We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Edgewater Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Edgewater Hotel
The Edgewater Hotel
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

886 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 883: English reviews
Start your review of The Edgewater Hotel
 Click to rate
Ohio
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Hotel may need some updating, but it was completely adequate for our stay. We had a jacuzzi room witha queen bed. Room was very good size with a balcony, fridge, and microwave. Bathroom was a little small, definitely one person at a time. Room was clean, jacuzzi was nice after a long day of walking. Staff was friendly. Parking is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FayeLee123
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Edgewater for you stay during your time in Gatlinburg. I'm glad you enjoyed your room and our staff was friendly and attentive. I apologize for the parking. It can be a bit tough when we are sold out. Thank you for your patronage and hope to see you again soon. Best Regards,

Hampshire, Illinois
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Edgewater Hotel earlier this month. It is a great location to downtown. The rooms were clean, bed was comfortable, but does need some updating. Due to the fire, there was a lot of construction noise in the early morning. The breakfast was just ok. Does need more options, like eggs and more fruit options. The staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kfs2469
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for commenting regarding your recent stay at the Edgewater. I apologize for any inconvenience you experience with the noise. We have been renovating our pool area and adding a new roof to that area as well. We are hoping to have everything completed within the next week or so. We hope to host you again when you have...

United States
Reviewed 1 week ago

we stayed in this hotel for the weekend, and all I can say is that this is the worst experience ever. The hotel is very outdated, the moment you step in the hotel you can smell a bad odor from the old carpet. The rooms need to be rennovated, the view for the room was at the garbage!!! the elevators...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank beachseeker23
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the Edgewater. I sincerely apologize for your dissatisfaction with your stay. It sounds as though you had a mountain side room which unfortunately does not face the city and the view is not always the best. Our elevators can be challenging when we are full which has been the case in the...

Starkville, Mississippi
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Pro: Great location within walking distance. Free parking. Free standard breakfast. Clean rooms. Old-school arcade. Affordable. Cons: pool under renovation due to fire. Exercise room is bare bones, but also currently closed. Very tight parking, but plentiful. Stairs are way off the beaten path (if you take the stairs like I do.) Summary: great place to stay if you need...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank teamc0nrad
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for commenting regarding your recent stay at the Edgewater. I apologize that our pool area is still being renovated. We are looking forward to having it back open this week-end.(Saturday) The exercise room will also be re-opened this week-end. Thank you for your review and we look forward to hosting you again when you are next in the...

Caryville, Tennessee
Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I were just there and really enjoyed our two day getaway. The room was nice and clean! All the staff we came in contact with were very nice and super helpful. It is located on the river and Gatlinburgs main street is an easy walk away. The aquarium is also just down the street. With the Riverhouse...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Roby W
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Edgewater. I'm glad your enjoyed your visit and look forward to hosting you again when you are next in the Gatlinburg area. Best Regards,

Fort Mitchell, Kentucky
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have stayed here a couple of times and the best part of this location is that if you are staying for a couple of days it is right in the center of the city which allows you to walk either direction without going way out of your way.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jonathan s
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay. I appreciate your taking the time to post on Trip Advisor. Our location is the best for access to downtown. Just minutes to walk across the street to all the shops and restaurants. I'm glad you enjoyed the short walk. We appreciate your patronage and look forward to hosting you again soon....

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This was an absolutely perfect hotel for what paid. We aren't fancy people and don't need fancy rooms or room service. The staff was all very helpful and the breakfast was your typical continental breakfast. Coffee was available in the lobby the whole day. We were within walking distance to most restaurants and 25 minutes from Pigeon Forge. Definitely will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather B
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the Edgewater. I'm glad your stay was enjoyable and you enjoyed our amenities. We look forward to hosting you again when you are next in the Gatlinburg area. Best Regards,

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed overnight on a recent Saturday. This was my first visit to the Edgewater Hotel. The location is great, very convenient walking distance to anything in downtown Gatlinburg. Like every business in town, this hotel was affected by the recent wildfire that did so much damage to the area. Edgewater's major loss was its above ground swimming pool. Workers...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank susan s
joann001, Public Relations Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Edgewater. I appreciate your positive remarks regarding the hotel, but also your comments regarding the Gatlinburg area. We are standing strong in the face of the fires, and Gatlinburg and the Great Smoky Mountains will be stronger for all the hardships they've endured. We appreciate your patronage...

Franklin, Tennessee
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Be prepared as parking is a mess. If you drive a big car it's not an easy parking garage. Construction is happening on the bag of the hotel (pool, and a few other things), so be sure to get a room that faces downtown Gatlinburg. It's an average hotel at an affordable price, so you get what you pay for.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JohnG36
joann001, General Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post regarding your recent stay at the Edgewater. We appreciate your patience during our pool renovation. We're planning on re-opening mid March, so we would welcome your return visit to check out the new look we have coming. Thank you again for your comments. Best Regards,

Bonaire, Georgia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We Always stay at the edgewater hotelGreat location and everyone that works there is always great. When we made reservation the person that helped us was very nice and helpful. Will be back next year.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank heath w
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your patronage to the Edgewater. We appreciate being your "go to" hotel in the Great Smoky Mountains area. I'm glad your visits with us are enjoyable and look forward to hosting you again next year. Best Regards,

338 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (225)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (43)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
View from Room (42)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Other (75)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (103)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Double Queen Room (Mountain Side) (23)
Viewed
Double Queen Room (River View) (24)
Viewed
Pool (17)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
The Hotel (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.6 km away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#28 of 78 in Gatlinburg
438 reviews
1.1 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.9 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
0.8 km away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#39 of 78 in Gatlinburg
654 reviews
0.4 km away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#20 of 78 in Gatlinburg
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Redefining your Smoky Mountain lodging experience! In room micro-fridges, private balconies, complimentary continental breakfast, hotel wide WIFI, year round swimming are just a few privileges extended to you, our valued guest. Located "right smack in the center of Gatlinburg" at the entrance of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park and next to Ripleys Aquarium of the Smokies, our location is both perfect and convenient. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Edgewater Hotel

Address: 402 River Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3200
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Price Range: ₹ 6,545 - ₹ 29,454 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Edgewater Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your The Edgewater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Gatlinburg
#20 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Edgewater Hotel staff and other travellers.
23 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (23)

Questions? Get answers from The Edgewater Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Jacuzzi rooms do not have river views, only woods views.”
 of 5 bubbles FayeLee123, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We liked the room by the river and faced downtown.”
 of 5 bubbles kfs2469, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Odd numbered rooms face the main drag of town.”
 of 5 bubbles susansW8799UE, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Best view is street side, but garbage trucks early in the morning are loud.”
 of 5 bubbles MikeRSM, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Upper floors on the creekside provide great views”
 of 5 bubbles 95KK, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5