We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ikweta Safari Camp

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ikweta Safari Camp
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

160 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 145: English reviews
Start your review of Ikweta Safari Camp
 Click to rate
Goes, The Netherlands
Reviewed 1 week ago

Hi guys, Ikweta safari camp is an awesome accommodation. You will stay in a tent. This gives you a genuine bush atmosphere. We liked it a lot. At night you will hear hyena's. They resident in the nearby Meru NP. This wonderfull park is close by. The food is good (not exceptionally good, the soup was to salty and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank schliek
Ikweta-Safari, Owner at Ikweta Safari Camp, responded to this review

Your review is awesome too! We appreciate your description of our camp as it captures the ambience and bush setting. Meru National Park is part of the Meru Conservation Area, one of Kenya's most important conservation areas. The Conservation Area is a complex of protected areas along the Tana River and includes the adjacent Bisanadi and Mwingi National reserves and...

Nairobi, Kenya
PROPERTY’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 19 December 2016

We returned to Ikweta after 4 years and had a lovely few days. The tents are great, the pool is peeps and the staff are friendly, flexible and very accommodating to the needs of small children. And of course the National park is minutes away....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annie H
About Property's Favourite Review
Ikweta-Safari, Owner at Ikweta Safari Camp, responded to this review

We love welcoming our guests back to iKWETA! It always makes us happy to have families like yours enjoy our Camp and Meru Park which is minutes away as you say. Since we are a small intimate camp, we can give special attention to our guests in order to make their stay pleasant and memorable. We also try our best...

Gorinchem, The Netherlands
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Ikweta (equator) is a good location to stay. It is equal to the other locations we experienced. Comfortable, good quality of meals and the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The tents are very convenient.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank eddebruin
Ikweta-Safari, Owner at Ikweta Safari Camp, responded to this review

You have highlighted some key features. iKWETA Safari Camp is located just outside the Murera Gate of Meru National Park, the main entrance to the Park. Meru Park is the main draw to iKWETA Safari Camp, since the Camp is both an affordable and convenient base for exploring the complete wilderness of one of Kenya’s most beautiful and truly pristine...

Berlin, Germany
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at the Ikwata Safari Camp when visiting the Meru National Park. The location is very beautiful and the entire team - really everyone - was very friendly. Great place which we can highly recommend. P.S. You must do the 2-hour guided walk to the hill which the camp offers.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 182larsp
ikweta1, Owner at Ikweta Safari Camp, responded to this review

We appreciated your stay with us! It is a super boost for staff at ikWETA to have guests who show such appreciation for our services, as you have. Your high recommendation to others is sweet music to our ears... In addition to game drives to Meru National Park, iKWETA Safari Camp endeavors to enrich the experience of its guests by...

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We arrived early afternoon after a long and dusty drive from Nairobi. Warm damp scented towels for the dust and delicious cool drinks were immediately offered during our welcome from the owner and her staff. A late lunch of salad and fruit revived us before setting off on our afternoon game drive. The individual tents were well spaced out amongst...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ernie2011
ikweta1, Owner at Ikweta Safari Camp, responded to this review

Awesome account of your stay at iKWETA! We cherish your recommendation to other safari-goers. A bit more about our support to the community that you mention in your review. During the construction of iKWETA Safari Camp and since we opened our doors for business in November 2011 we have supported and continue to support the local community in several important...

Reviewed 15 February 2017

Being our first time in Maua, we were blown away by the authenticity of the place as well as the customer centricity of the staff at Ikweta was on another level. We really appreicated the warm welcome of the staff to a detailed explanation of what to expect and also for meals they were open to engage us in advance...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rina M
Ikweta-Safari, Owner at Ikweta Safari Camp, responded to this review

Your kudos are warmly received. Everyone at iKWETA tries their very best to provide thoughtful and personalized service. This is very important to us and our guests appreciate the care and attention. Our chef is always open to discuss meals and menus and cater to any particular requests or dietary requirements. We use fresh produce from our greenhouse and farms...

Reviewed 11 February 2017 via mobile

This Camp is about 72kms from the Maua turn off in Meru town. It is 2kms from Murera gate into the Meru National Park. The staff: Bernard, Nahashon, Ida, Justin, Caroline, Purity are all amazing and pleasant. The owners: Susan and John are welcoming and informative. The tents and dining area are tastefully and rustically decorated, blends well with the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kananu m
Ikweta-Safari, Owner at Ikweta Safari Camp, responded to this review

Great that iKWETA was your Birthday destination! We hope you keep fond memories and come back another time. Just a joint of clarification, iKWETA Safari Camp is 69 kilometers (approx. 43 miles) from Meru Town (Makutano Junction) using the Meru-Maua C-91 Highway. Coming from Maua Town, iKWETA Safari Camp is 24 kilometers (approx. 14 miles). The Camp is located 2...

Lorient, France
Reviewed 9 February 2017

An excellent base for game drives in Meru park. Very close to the park entrance gate, it's easy to come back during lunch time, enjoying the swimming pool and resting in your room-tent, well decorated, confortable and very clean. We enjoyed the candle light dinner in the garden. Staff is friendly and helpful. Ikweta is very a good value for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank clots2017
Ikweta-Safari, Owner at Ikweta Safari Camp, responded to this review

Your review is music to our ears! iKWETA Safari Camp is about affordable safari luxury and value for money. We are welcoming more and more safari-goers keen on affordability and value for money. Many of our reviews on TripAdvisor highlight this. Most of guests prefer their evening dinner al fresco under the stars and we are lucky to have a...

West Sussex
Reviewed 6 February 2017

We chose this camp through Tripadvisor and was not disappointed in any way. The welcome could not have been warmer and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms and ensuite were spotless and the food was very, very good. The service could not have been better and it was nice to have the opportunity of catching up with Susan, the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BrighteyesWestSussex
ikweta1, Owner at Ikweta Safari Camp, responded to this review

Thanks for sharing your experience. More and more safari-goers are finding iKWETA through Tripadvisor and you are testimony to that. We are of course delighted that you found our Camp so welcoming, with notable service, accommodation and cuisine. As you were able to appreciate, we are offering an affordable safari luxury option at Meru Park and we hope that more...

Kyoto, Japan
Reviewed 1 February 2017

great place . very close to the park so you can enjoy it until the last moment. luxurious tent/house food is great too. if you have a small budget for your trip, this is the right place and park to spend a little bit more than usual.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lacroix_marriage
Ikweta-Safari, Owner at Ikweta Safari Camp, responded to this review

We value your rave review as much as we value your stay at iKWETA! We have made a deliberate effort from the start to offer an affordable safari luxury option at Meru Park, one of Kenya’s most beautiful national parks. Our tents are all customized in style each offering its own en suite bathroom and large veranda. The bedrooms in...

169 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (86)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (83)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (59)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meru National Park
57.1 km away
Alba Hotel Meru
Alba Hotel Meru
#1 of 5 in Meru Town
126 reviews
11.2 km away
Rhino River Camp
Rhino River Camp
#3 of 6 in Meru National Park
135 reviews
1.4 km away
Murera Springs Eco Lodge
Murera Springs Eco Lodge
#4 of 6 in Meru National Park
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 km away
Leopard Rock Lodge
Leopard Rock Lodge
#5 of 6 in Meru National Park
16 reviews
19.1 km away
Ikweta Country Inn
Ikweta Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Maua
13 reviews
40.0 km away
Rusinga Island Lodge
Rusinga Island Lodge
#3 of 3 in Rusinga Island
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Ikweta Safari Camp

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
iKWETA Safari Camp is by choice a small owner-operated intimate camp offering personalized service and safari luxury accommodation. Located just 2 km from the Murera Gate of Meru National Park, iKWETA is a year-round destination and a convenient base for exploring both Meru and Kora, two of Kenya's national parks to offer a complete wilderness safari experience. iKWETA offers ten spacious canvas tents on elevated permanent foundations with thatch roof overlay of doum palm (Hyphaene thebaica) indigenous to the area. Tents are tastefully decorated in safari-style with high quality furnishings. Each tent is designed with an airy-by-day and cozy-by-night bedroom area separated by a natural stone wall from the bathroom en-suite, with walk-in shower and toilet. There is a writing table and safe box in every tent. All tents face East for guests to enjoy the spectacular sunrise over Meru National Park from the comfort of their beds. Each tent has a private verandah. There is free WiFi at all tents. You can sip your early morning steamy hot Kenya coffee or Kenya tea on your private veranda, while you Facebook or Tweet as the sun rises over Meru National Park. Tents are amply fitted with electric power sockets for guests to be able to power their laptops or charge their electronic devices and camera batteries. Our large Swimming Pool is delightfully warmed year round by glorious sunshine. Our "Two Zebras Restaurant" serves all meals to order using fresh produce grown in the Camp's own Greenhouse and on iKWETA Farms. We offer international and vegetarian cuisines as well as children's menus. No night time blackouts or '10:00 o'clock night-curfews": There is mains electricity backed-up by a high-capacity generator. If you are awaked by the sounds of nature you can snuggle under your duvet and read or watch movies on your iPad or DVD. Your main attraction will be spectacular game drives through Meru National Park, one of Kenya's most beautiful and truly pristine national parks and the land of the "Big-Five" - elephant, rhino, lion, buffalo and leopard. With over 400 bird species reported, the park is also a birdwatchers' paradise. There are also interesting places in the vicinity of the Meru-Kora Conservation Area. Nature walks to the Gatwe ("Skull") Hill for panoramic and spectacular views of the Meru-Kora Conservation Area and the Nyambene Hills. Accommodations are on Full-Board basis (all meals included as well applicable taxes). Since opening for business in October 2011, iKWETA Safari Camp has hosted many foreign and domestic film crews. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ikweta Safari Camp

Address: Murera Gate, Meru National Park 60600, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Eastern Province > Meru National Park
Price Range: ₹ 7,402 - ₹ 9,040 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Jovago.com so you can book your Ikweta Safari Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ikweta Safari Camp staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Ikweta Safari Camp staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the tents are the same. So I have no tip.”
  • view
  • the tent
 of 5 bubbles schliek, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All the tents are private and face east to watch the sun rise.”
  • Our tent with amazing morning view
 of 5 bubbles 484maried, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Zebra room.”
 of 5 bubbles ebbysdad, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Bring bug spray, no nets in the rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles ladyswashbuckler, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the far end of the reception provide a nice experience especially at night”
 of 5 bubbles Waithaka_Waley, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5