We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

West Glacier Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Glacier
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
West Glacier Motel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

115 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for West Glacier Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 111: English reviews
MN
Reviewed 22 August 2015

This was a great place to stay. Very clean with enough room to move a little. Loved the pretty planter out in front of the rooms/cabins. Great location too. Glacier National Park and all of its glories is right around the corner!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nancy M
Avon, Colorado
Reviewed 18 August 2015

This is the second GPI property that has been disappointing to us on this trip. Like the desk clerk said--IT IS JUST A ROOM--no TV, COFFEE OR WIFI!! It is covenantly located at the park entrance with no attendant on duty past 8PM -8AM. There we eating and general store near by which was nice!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sl0t
Grand Forks, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed 17 August 2015

Traveling on a motorcycle long day and it was over 90 degrees all day, Needed to secure a placing in the West entrance area. Called this place, they had a vacancy. When we checked for $ 114 US a night we found that rustic was the theme. No TV, No Phone but after riding in the heat for 10 hours...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank HANK R
Glacier Park I, Manager at West Glacier Motel, responded to this review

Hi HANK R, thank you for taking some time to provide a review of your stay at West Glacier. We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with your room. We do make an effort of explaining the amenities provided at time of booking and we are disappointed to learn this wasn’t the case in your situation. This issue will...

Helena
Reviewed 11 August 2015

I have been staying at this motel for over 45 years. It is very convenient, rooms are clean and staff have always been wonderful. This year my sister called in a reservation for two rooms for August 7th. When we got there they didn't have the reservation. They did however give us on of their new larger rooms with two...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan D
Bedminster, New Jersey
Reviewed 23 July 2015

We completely understand this place is a Motel and as much you should expect to get a motel, which we did. We thought we would get at least a clean room. It started out with us taking showers (we had been hiking all day and were very sweaty). My husband went first then I did. After I dried off I...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Mead310
Glacier Park I, Manager at West Glacier Motel, responded to this review

Hi Mead310, thank you for taking some time to provide some details of your stay in West Glacier. The experience you described sounds very unacceptable. This type of service is inconsistent with our standards and will be addressed. We are glad you were finally offered a refund for your stay but sorry you had to ask. We are regretful you...

Greenfield, Wisconsin
Reviewed 15 July 2015

The room is basic, that's okay but the room smelled musty and we had to have a window open at all times. I felt sick and stayed out as much as possible, considered sleeping in the car. The mattress was old and soft. You could not even turn around in the shower, it was that small. No outlets to plug...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Molly55
Glacier Park I, Manager at West Glacier Motel, responded to this review

Hi Molly55, thank you for taking some time to provide a candid review of your stay in West Glacier. We appreciate the details you provided which all sound rather unacceptable. This type of service is inconsistent with our standards and will be addressed. We are happy that you had a positive experience with our staff. We are sorry you had...

Windsor, California
Reviewed 13 July 2015

It wasn't what I expected. It was too rustic for me. I didn't like that they were still using bedspreads that wasn't clean regularly. Luckily, it was hot so we kicked off the blanket which didn't seem clean to the touch. I found a dirty paper plate in the drawer of the night stand. The bathroom was clean.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Diane H
Pawtucket, Rhode Island
Reviewed 12 July 2015

This place is billed as West Glacier Resort. It is NOT a resort, but definately the LAST RESORT! Small, cramped rooms and the smallest bathroom and shower I have EVER seen! No coffee maker, no refrigerator, no air conditioner, no microwave. The room could have been cleaner (we found hair on the blanket when we turned down the bed)! The...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Kerrie B
Glacier Park I, Manager at West Glacier Motel, responded to this review

Hi Kerrie B, thank you for taking the time to provide some feedback in regards to your stay at West Glacier Motel. We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your stay. You are correct that our accommodations are rather basic and we do make an effort to express this at time of booking, we apologize if...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 12 July 2015

I rarely leave a negative review but unfortunately this place earned it. The first night, we slept well but the room was too warm. As you have read before the rooms are very small, just a queen bed and the bathroom. Both were clean. However, we were able to hear the man in the next room snore. Ice was offered...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank dylansmommy
Murphy, TX
Reviewed 12 July 2015

This was the most disappointing place we stayed on a two and a half week vacation to the National Parks of the Northern Rockies. The reservation was made by phone and the nice lady said we would have a unit on the bluff which is quieter and cooler. The office staff is really nice and helpful. The room is adequate,...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank revdrmike

22 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Glacier
0.6 km away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
301 reviews
0.7 km away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
331 reviews
3.6 km away
Village Inn At Apgar
Village Inn At Apgar
#2 of 6 in West Glacier
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Glacier Outdoor Center
Glacier Outdoor Center
#2 of 13 in West Glacier
190 reviews
11.7 km away
Historic Tamarack Lodge
Historic Tamarack Lodge
#1 of 3 in Hungry Horse
270 reviews
13.6 km away
Mini Golden Inns Motel
Mini Golden Inns Motel
#2 of 4 in Hungry Horse
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about West Glacier Motel

Address: P.O. Box 398, West Glacier, MT 59936-0398
Region: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Price Range: ₹ 5,091 - ₹ 10,590 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
West Glacier Hotel West Glacier
West Glacier Motel Montana
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from West Glacier Motel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from West Glacier Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you can, rent your own cabin for privacy, more space and a kitchen.”
 of 5 bubbles DarrylL833, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“motel has two sections. There is a seperate section with cabins at another location which is right next to the river”
 of 5 bubbles Anandrajk, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Go elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles 710peggyr, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a cabin on the bluff! Don't stay in the motel on the bottom, I'm sure it's noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles sdkelly, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Stay up on the Bluff”
 of 5 bubbles dnh2014, 28 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5