We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Fugitive's Drift Lodge and Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

372 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Fugitive's Drift Lodge and Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 367: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 25 June 2016

I was part of a group of 4 and we were accommodated in the 2 bedroom cottage. The room was well appointed and comfortable. The three meals per day were well presented and tasty. We liked the idea of seating all of the guests at a single table where we could share the day's experience with other guests. Lovely views...

1Thank Pikap39
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 19 June 2016 via mobile

Family run. Spent three delightful days; enjoyed the tours immensely; bungalows are well appointed; service was first rate, and food and wine was authentic and quite tasteful; staff were first rate; guides very knowledgable; if you are into sunrises/sets and Milky Way this is the place with no light pollution; Visit in winter in ZA is most comfortable when sunny...

Thank lhechtjr
Hoedspruit, South Africa
Reviewed 12 June 2016

A visit to this Lodge has been on the Bucket List for many years & it lived up to every expectation we ever had, based on reviews, first-hand referrals & the hype that has always existed over the experience of the Anglo-Zulu battlefields. There is little more to be said about the superlative experience on the battlefield tours. It was...

1Thank Tony W
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 June 2016

Towards the end of a wonderful holiday in SA when we thought that nothing else could better what we had already experienced we arrived at Fugitive's Drift. Everything we did and everyone who made our stay so wonderful there gets 10 out of 10!

1Thank mikehealy2016
Reviewed 6 June 2016

Our guides to the Zulu battlefields tours on consecutive days were superb, and the focal point of our visit to Fugitives Drift, but the lodge itself, given the 5* prices,we found disappointing. Our room was dark and gloomy, the bathroom shabby and what should have been the view from the veranda obscured by dense undergrowth. The activities of nocturnal creatures...

1Thank CheshireGrannyontour
NJR285, Owner at Fugitive's Drift Lodge and Guest House, responded to this review

Dear CheshireGrannyontour I am wondering if you did in fact stay with us, as we have no thatched roof buildings anywhere on the property, but on the off chance that you did, let me address your complaints. I am thrilled you found the tours to be superb and beds very comfortable. I am somewhat surprised at your comments about the...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 1 June 2016

Words cannot do justice to this unique and deeply moving location. If you like nature, hiking, history and a weekend of good conversation and wine by a roaring fire then do not hesitate staying at Fugitive's Drift. My wife and two friends of ours spent the last weekend there and there were so many positives. The venue is picturesque and...

Thank Wonderboy1000
Haddington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 May 2016

This was the best part of our recent trip to south Africa. An incredible place to stay - beautiful lodge with comfortable rooms, good food and helpful staff. On top of that the fascinating history of 2 Zulu war battles told in incredible detail. Very moving.

1Thank Priscilla P
Reviewed 3 May 2016

A stunning property. The Rattrays are incredible hosts and the property is in immaculate condition. All the staff are very professional and friendly always bearing smiles. We had Douglas Rattray guide us for the Rorkes Drift tour - you've never seen so many young people captivated! If you love history, game, cycling, walking and generally getting out then Fugitives Drift...

Thank L5584EDgeorgep
Reviewed 3 May 2016

We spent three very enjoyable days at Fugutives Drift and were looked after very well. It is a special place and has an understated relaxed atmosphere. It was the highlight of a three week tour of South Africa. The organisation of Battlefield Tours and game walks was slick and everything ran to time. The actual tours were very well presented...

Thank Bruce G
Woodbridge, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 April 2016

I wasn't sure I was going to enjoy the history of the Zulu battlefields, but a morning at Isandlwana was just fascinating. I stayed at the guest house but also visited the lodge as I was checking out both properties for the travel company I work for. Both places are welcoming and well managed with comfortable, well-appointed rooms and friendly...

Thank Amanda M

212 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (205)
Hotel & Grounds (32)
View from Room (8)
Dining (18)
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Bathroom (6)
Room/Suite (23)
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Other (109)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (7)
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rorke's Drift
138.4 km away
Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse
8.1 km away
Isandlwana Lodge
Isandlwana Lodge
#1 of 1 in Isandlwana
203 reviews
9.1 km away
Rorke's Drift Lodge
Rorke's Drift Lodge
#2 of 4 in Rorke's Drift
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
Isibindi Zulu Lodge
Isibindi Zulu Lodge
#4 of 4 in Rorke's Drift
130 reviews
0.0 km away
Battlefields Country Lodge
12.5 km away
Elandsheim Retreat
Elandsheim Retreat
#1 of 1 in Elandskraal
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Fugitives' Drift Lodge, established by David and Nicky Rattray 26 years ago, now run by Nicky and her sons Andrew and Douglas, has become world famous for the passionate stories, delivered by our resident lecturers, given on the battlefields of the Anglo-Zulu War. Our flagship tours, conducted daily, are to the battlefields of Rorke's Drift and Isandlwana. The Lodge and Guest House both feature luxury accommodation with pools, horse riding and fantastic game walks through this remarkable terrain. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fugitive's Drift Lodge and Guest House

Address: Rorke's Drift 3016, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Rorke's Drift
Price Range: ₹ 14,607 - ₹ 27,802 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your Fugitive's Drift Lodge and Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fugitive`s Drift Hotel Rorke`s Drift
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Fugitive's Drift Lodge and Guest House staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Fugitive's Drift Lodge and Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms overlooking the game reserve are fabulous”
beverleydolman, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“THey are all good - in any event the camp is currently being reorganised”
MDH19VS, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“request a refurbished room”
SeriousTraveller01, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All rooms at the lodge have been renovated or are brand new so all are briliant”
RorcusDrifter, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms looked wonderful.”
HighWycombe_UKMike, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5