Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel

Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel

Fireplace was nice the next morning to take the chill off while we enjoyed our coffee.
Traveller (638)
view from front room balcony
Room & Suite (380)
Lazy river
Pool & Beach (48)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#2 of 71 hotels in Gatlinburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
See why so many travelers make Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel their hotel of choice when visiting Gatlinburg. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a romantic setting with an array of amenities designed for travelers like you. Nearby landmarks such as Smoky Mountain Art (0.2 mi) and St Mary's Catholic Church (0.3 mi) make Bearskin Lodge Gatlinburg Tennessee a great place to stay when visiting Gatlinburg. As your “home away from home,” the hotel rooms offer a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and a desk, and getting online is easy, with free wifi available. Guests have access to a 24 hour front desk, outdoor furniture, and an outdoor fireplace while staying at Bearskin Lodge Gatlinburg. In addition, Bearskin Lodge Gatlinburg Tennessee offers a pool which will help make your Gatlinburg trip additionally gratifying. And, as an added convenience, there is free parking available to guests. If you like Spanish restaurants, Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel is conveniently located near No Way Jose's and Estrella Hondumex. During your visit, be sure to check out popular attractions like Gatlinburg Scenic Overlook (0.4 mi) and Gatlinburg SkyLift (0.5 mi), which are all within walking distance of the hotel. At Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel, your comfort and satisfaction come first, and they look forward to welcoming you to Gatlinburg.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Kids stay free
Gift shop
Outdoor fireplace
Wifi
Lazy river
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Outdoor furniture
24-hour front desk
Room features
Desk
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Private balcony
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Charming
Languages Spoken
English

Location

840 River Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3133
1,638Review42Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 931
  • 421
  • 156
  • 82
  • 49
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Chelsea H wrote a review May 2021
Hodgenville, Kentucky
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My family of five (myself, husband, 3 kids) stayed recently from May 2 to today, May 7. We had a double Queen room with fireplace and balcony with River view. Our room was very tidy and comfortable; the fireplace added a great cozy feel, though they are on timers that can only be set for thirty minutes at a time. We loved having the rushing River right outside our balcony door, and the staff was so friendly and went above and beyond to insure our stay was great. The hotel is in a perfect location convenient to the National Park entrance and Gatlinburg strip and has two restaurants right next door, one of the nicest being The Peddler Steakhouse. We weren’t able to enjoy that venue this time but hope to next, as we have heard the outdoor seating is lovely! The hotel also has fire pits out by the pool that they told us we were welcome to use for hotdog and marshmallow roasting. They do have a grab and go breakfast available in the mornings right now that consisted of yogurt, cereal, milk, fruit, and prepackaged sausage biscuits. The only real complaints I have are that our bathroom, though it appeared clean, had a sour smell from the moment we checked in. I’m not sure if it was due to the design of the shower (it’s a step-in and water very easily gets out and pools on the floor of the bathroom) or if maybe the shower curtain needed to be laundered with bleach to eliminate the mildew-y smell. Also, stay over room service isn’t available right now due to COVID I assume, so each day we had to collect our room trash, used towels, and make our beds ourselves. Understandable, certainly; but those small perks we are accustomed to while staying in a hotel were missed. Overall we had a pleasurable stay and will be giving them our business again in the future, hopefully this year when we return for our 12th anniversary (without the kids next time!) They definitely made repeat guests of us.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cassie N wrote a review Aug 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is very clean, and inviting with that rustic charm we all love and expect when we visit Gatlinburg. Our room was very spacious, had a balcony overlooking the city (back side of the main strip, so it wasn't too loud or crazy) and it had a loveseat and fireplace. The floors are gorgous, beds were comfy and we were almost disappointed that the forecast for heavy rain changed to a sunny and beautiful day. (we were prepared to go get food and spend the weekend in the room during the storms.)

Wonderful people, great location and did I mention how COZY it was?! We look forward to coming back in a couple of months!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: this hotel the back side of the main strip, so it may be a bit far for some.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
778worldtraveler wrote a review Sept 2020
Waterford, Wisconsin
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is maybe the best looking lodge in town and had the rustic feel that we were looking for. The twin queen room had log home style furniture and a gas fireplace with a balcony overlooking the river below. The room was absolutely huge with two beds, desk, and a sofa. No lobby to speak of but had several rockers under a huge canopy right outside the front entrance. The location was perfect for us as it was off the main Parkway and quiet with ample parking. Most of the nicer restaurants in town are within a five minute walk. Just leave your car here and walk the strip as the traffic can be gridlocked and frustrating. Also, the parking lots in town are all $10-15 bucks. The pool/lazy river are definitely not anything resembling a water park, but looked clean and in good repair. The two gentlemen we dealt with at the desk at arrival and checkout were very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this property for couples and newlyweds with the romantic rooms and classy restaurants nearby.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Get a low floor balcony room at the rear so you're not looking at the hotel across the river.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jennifer R wrote a review Nov 2020
Wilkesboro, North Carolina
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was the best hotel stay we’ve ever experienced while vacationing in Gatlinburg/Pigeon Forge! The location of the hotel was a short walk to everything we wanted to go to in downtown Gatlinburg. We parked our car and never had to drive our entire visit. The hotel looked very nice, inside and out. The front staff was very friendly and informative during check in, and always acknowledged us when we were coming and going. We very much enjoyed the coffee and hot cider in the lobby, as well as the fire pits out front. The room was very clean and roomy. The air conditioner worked very well as it got a little chilly, but wasn’t an issue. The shower had great water pressure and hot water. The bed was very comfy, one of the most comfortable hotels beds I’ve slept in. The balcony, fireplace, and love seat in the room was a nice touch. They offered a grab and go breakfast, but we didn’t try it as we already had plans to go out each morning for breakfast. We’ll definitely be staying here again on our next visit to TN!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cindy J wrote a review Jul 2020
Chelsea, Alabama
5.0 of 5 bubbles
River view room with 2 queen beds, fireplace and balcony. Trip was amazing from start to finish. Staff was so friendly and helpful. I could not have asked for more. Covid-19 protocol in place with no daily room service. Clean towels and trash pickup daily - just ask for towels and place trash and dirty towels outside of door. Room was very clean and maintained. Hotel had no idea that I am a Travel Agent traveling to get a first hand look at some places I can easily recommend to my clients.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ken wrote a review Jun 2020
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel is very nice and clean however our stay was very awkward due to the covid breakfast was closed which I understand, we received no maid service you had to leave dirty linens outside the door and they were supposed to leave clean linen in a bag on your door. However that never happened during our stay. We had to make multiple visits to the front desk asking for clean linen before we finally got them, and then most of the time we didn’t get everything finally just gave up. You had to dispose of your own trash as they only clean the room after you checkout.Housekeeping staff we did come in contact with were very rude other than that our stay was good.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General M, General Manager at Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
Responded 8 Jun 2020
Hello Ke527, I would like to thank you for informing us of your stay. I understand the statements you have made above as we do miss serving our breakfast however, we are putting the safety of you and all of our guests first while also following the guidelines that our state, city and ownership has set in place. We do have our housekeeping team pick up all dirty linen and trash, as you did not have to take your own trash out- just set it outside of your room, and also deliver a new linen bag upon request. I do apologize for the miscommunication on our end and the inconveniences that you encountered. I would like to also thank you for informing me of the housekeeping team that you came into contact with, we take great pride in treating every guest as family and I will be sure to address this right away. I do hope that you will give us another opportunity in the future. Thank you, Dakota E. General Manager Bearskin Lodge P: 865-430-4330
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Vicky M wrote a review Aug 2020
Cincinnati, Ohio
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We chose this hotel because it was not huge and because it was just feet away from the entrance to The Great Smoky Mountains National Park. Located on a smaller parallel street to the big Parkway, it is still close enough to good restaurants and a great general stores, Old Dad's.
Definitely worth the money for us to have Creekside rooms with balconies - so quiet. Our rooms 519 ad 520 were at the very north end of the building, top floor so we can highly recommend those.
Starting to show its age at 20 but still we highly recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Creekside rooms are definitely worth the price and ask for higher floor on the north end, if...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bryan J wrote a review Apr 2022
Charleston, South Carolina
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I choose this hotel for its proximity to downtown even though on the edge of town. It's a walk to get to the center of town. I had hoped it would be more quiet based on the location, but the walls are paper thin and I was unfortunately able to hear everything going on with the young couple in the next room until 0200. Which interfered with the completion and deadlines of my college course assignments. The breakfast offerings are motel 6 quality with microwave jimmy dean biscuits, yogurt, cereal, etc... The tiny breakfast space will not accommodate the needed guests. The staff was nice enough. But for nearly $300 per night I was not impressed. The military discount booked over a week early turned out to be a trick ruse as a cheaper $60 cheaper rate was offered as soon after the cancellation deadline expired. Nice! And request at check in at the front desk wouldn't change it. So basically, screw the military veterans that made a reservation in advance under that rate, and then we'll offer a lower rate to everyone else. Thanks for your service. I will absolutely not stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: 4th floor and request a room away from everyone else to escape the paper thin walls.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bob W wrote a review Jun 2021
Smithsburg, Maryland
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Bearskin is always a hotel of choice in Gatlinburg for many reasons, first you can leave your car parked and walk everywhere in downtown, the property is first class well maintained and always has everything in place, rooms are spotless. The staff is great, always helpful. There is a small continental breakfast in the morning. We always get a river view room. Large room with a balcony and gas fireplace. We will always make this our first choice in Gatlinburg.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Guide87825 wrote a review Sept 2021
Gainesville, Georgia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our room was clean and had a balcony overlooking the river, which we thoroughly enjoyed. The breakfast was good. They had cereal, blueberry and chocolate muffins, frozen individually wrapped Jimmy Dean (I think) sausage & biscuit, yogurt, milk, juices and of course coffee. I liked the way the "breakfast area" was on the 3rd floor - not the floor where everyone is in/out.
They had an outdoor pool and a small lazy river (not heated). They also had corn hole and two propane fire pits out front. In the lobby you could get your choice of Keurig coffee or hot chocolate, which was nice to sip on as we sat out by the fire pit and talked with the other guests. There was covered parking as well as parking in front of the building. There were about 8 rocking chairs at the front door to enjoy and meet the incoming guests.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ginge59_12 asked a question Sept 2023
London, United Kingdom674 contributions97 helpful votes
Hello there...the Guest Laundry...is it self service or 'dry cleaning/hotel service'? Thanks.
Answer from Scott O
24 contributions4 helpful votes
Self service, I believe
Angela J asked a question Oct 2021
Can I cook there
Answer from myluv7
Lake Station, Indiana173 contributions37 helpful votes
I don’t think they have kitchettes , however they do have free breakfast. I wish I could help more but I don’t think so.
Dawn M asked a question Mar 2021
Virginia Beach, Virginia17 contributions7 helpful votes
Is the outdoor pool heated? Is it open to guests year-round?
acbennett75 asked a question Sept 2020
Denham Springs, Louisiana58 contributions6 helpful votes
Best place near here for Thanksgiving meal?
acbennett75 asked a question Sept 2020
Denham Springs, Louisiana58 contributions6 helpful votes
How far is this from downtown ? Shopping,etc
Answer from deborah_weisberger
Cottontown, Tennessee11 contributions1 helpful vote
It’s about 2 blocks from downtown. Very close to Calhoun’s ( if you know where that is). It’s a great location. We walked everywhere in Gatlinburg from there.
jody b wrote a tip 14 Jun
Aiken, South Carolina9 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Very nice staff. Don't be afraid to ask for assistance."
Read full review
GaRN675 wrote a tip 10 Jun
Georgia9 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring a light blanket if your visit is during a cooler month. Nice to have while sitting on balcony in the evenings. "
Read full review
12sherylh wrote a tip 3 Jun
Byram, Mississippi2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Walk across the road and go up the trail by the water! It's beautiful! Go to the Peddler!!! Food is great!!! "
Read full review
Dan C wrote a tip 2 Jun
Youngs Point, Canada16 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring a tray so you can carry your breakfast back to your room to enjoy the river during breakfast."
Read full review
Excursion52961121632 wrote a tip May 2024
Johnson City, Tennessee1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Perfect location in Gatlinburg. Easy walk to fine dining and all the attractions. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Gatlinburg area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
bearskin hotel on the river, bearskin lodge gatlinburg tennessee, bearskin lodge on the river gatlinburg tn
LOCATION
United StatesTennesseeSevier CountyGatlinburg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
96
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BEARSKIN LODGE ON THE RIVER HOTEL (Gatlinburg) - Hotel Reviews & Photos - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Nantahala Outdoor Center - Gatlinburg, TN (0.2 km), Ober Gatlinburg Amusement Park & Ski Area (0.3 km), and Smoky Mountain Art (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cherokee Grill, Big Daddy's Pizzeria, and Flapjack's Pancake Cabin.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Gatlinburg.
Are there any historical sites close to Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Noah Bud Ogle Cabin (4.1 km) and Historic Ogle Log Cabin (1.1 km).
Does Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Gatlinburg HotelsGatlinburg Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in GatlinburgHotels near Bearskin Lodge on the River Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday homesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire