms are safe and wonderful to sleep in with open air and comfortable beds.”
 of 5 bubbles dtrevinosbs, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“They are all great!”
 of 5 bubbles SandiC48, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a tent with river-view.”
 of 5 bubbles Nossim, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“ask for a bungalow instead of a luxury tent”
 of 5 bubbles 612wernerb, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Choose a bungalow if you need more space.”
 of 5 bubbles ThomasM337, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5