We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rorke's Drift Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Rorke\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

224 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 220: English reviews
Start your review of Rorke's Drift Lodge
 Click to rate
North Shore
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Excellent instructions made this easy to find. We drove a hired small SUV and it coped superbly with the road to the lodge; even after a huge thunderstorm, we were easily able to drive along the approach road. There have been some comments made about this road, but frankly, if you can't drive along it you shouldn't be behind the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GoldenOldie99
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Get the neg out of the way first - and it is merely a matter of perception against reality. When we booked almost 12 months ago now, we thought we had booked an "Out-of-Africa" or wild west style wooden lodge with a verandah opening out onto a superb view! We DID have a truly superb view, BUT what we got...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank GED2804
dullingham
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at Rorke's Drift Lodge for 2 days. On arrival we where greeted by Shane and he made us very welcome. He showed us our accommodation and we would say it was on par with a 5 star hotel in London. Remember we are away in the bush. We had dinner both times and it was very tasty and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gresatre
christine l, Owner at Rorke's Drift Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for this fabulous review. We hope we will see you again sometime.

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were initially wondering when we would reach the Lodge but it was worth it when we did. The rooms were spotless. The day with Paul visiting the battlefields sights was so interesting and informative.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 755maureend
christine l, Owner at Rorke's Drift Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. And thank you for your comments. We always think we have arrived in a little bit of heaven when we reach the end of our adventurous road.

Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had 4 days safari 3 hrs north of Johannesburg then drove all the way down to this beautiful spot. Let's get a few things straight..... the dirt track is fun. It adds to the excitement of getting there, most cars would do it slowly and easily. The animals and dog (max) add to the loveliness. Horses , beautiful birds...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jeoff42
christine l, Owner at Rorke's Drift Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a great review. Yes, we have old TV's but there is a reason! Firstly, we hope that you don't have to sit and watch TV but will rather sit outside and enjoy being under the African skies watching the stars. And then there is a serious reason we have...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After a slightly 'hairy' yet exhilarating drive* up to Rorke's Drift Lodge we were blown away with the stunning grounds & views. Our Lodge was fabulous, spacious & beautifully decorated with all amenities on hand. A great place to stay. Our Battlefields tour was well presented & very engaging. Would recommend to all. *When booking; please follow Christine's advice re...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dee C
christine l, Owner at Rorke's Drift Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for a great review and for taking the time to write it. And then, thank you too for the advice for future guests. We always hope that everyone reads our Information Sheet and heeds our advice.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After a great day tour of the Battlefields with Thulani (highly recommended), we arrived at the Lodge. We were greeted with a very friendly and warm reception. We had opted for the self catering option and the unit was perfectly equipped. The bonus was that the unit had a few DVDs of relevant battles in the area so we duly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cathy C
christine l, Owner at Rorke's Drift Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for this super review and thanks for taking the time to write it and for recommending us. We hope that we will be able to welcome you back at Rorke's Drift Lodge sometime soon.

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Drive down from Pretoria in torrential rain so journey took us a good 8 hours as driving conditions awful. Thank goodness we had hired a big 4x4; from Dundee the journey was on dirt tracks and the last 5 kms into the property was tricky. Really would not have wanted to drive it in a small car although some fellow...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank richardlJ8348BX
RorkesChris, Owner at Rorke's Drift Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us such a great review. Unfortunately, as you have mentioned, the roads in the area are sometimes terrible during bad weather but not impassable and add to the adventure. I think Africa is well known for its bad road conditions and we are no different even if we are right on the...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Biggest drawback is length and condition of the off road approach.. In rain it was very difficult and lengthy. Staff were friendly, and room was clean and well equipped. Ordered food was poor and very expensive. Situation, atmosphere , historical situation and tour were good. Hedge of razor sharp aloe Vera plants between car park and room made walk hazardous,...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank aatkin_354820
RorkesChris, Owner at Rorke's Drift Lodge, responded to this review

We are indeed sorry that your experience was not what you had hoped. The roads, during the rainy season are problematical and therefore, when we send out information prior to guests arrival we recommend which cars should be hired to make our guests stay as comfortable as possible with the least amount of stress. However, our guests need to read...

Crewe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 February 2017

Wonderful 2 days at RDL in magnificent surroundings and fantastic food. Paul and Christine were great hosts and their staff are a credit to them. The whole day tour of the battlefield was a delight both to the military history obsessive and the keen learner. Beautiful rooms.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank SimonCEYates
RorkesChris, Owner at Rorke's Drift Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for giving us a great rating and review. We are pleased that you enjoyed yourself and hope we can welcome you back sometime in the future.

108 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (89)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rorke's Drift
36.5 km away
Royal Country Inn
Royal Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Dundee
89 reviews
137.4 km away
Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse
9.0 km away
Fugitive's Drift Lodge and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 km away
Isandlwana Lodge
Isandlwana Lodge
#1 of 1 in Isandlwana
201 reviews
4.0 km away
Rorke's Drift Hotel
Rorke's Drift Hotel
#3 of 4 in Rorke's Drift
204 reviews
7.4 km away
Isibindi Zulu Lodge
Isibindi Zulu Lodge
#4 of 4 in Rorke's Drift
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
  • Microwave
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rorke's Drift Lodge is perched above the Rorke's Drift and Isandlwana Battlefields where the mighty Zulu nation and British Empire came to blows in 1879. The Lodge caters to the historical enthusiast looking to immerse themselves in poignant tales of yesteryear. World class guided tours coupled with friendly South African hospitality,superb food and a taste of the African Bush make this an experience to remember forever. We also offer horseriding on the property and can arrange for hunting and bass fishing expeditions in the area. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rorke's Drift Lodge

Address: off the P195, Rorke's Drift 3016, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Rorke's Drift
Price Range: ₹ 5,310 - ₹ 7,929 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rorke's Drift Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rorke's Drift Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rorke`s Drift Hotel Rorke`s Drift
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rorke's Drift Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Rorke's Drift Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you have restricted movements call”
 of 5 bubbles jeoff42, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Kune Lodge was beautiful and we imagine the others were of similar quality.”
 of 5 bubbles deec610, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“This is not a Hotel. It is primarily self-catering although we pre-ordered our food which is a great option to offer.”
 of 5 bubbles Debohn88, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Read the information pack that the owners provide - it is very helpful.”
 of 5 bubbles Psmith50, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All units are good but we liked the unit on the west side the most.”
 of 5 bubbles BruceA457, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5