We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown

PricelineUS$ 81*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 100*
US$ 81*
Great Deal
US$ 87*
US$ 87*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown
Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown
Panoramas (4)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

300 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 296: English reviews
Sevierville, Tennessee
Reviewed 5 April 2016 via mobile

I am a life-long resident of Sevier County. A friend recently visited me from Cincinnati as part of a business trip, and he invited me to stay with him. The motel is in a great location...close to shops and dining - no real need to mover the vehicle unless going out Highway 73 or to the Arts & Crafts Community....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Michael O
kendall H, Owner at Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Next, please let us know about your allergy to smoke when you make your reservation and we will gladly put you in a non smoking room.

Hudsonville
Reviewed 3 April 2016

We usually stay at Marriott brand hotels, but location of this motel was excellent. Very clean, with comfortable beds. With the location, we were one of the first to arrive at Smokey Mountain National Park, and avoided all the traffic. And, we were a block from all of the local shops and restaurants.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank dbrown1265
kendall H, Owner at Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate our guests. Thank you for staying with us.

Reviewed 3 April 2016 via mobile

Spent a couple nights here this week. Loved it. We stayed in room 106. The location was great as you can walk into downtown without having to pay for parking. Staff is great! Check in has to be done by 10pm I believe, and checkout is by 11am. I would stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Derick B
kendall H, Owner at Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your awesome review! You can check-in after 10 pm if you let us know you will be later than that. Glad you had a great time during your stay.

Broadway, North Carolina
Reviewed 23 March 2016

It's a clean basic place that meets all your needs at a very low rate!! I'd rather spend my money sight seeing/having a great time than at a fancy hotel that I will only sleep in basically. It is steps from downtown and you can catch the trolly at the end of the street. We really liked its proximity to...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tonia G
kendall H, Owner at Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your awesome review! We appreciate customers who let us know how we are doing as we strive to do our very best for our guests. We hope you return and stay with us again.

Reviewed 22 March 2016 via mobile

We booked a last minute trip and stumbled upon this place. I was a little nervous because it was a low price in an ideal location...but we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived! It is located in the heart of downtown Gatlinburg, the staff was friendly and it was clean! Highly recommended!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dana A
kendall H, Owner at Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your awesome review! We strive to meet and/or exceed our guests expectations. We are glad you had a great time. We look forward to you staying with us in the future.

Granite Falls, North Carolina
Reviewed 15 March 2016

We have stayed at the Mountain House numerous times. The last three visits were in June of 2015, November 2015 , and March 2016. Each of the visits were for three nights. What we have noticed is that things have been progressively getting more slack. We've stayed next to the small pool behind the office these last three times. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jakeanddolly
kendall H, Owner at Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown, responded to this review

I am sorry that you had trouble with housekeeping issues. They have started to work on the pools in the last few days. Without the pump to circulate the water, it does get nasty due to not being used during the winter. I promise the next time you stay that it will be clean. We are looking into different options...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 8 March 2016

Stayed here for 2 nights in March '16. Great little spot, a little dated, but very clean and great location. Easy walking access to everything there is to see and do in Gatlinburg. Our only real complaint was that our room was adjoined to the room next door, and we could clearly hear the guests when they were in their...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank brant585
kendall H, Owner at Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your great compliments. We are working on the WI-FI issues currently. You may request a room without a connecting door. We do have a few rooms like that. Hope to see you in the future.

Reviewed 26 February 2016 via mobile

My girlfriend and I loved the room and the area. You're able to walk wherever u want as far as Gatlinburg. The people were nice. The only problem we had was the room needs a little moral lighting. But overall a wonderful stay and I would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Noah C
kendall H, Owner at Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for you kind words. We will look into the lighting issues you mentioned. We look forward to serving your needs again.

south carolina
Reviewed 20 February 2016

Hotel was good value for the price, great location, within walking distance to downtown. It was neat and clean and staff was friendly. it is a little dated, Based on the location, I would stay here again. We stayed on the bottom floor. It was a little noisy when people where driving by, especially the motorcycles, you could hear the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ldscountry
kendall H, Owner at Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind response. We strive to make all our guests happy. If you are unsatisfied for any reason, please let us know so we can try to make amends. We look forward to serving your needs in the future.

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 13 February 2016 via mobile

We are staying here for a family function. Cute hotel on the outside, but the inside is a bit dated. Went to the bathroom to take a shower and the tub does not drain properly. The bathroom looks like it had some incomplete work done to it. Went to bed, the mate ease are harder than a rock. Not a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank D S
kendall H, Owner at Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown, responded to this review

I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. We could have tried to move you to a different room so that the smoke wouldn't bother you and the tub drain may have worked better. We hope to see you in the future.

107 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (54)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (49)
Viewed
Double Queen Room (14)
Viewed
Double Queen Room (Alternative) (13)
Viewed
King Room (14)
Viewed
The Hotel (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
1.1 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.9 km away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
0.4 km away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#23 of 77 in Gatlinburg
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#29 of 77 in Gatlinburg
441 reviews
1.2 km away
Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains
0.5 km away
The Edgewater Hotel
The Edgewater Hotel
#19 of 77 in Gatlinburg
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown

Address: 247 Newton Ln, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3537 (Formerly Econo Lodge Downtown)
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Price Range: ₹ 4,731 - ₹ 6,740 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown Hotel Gatlinburg
Mountain Hotel Downtown
Mountain Hotel Gatlinburg
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Gatlinburg
#19 Family Hotel in Gatlinburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Mountain House Motor Inn Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for a second floor room ( two story hotel)”
pacdog, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“Request a first floor room away from the pool.”
707mlk, 12 May 2017 | Read review
“I would try a 2nd floor room to insure an even quieter stay.”
mikaelos, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Lower level rooms are more convenient if you have plenty of luggage.”
RobertC117, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 301 opens directly to the pool. Use Baskins Creek bypass to get to highway 321 to skip a lot of traffic if traveling this way.”
SouthSeaPirate, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$ 81* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUS$ 87
TravelocityUS$ 87
Booking.comUS$ 100
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates