We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Traveller (154)
Room & Suite (48)
Dining (6)
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent83%
  • Very good8%
  • Average5%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“other guests”(32 reviews)
“grand room”(6 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Accessible rooms
Self-Serve Laundry
2 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Reviews (264)
There are newer reviews for The Great Bear Inn
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
261 results
Traveller rating
213
23
13
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
213
23
13
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother guestsgrand roomglacier national parkdogs runningfront lawnpool tableeast entranceour room was spaciousthe main lodgethe lower levelclosed duelaundry facilitiesstayed longerday hikingmini fridgeshort drivewest side
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 261 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2017

We stayed in the Wolf Den (larger) cabin. The location and grounds were beautiful. The cabin was rundown. The dishwasher was broken when we arrived, and was still broken when we left. We came back to the cabin on our first day, and there was...More

Thank jmekstrum
Response from Susan S, Owner at The Great Bear InnResponded 4 July 2017

We refunded this customer 33% of her stay with us due to the washer/dryer and dishwasher not having been repaired prior to her arrival. We made every effort with the repairman to avoid this situation. . Housekeeping was sent to her cabin every day to...More

Reviewed 27 June 2017

We made a reservation in December 2016 for July 18, 19, 20, 2017 for a mini-grand room. Four weeks before our trip, Susan sends us an email saying their reservation system overbooked and they could not provide us a room on those dates. A little...More

Thank 52slg
Reviewed 26 June 2017

We had only booked the Great Bear Inn for one night, and after having experienced the Inn, it was hard to leave. The Inn sent us directions ahead of time, which were a big help. It is located close to the entrance of Glacier National...More

1  Thank schneewitchen
Response from Susan S, Owner at The Great Bear InnResponded 27 June 2017

Thank you so very much for your kind words . We are so very glad that your stay with us is now a great memory for you. Susan Sullivan

Reviewed 13 June 2017

It was a cute inn. We happened to arrive when no one was at the inn around 4:30, but we soon got a call back and were told where our room was located . Since we were the only ones there, I probably would have...More

Thank Julestwo
Response from Susan S, Owner at The Great Bear InnResponded 14 June 2017

You have my utmost apology for not being greeted upon your arrival. That is not the way we strive to treat our guests. Something must have happened to cause Tess to leave the check in counter. We are glad you were able to use the...More

Reviewed 4 June 2017

This is a very charming lodge away from the busyness of the West Glacier and only 10 minutes from the entrance to the park. Most other accommodations are right on the busy highway & roads. My family stayed there for 6 nights. Upon arriving we...More

1  Thank Sufitterer
Response from Susan S, Owner at The Great Bear InnResponded 6 June 2017

Thank you so much for your kind words. The staff is incredible and I feel very blessed to have them on board. Susan Sullivan Owner

View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Self-Serve Laundry
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Refrigerator in room
Details
Price range
US$ 170 - US$ 375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
US$ 170 - US$ 375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (154)
Room & Suite (48)
Dining (6)
Pool & Beach (1)
Family and Play Areas (3)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
16 March 2017|
Answer
Response from Susan S | Property representative |
Glacier Car Rentals is available for car rentals at the Amtrak Station in West Glacier.
1
Vote
Cap N
16 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from becky2000 | Reviewed this property |
The mini grand is located just down the hall from the common area. During our stay it was very quiet. There is a room across the hall from the Mini grand and I believe there is a room located above the mini grand. We were... More
0
Votes
arrowhead-12
17 January 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Barb Y | Reviewed this property |
It could easily accommodate 20. The eating area is a huge table so you could eat together. The inn only provides breakfast, though so if you want meals at lunch and dinner you have to go out or get food and bring it back... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"The basement rooms were amazing - they seemed the most private, but they also have cabins for rent as well."
Read review
"Slept well and relaxed. Worth the price."
Read review
"The room on the main floor is next to a very loud train."
Read review
"Lower rooms (grand) are very large and beautifully decorated."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing