We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

River Terrace Resort & Convention Center

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
River Terrace Resort & Convention Center
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

823 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for River Terrace Resort & Convention Center
See the most recent reviews
Showing 816: English reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2015

We got a deal on this room by booking through a travel website and were shown rooms with fire places, nice balconies, etc. We could tell from the photos that the hotel was a bit dated, but it looked clean and met the rest of our needs. We originally booked 4 nights at this hotel. We were very disappointed when...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank arachels
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review

We thank you for sharing your review with us. It is a delight to hear that you've gotten to stay with us at a great value. We regret to see that your vacation was not up to par with your expectations. We definitely hope that these concerns with our resort staff in order to providing you with a great experience....

Richmond, Kentucky
Reviewed 16 June 2015

looks from the street and on the website. Spend some time in the car and stay is Pigeon Forge. Our view was was a parking lot. Both pools were closed; one was contaminated and the other was green and stagnate. Not cool when it 98 degrees out. Lobby smelled like cherry bathroom deodorizes. Staff was friendly. Room was clean and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank R M
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your review. We are happy to know that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful during your time staying with us and that you experienced a clean unit upon your arrival. We apologize for our outdoor pools were closed during you vacation. We are diligently working on resolving this issue for our...

Reviewed 16 June 2015 via mobile

Nice setting and very nice people a bit unorganized w planning my daughter's wedding and a bit out of date. For the price it's a nice place in the heart of Gatlinburg. Kitchens ,fireplaces, nice pools.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brent B
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It is great to know that you’ve enjoyed our wonderful, clean pools, in-room fireplace, and our location. We’re glad you chose us and hope you will visit again. -Luna

Reviewed 15 June 2015 via mobile

This was the worst place I have ever stayed in my 49 yrs on this earth! Looked at 3 rooms, all about the same, looked like something out of a 70's horror movie! Laundry facilities, staff said do not use, always a problem, washer overflows out of room, she gave directions to nearest laundry mat. Woke up during the night,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lynnthib
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. We certainly regret to hear that your stay was not up to your expectations. Guest satisfaction is our top priority and we appreciate your comments as we are always looking for areas to progress. We would like to apologize if this caused any inconvenience during your stay. We hope that...

Erwin, Tennessee
Reviewed 12 June 2015

Rooms were so-so. If you get a discounted rate, like for being a TN resident, you get a room at the back most building with not much of a view. Walls also extremely thin as we heard EVERYTHING going on next door ALL NIGHT! Advertises 2 pools but neither one was working. How does that happen? Offered use of pool...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Mark H
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. It is a certain regret to hear that your experience was below your expectations. We certainly want to apologize for the inconvenience of our pools being closed. We are diligently working on resolving this issue for our guests. Please understand that booking a particular discount does not determine your unit location. This is...

Berea, Kentucky
Reviewed 11 June 2015

First off, DO NOT STAY HERE! Secondly, the only and I mean THE ONLY reason this place is still in business is that it's in a good location. LOCATION: This is this places only saving grace. It's located directly behind the Guiness World's Records building and you can be walking down Gatlingburg's main drag in seconds and that's the only...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Matthew C
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are sorry to hear about the challenges you had during your stay. The comfort of our guests is a top concern for us. The challenges you have described are being reviewed by our Management Team, as they share a common interest to ensure that any issues are corrected....

Reviewed 10 June 2015 via mobile

I should've known it would be a disaster when we first checked in. We walked in our room and it had not been cleaned. Beds weren't made, trash everywhere, etc. Thankfully, they did give us another room. Water pressure was terrible in the shower and kept stopping unexpectedly while showering. We have a 3 year old and all she cared...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AlysonHarvell
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It appears that your initial unit had not been cleaned and checked properly, as it should have been. We are though happy the front desk was able to resolve the problem for you in a timely manner. In response to the pools being closed, we do apologize for the inconvenience but please...

Huntington, West Virginia, United States
Reviewed 6 June 2015

My husband and I stayed here 6 years ago with our then 2 year old. We loved the room we had and decided to see if we could get the same room for us, our now 8 year old, and our 4 year old. We were ecstatic to be able to stay in the same room again and had a...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Courtney A
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback. We are extremely happy to see that you and your family enjoyed your vacation experience. It is pleasing to know that our location was up to you standards and that you were able to enjoy our resort cleanliness throughout your time with us. We hope that you are able to come and...

Wausau, Wisconsin
Reviewed 3 June 2015

I was hesitant about staying here due to all the negative reviews. We checked in on Saturday, May 30, 2015. Check in was very quick and friendly and we were impressed with the room and view. The next day when the temp was 85 degrees both pools were closed. My boyfriend went and inguired about the pools being closed and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Lisa S
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We regret to here that you were not able to enjoy our outdoor pools while staying with us. It is our hope that our resort management is able to fix the issues with the pool before you leave us. Please note, as our resort staff informed you; you are more than welcome to...

Fullerton, California
Reviewed 3 June 2015

(I am a 32 year old male, and went with my wife, 3-year old, 5-month old girl.) Best: the view of the Smokeys. Worst: Both pools were broken. Some details ... Price: I don't know their normal price. We got three nights for $75 (more like $100 after "incidental fees") through BookVIP.com in exchange for attending Smokey Mountain Resort's sales...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank CircularReason
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. It seems like you had an enjoyable stay, and you were able to take advantage of a lot of great options in Gatlinburg during your stay with us. We are so happy that you had a great stay and that your accommodations were clean and comfortable for you. It is also a plus that our...

342 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (326)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (47)
Viewed
Room/Suite (81)
Viewed
Bathroom (30)
Viewed
View from Room (39)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (124)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.1 km away
The Edgewater Hotel
The Edgewater Hotel
#20 of 78 in Gatlinburg
886 reviews
0.6 km away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#28 of 78 in Gatlinburg
438 reviews
1.0 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
0.9 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
1.2 km away
Brookside Resort
Brookside Resort
#35 of 78 in Gatlinburg
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A Prime Location in the Beautiful Great Smoky Mountains River Terrace Resort and Convention Center in Gatlinburg, Tennessee, offers guests comfortable accommodations in the heart of downtown Gatlinburg, all within minutes of Great Smoky Mountains National Park - the most-visited national park in the United States - as well as Dollywood theme park. With easy walking access to the main street in Gatlinburg and a multitude of outdoor recreational opportunities, your dream vacation is waiting at River Terrace Resort and Convention Center! ... more   less 

Additional Information about River Terrace Resort & Convention Center

Address: 240 River Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3208
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Price Range: ₹ 6,351 - ₹ 12,243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — River Terrace Resort & Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your River Terrace Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Terrace Resort And Convention Center
River Terrace Hotel Gatlinburg
River Terrace Gatlinburg
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Gatlinburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from River Terrace Resort & Convention Center staff and other travellers.
23 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (23)

Questions? Get answers from River Terrace Resort & Convention Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a room with a river view.”
 of 5 bubbles bluedynaglide, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“confirm parking before accepting room key.”
 of 5 bubbles 33kimt, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors with a balcany”
 of 5 bubbles aaronj541, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Arrive very early if you hope to get what you reserved.”
  • Gross...
  • Dirty tub...
  • Dead cockroach on the floor outside our door.
  • Dead cockroach on the floor outside our door.
  • Everything but the tv was outdated.
  • Not so great compared to the river view we were supposed to get.
  • Dirty tub...
 of 5 bubbles H6353FMjessicab, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I don not know if there is a good room. Maybe there is now.”
 of 5 bubbles damonf553, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5