We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
20 Kamwenge Road Lake Nyabikere, Fort Portal 256 Uganda
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
$90
View deal
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
$90
View deal
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
Travelocity$90
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (145)
Room & Suite (17)
Pool & Beach (11)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 07/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 07/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#5 of 58 Specialty lodging in Fort Portal
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Rweteera Safari Park & Tourist Camping Centre Ltd is located just outside Kibale National Park 15km along Kamwenge road, Fort Portal Western part of Uganda. The camp is owned by a local family and is a perfect place for camping safaris. This place is an ideal base for tourists visiting Kibale Forest National Park, Queen Elizabeth National Park, Semliki Game Reserve and Semliki National Park, and Mountain Rwenzori National park. Rweteera Safari Park & Tourist Camping Centre Ltd is the only tented camp of its kind around Kibale National Park, in that it caters to the need of wide range of clientele, from the adventure to corporate clients and even schools and other groups. The camp is within walking distance to Kibale National Park, with all its wonderful African wildlife and spectacular scenery. We can go on various small safaris, and we offer the possibility of half or full day outings. If you love trekking or mountain climbing, we can take you on a trail up the Top of the world with spectacular views of 5 crater lakes in one area or on one of the many day trips and outings around Rwenzori Mountains and Kibale National parks. Staying at our camp is a memorable experience, filled with adventure and excitement by day, and relaxation, ambience and romance by night. A genuinely warm African welcome awaits you, with local staff and an amazing variety of fresh and delicious dishes. Rweteera Safari Park has a range of accommodation, designed to meet every need and budget. We have 12 secluded standard size types of cabins. Each cabin is equipped with mattresses, pillows, beddings, all day running hot water, double bed, toilet, and mosquito net and a fantastic view of the lake with private relaxing area in front. The cabins are all about 60 square meters, comfortably furnished tents with bathrooms, all day running hot water, double bed, toilet, and mosquito net and a fantastic view of the lake. The accommodations have lake view overlooking the lake Nyabikere and Kibale National Park (Home of Chimpanzees), are the perfect choice for those looking for a bit of peace and tranquility in our pretty gardens. We have its own self-catering kitchen. Alternatively pick a shady spot on our grassy campsite and pinch your own tent.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Wifi
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Concierge
Mosquito net
Laundry service
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Show more
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Lake View
Charming

Location

Full view
Contact
20 Kamwenge Road Lake Nyabikere, Fort Portal 256 Uganda
Getting there
Kasese Airport43 kmSee all flights
Entebbe Airport240 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
91Reviews1Q+A19Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 48
  • 31
  • 10
  • 0
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
KenFBWI wrote a review Jul 2022
St. Petersburg, Florida409 contributions137 helpful votes
+1
We were very pleased with our stay here. The grounds were lovely and having our meals set up outside by the lake was great. We enjoyed watching the two resident hippos in the lake and also loved the resident cat, who seemed to like to hang out at our tent The accommodation was basic but very comfortable and a good value for the price. Staff and service was top notch
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nguse River Camp, Owner at Rweteera Safari Park
Responded 29 Jul 2022
Dear Ken, It was a pleasure hosting you and thank you for reviewing our camp. Am happy that you enjoyed your stay. Have a great trip too.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jc l wrote a review Jun 2022
10 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Property's Favourite Review
We spent 2 nights in the camp and it was a wonderful stay. The place, with the lake, the animals,the rooms is a magic place. The cooking is very good and the staff is so friendly that it's a must-go..
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Rweteera Park, Owner at Rweteera Safari Park
Responded 26 Jun 2022
Dear Guest, It was a pleasure to host you and thanks for sharing this review. We appreciate! Enjoy your travels and hope to see you again in the future. Regards, Peter Rujabuka
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JARANA wrote a review Apr 2020
Madrid, Spain1 contribution
It was the best month of my life. They have the best facilities you could find in Europe, and the best of nature you can find in Africa. The staff is charming and always ready to help, the lake is huge, full of aquatic life (there are 2 hippos, and all kinds of freshwater creatures) you can also find all the birds from the area nesting in the trees, and terrestrial species , like vervet monkeys, that spend the day jumping from branch to branch. It is located at a strategic point, in the center of the triangle > Fort Portal (city) > Top of the world (mountain) and > kibale (forest of chimpanzees). Their guides will take you wherever you want to go, like visiting the Batua pygmies, seeing the banana and tea plantations, or the waterfalls and caves of Nyakasury. For all this and much more, Rweteera Safari park is the ideal accommodation to visit the area. Mozungu Motoro.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from PeterRujabuka, Public Relations Manager at Rweteera Safari Park
Responded 5 May 2020
Hello Juan, It was our pleasure hosting you around. The Team learnt alot and would be glad to have you again. Cheers and best regards.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LaraJB wrote a review Mar 2020
Durban, South Africa126 contributions23 helpful votes
The lodge has an incredible location and it was a treat to eat lunch overlooking the lake and watching pelicans fishing. We stayed for 1 night as part of an organized tour. The rooms were spacious and very comfortable, with nice bathrooms and a piping hot shower in the evenings. Each cabin has it's own fenced garden to keep out hippos which is quite unique. The food was great and the chef went out of his way to make lunch and dinner delicious with very generous portions. The bar area is comfortable to chill at and the staff were incredibly polite and helpful. Outstanding level of service.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nguse River Camp, Owner at Rweteera Safari Park
Responded 29 Jul 2022
Sawubona Lara. Thanks alot for staying with us and am happy you enjoyed your stay. We love hearing from our guests and this motivates us to keep giving great service. Have great travels and see you again in the future. Kind regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jyoti Shetty wrote a review Mar 2020
9 contributions1 helpful vote
Considering that the owner knows me well and charitable as I was with staff and owner I noticed that the attention I was looking for in return was completely lacking!! The room allocated to me was bad, the water was stinky let alone any hot water! Don’t use this company as your tour operator as the advise and itinerary was super bad!! Do request the newly added room even though it’s not lake facing. The lodge has great potentials as the location is the finest . The food was bad and do look into your own lodge accommodations in bwindi. The briefing for both gorilla and chimp trek by this lodge owner was so disappointing that it was apparent he lacked any knowledge or experience!! We even went without packed lunch on a gorilla trek!! The lodge is quite close by to the Chimp trek location point!!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from PeterRujabuka, Public Relations Manager at Rweteera Safari Park
Responded 12 Mar 2020
Hello Guest, Thanks for taking time to review us. Well, you stayed with us in December and you enjoyed your stay as per the feedback form you signed. We appreciate your feedback on our rooms however, they all have hot water. Looks like you are mixing lodges. Actually before you left, your husband celebrated his birthday with us. Otherwise, you are welcome to stay with us again and all our guests from December are happy as per the reviews shared on Trip Advisor. Regards, Reservations
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
echo10 wrote a review Feb 2020
Silecroft, United Kingdom226 contributions59 helpful votes
Stayed here with family for 1 night before we went chimp trekking. The rooms were clean, spacious and plenty of hot water. Lovely location next to the lake. Food was good and staff were all friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay again.,
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Megan H wrote a review Jan 2020
Community of Madrid, Spain532 contributions76 helpful votes
+1
... we thoroughly enjoyed this lodge, with a beautiful lake, great rooms and bathrooms (hot water was hit or miss), and wonderful staff! It was quiet and peaceful. The night sky incredible. We could get to the national park easily and transfer to our next spot!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Simba wrote a review Jan 2020
Johannesburg, South Africa119 contributions9 helpful votes
+1
I chose this place to as a post- Rwenzori Mountains climb recovery time. I stayed there for 2 days. The owner and the team are friendly and I had a peaceful time there. Meals by the lake were a treat.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from PeterRujabuka, Public Relations Manager at Rweteera Safari Park
Responded 7 Jan 2020
Hello friend, It was a pleasure hosting you and the Team was glad to be of service. Wishing you the best in your travels and hope to meet again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sarah Tassie wrote a review Jan 2020
St. John's, Canada44 contributions17 helpful votes
+1
My partner and I stayed here unexpectedly after our other accommodation fell through, but it turned out perfectly. The location is great, right on the lake. The staff were very friendly and attentive. We went on a canoe ride, that was enjoyable and informative. We got rained on while in the canoe, and when we came ashore they had tea ready to help us warm up. They also put hot water bottles in our bed. The food was good, and we could hear the hippo nearby as we ate. In the evening when we went to the the cabin we could hear the frogs. It was lovely. The main downside to the place was the limited barrier between bed and bathroom (maybe it was just our cabin).
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from PeterRujabuka, Public Relations Manager at Rweteera Safari Park
Responded 5 Jan 2020
Hello guests, Greetings and happy New Year. Thanks for the wonderful review and am happy you had great stay with us. Wishing you the best in your travels. Regards, Peter
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Brenda B wrote a review Nov 2019
Yokohama, Kanagawa, Japan14 contributions4 helpful votes
A beautiful setting, roomy cabins with hot water showers, service excellent and food delicious. I could have used a heavy blanket, but other than that my stay was most pleasant. Hike up to the hilltop for a view of the lakes is definitely worth it. The guide from Rweteera was excellent.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from PeterRujabuka, Guest Relations Manager at Rweteera Safari Park
Responded 29 Nov 2019
Hello Guest, Thanks for staying with us and reviewing our camp. Am happy you enjoyed your stay. We wish you the best in your travels and see you again in future. Kind regards, Peter Rujabuka
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$47 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
UgandaWestern RegionFort Portal
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Rweteera Safari Park
What are some of the property amenities at Rweteera Safari Park?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Rweteera Safari Park?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Rweteera Safari Park?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are pets allowed at Rweteera Safari Park?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Rweteera Safari Park have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the lake view available here.
Is Rweteera Safari Park accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.