We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
333 Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-4963
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Travelocity
Traveluro
Orbitz.com
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (203)
Room & Suite (79)
Dining (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
A note from Rocky Waters Motor Inn
Updated 15/05/20

About

#39 of 71 in Gatlinburg
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Located in the heart of the Great Smoky Mountains, Rocky Waters sits directly on Cliff Branch Creek in downtown Gatlinburg, TN. The Inn has a mix of quaint motel-style guest rooms, all with private riverfront balconies, and some with seasonal wood burning fireplaces. Rocky Waters is the perfect vacation spot for getting away and enjoying a great adventure in the beautiful Smoky Mountains.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Breakfast available
Canoeing offsite
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Vending machine
Shared lounge / TV area
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
River View
Great View
463Reviews7Q+A75Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 142
  • 130
  • 77
  • 53
  • 62
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
shalandajones80 wrote a review Today
Chattanooga, Tennessee1 contribution
The location was awesome. The young man that checked us in had great customer service skills. He was very informative and polite. He made checking in easy. I can’t remember the gentleman’s name; young black guy, he’s a keeper. Room was very clean. But there was no water outside of the room that worked. No water fountain, no ice machines.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Connector709212 wrote a review 13 May
1 contribution
My boyfriend and I stayed here for 1 night to experience Gatlinburg and the Smoky Mountains during a roadtrip. We chose this hotel based on the views from the balcony overlooking the River. Check in was quick when we arrived. There are assigned parking spaces and they would be a little tight if you have a large vehicle but was no issue for us. Our room was on the second floor and you could tell was recently updated. The balcony off the back of our room was not private like we had expected because the ramp up to the second floor was directly below it and people were constantly walking by our back window. We had to keep the curtains closed which was a bummer that we couldn’t enjoy the view from inside without people being able to see in. This wasn’t the case for all of the rooms, but it was for ours. The bathroom was kind of small but the shower was large and clean. We felt it was odd that the shower was missing a door/curtain so water easily got on the floor outside of the shower, but plenty of towels were provided so it was easy to keep dry. We wished the back door or window had a screen so we could listen to the River at night, but probably would’ve only used it if our balcony was more private anyways. The inn is very close to the road so sometimes was noisy when loud trucks or motorcycles went by. If quiet and privacy is what you are looking for, this is probably not the place but it is very centrally located, has great views, and many shops/attractions/restaurants are walking distance which helps save on parking around town which can get very costly! Free breakfast at sister location around the corner was served hot and was decent. They served typical breakfast: scrambled eggs, sausage, biscuits, bagels, cereal and make your own Belgian waffles. I did not see salt and pepper, cream cheese, syrup or peanut butter as toppings and it would have been nice if there was a fruit choice. For serving two hotels at this one location, the room was cramped and severely lacking seating. Many patrons were forced to eat outside on the sidewalks to enjoy their breakfast, but thankfully it was a beautiful morning. Overall we were pleased with our stay and felt it was a good deal for what we needed, but probably would not stay here for an extended period.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
lillostdarkangel wrote a review 12 May
1 contribution
The hotel was clean the manager Jennifer was a great help the balcony views were nice with shade the hotel help was good about changing out sheets and getting our trash out for the week we stayed there
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
David Connie P wrote a review 10 May
7 contributions
+1
The worst hotel I have ever stayed in. The smell was horrible and the room was completely unsafe. I would not recommend staying here. We paid for 3 nights and only stayed one. We went and stayed somewhere else the last 2 nights.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Dennis H wrote a review 8 May
1 contribution
Loved our stay at Rocky Waters Motor Lodge and really loved being on the River. Very clean updated room with nice refrigerator and 55” TV. Good breakfast also and the staff is very friendly. Would stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Missy C wrote a review 8 May
2 contributions
We love Rocky Waters Motor Inn!! Being next to the river, yet right in downtown Gatlinburg is the best of both worlds!! We have been coming to Gatlinburg for many years and it never disappoints. We love that Rocky Waters has stayed quaint and authentic.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Teresa A wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
We stay here 75% of the time when we visit SEVERAL times a year. We have never had any issues in the past...but there's a 1st time for everything! We requested an early check in because I'm on disability. We arrived at 3:00 pm (check in at 4:00). We were told they were waiting on a 2nd inspection of our room. We decided to sit outside our room on the balcony. My husband inquired again about our room at 3:45 and was told the same thing. So we waited until 4:00 exactly and guess what? Room was ready...WITHOUT THE 2ND INSPECTION, WE WAITED AN HOUR ON. Then they were out of shampoo, barsoap and no hair dryer. Some of the staff was very rude this time. Not sure if they have changed ownership but worst stay here ever! R & T Anderson Indiana
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Jennifer Tippens, Guest Services / Front Office at Rocky Waters Motor Inn
Responded 1 week ago
We are so sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for the issues with your guest room. We are updating the facilities and hope you will give us another chance to exceed your expectations in the future.
Read more
laucoi490019 wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
close enough to walk where we wanted. away from the noise..we will go there again when we get a chance. the creek was a nice listening to and look at while drinking our coffee in the very guit place at night and during the day morning.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Jennifer Tippens, Guest Services / Front Office at Rocky Waters Motor Inn
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review. We are so happy you enjoyed your visit. We hope to see you again during your next trip to the Smokies!
Read more
Lynn C wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
This place was really not a good experience except for the staff in the front. That and the location is about the only great thing about this place. The bathroom was nasty when we got there. I noticed pubic hair in the shower and my son found it on the toilet before I took a shower. The beds were barely a double and the room was dirty overall. There was also a smell that caused my allergies to be out of control. The chair was barely put together and the mini fridge barely worked. Everything in the room was very outdated except the shower. The shower itself was very nice but water went everywhere on the floor before there is no wall/curtain to keep the water in the shower. The pictures didn’t match the room we got at all. We will never come here or recommend this place.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Jennifer Tippens, Guest Services / Front Office at Rocky Waters Motor Inn
Responded 2 weeks ago
We are so sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for the issues with your guest room. We are updating the facilities and hope you will give us another chance to exceed your expectations in the future.
Read more
Laurie L wrote a review Apr 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Stayed For one night earlier in the month and then 6 days in Johnson City and then three nights on our way back home to Florida it was so awesome I love the fireplace the view is gorgeous so we had a great time. Took advantage of the washer dryer units. Tried to get emergency medical package sent to me overnight at the hotel and they I guess the post man called and asked the front desk if it would be okay to bring it the next day or he would be over his hours, and they said that would be fine. The next day I checked if the package was here yet, front desk person said they don't accept mail here , go get it at our other hotel. I was so upset, I needed that package, it was emergency medical equipment. My husband went down to the front desk. Told them we are both disabled and had no idea where this other place was. He asked her when will it be delivered she said hold on and got one of the men working around doing odd jobs to get the package and bring it back.It was due to me the day before and I ended up in the hospital because my package wasn't delivered to me on time. So 1 and 1/2 days we could have enjoyed our awesome suite, instead we were in the hospital when all this could have been avoided.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Jennifer Tippens, Guest Services / Front Office at Rocky Waters Motor Inn
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review. We are so happy you enjoyed your visit. We hope to see you again during your next trip to the Smokies!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$83 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
rocky waters motor hotel gatlinburg, rocky waters hotel, rocky waters gatlinburg, rocky waters inn gatlinburg
LOCATION
United StatesTennesseeSevier CountyGatlinburg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
36
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Rocky Waters Motor Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Rocky Waters Motor Inn?
Nearby attractions include Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies (0.5 km), Smoky Tours (1.1 km), and Impossibilities Magic, Mindreading and Mayhem! (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Rocky Waters Motor Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and reduced mobility rooms.
Which room amenities are available at Rocky Waters Motor Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Rocky Waters Motor Inn?
Guests can enjoy breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Rocky Waters Motor Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Rocky Waters Motor Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tennessee Jed’s, Chesapeake's Seafood and Raw Bar, and New Orleans Sandwich Company.
Is Rocky Waters Motor Inn located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Gatlinburg.
Are there any historical sites close to Rocky Waters Motor Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Noah Bud Ogle Cabin (4.5 km) and Historic Ogle Log Cabin (0.7 km).
Does Rocky Waters Motor Inn have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the river view available here.
Is Rocky Waters Motor Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.