We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Glacier Highland Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Glacier
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Glacier Highland Resort
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

123 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 122: English reviews
Florida, USA
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Went to Glacier after visiting Yellowstone, no reservation and close to when everybody closes. Well, hurray they had a room and it was clean and well placed to gate at Glacier. Bed was comfortable and bedding was great for the temperature. Heater in bathroom worked wonderfully. Road to the room was a bit bumpy but again, end of the season....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chawinflut
Stoughton
Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

The room was clean and comfortable, great access to the park. Things haven't been updated in a while and the TV is poorly placed. It is mounted on a wall directly above a table with no clear view from either bed. No other furniture in the room. Who really goes to Glacier to watch TV anyway? My only real complaint...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mugsyfudge
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Reviewed 13 September 2016

We were looking for a late morning breakfast & were referred to the Glacier Highland restaurant. The first morning the breakfast was so good, we came back a second day & tried the Huckleberry French Toast which is absolutely heavenly as it is made with Huckleberry Ice cream in the batter! Then as it neared the beginning of the early...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pacinoscuz
Morehead City, North Carolina
Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

We spend one night at the Glacier Highland resort. The room was clean with a sweet mint smell. We had an excellent view out our front window at the mountains to our northwest. It is a bit primitive in terms of the heat/AC unit, but the overall cleanliness and quaintness of the room make up for it. It does have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ctccbc
Silvia E, Front Desk at Glacier Highland Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back again! Silvia

Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 28 August 2016

Pros - Comfy beds, good lighting. Also good lighting & exhaust fan and heater fan & towel bar in the bathroom. Box fan & ceiling fan were provided. Great location. Very close to the park entrance, the train depot, the restaurant, gift shop and gas station, Great food and nice waiter in the restaurant..The carpet appeared new. Cons - no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gypsy1995
Silvia E, Front Desk at Glacier Highland Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We`ll do our best to implement your feedback to improve our services and amenities. There are ongoing reconstructions and updates to provide our guest an enjoyable stay in West Glacier. We have fridges in the rooms with 3 queen sized beds and we continue adding them to the other rooms as well. There are hair...

Wisconsin
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

I had called previously (10 minutes) before going in to book a room and was told one price. When I went in to get a room I was only told about a room that was way more expensive, I asked if the other room he had told me about was still available he said "oh yea" gave him my credit...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank zuehlb34
Silvia E, Front Desk at Glacier Highland Resort, responded to this review

We are really sorry for the mistake and for the unpleasant experience you had ! We are trying to provide our customers with clean and comfortable rooms, we apologize if it wasn`t your experience. I also would like to ensure you that we would refund you your money, as we are double-checking all bookings multiple times; mainly when it comes...

Rochester, Minnesota
Reviewed 22 August 2016

During a strong rain the entire ceiling of the room bowed and water dripped everywhere. Moved the bed twice and unable to get away. I've called the manager/ hotel for two weeks now for a refund and keep being put off. Prior to going to the park, we were told over the phone they had air and laundry. They do...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Megano4
Silvia E, Owner at Glacier Highland Resort, responded to this review

Yes, we did have a big rain storm and it leaked water into this customer's room. This has not happened before in this room or any other. We were not aware of any leak in the roof until the night of the rain storm. After becoming aware of the breach in the roof, the entire roof has been redone.A refund...

Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed 15 August 2016

We made the reservation for one night here. Jumped off the train and walked across the street tot he hotel. Check in was easy and quick. We walked up the hill to room number 2. and fell into the bed. It was so comfortable after being on the train for the previous 30+ hours. At checkout they let us leave...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank craigclark
Silvia E, Front Desk at Glacier Highland Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We`re glad you enjoyed your stay and we really hope to see you again!

Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

Two days ago I checked out of this place and it was an OK stay. Rooms were clean, amenities are OK, the price was reasonable. We had really come for Glacier National Park and its proximity to the west entrance is spectacular! The food at the restaurant was amazing; our gentleman server was kind of rude. What sets this place/review...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank askmikey206
Silvia E, Front Office Manager at Glacier Highland Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are really glad you enjoyed your time at Glacier Highland! As it`s a small family-owned business, the atmosphere is always welcoming and our employees are kind and friendly, always trying to do as much for our guests as possible- just as you could see with our colleague at the front desk. We are very...

Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

I tried to make a reservation with Adina. I told her twice that our dates were completely flexible. That we wanted to stay 5 nights ANYTIME in August or September. She refused to tell me what dates she had available. Adina said that I had to provide her with exact dates. For some strange reason, she could not wrap her...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank waterbabes75
Megan0409, Front Desk at Glacier Highland Resort, responded to this review

I am sorry that you had a bad experience. We have several options in August and September for 5 days. It is our policy to be as helpful as we can for our guests or potential guests; it is unfortunate that you had this experience. If you would like to call back, please do so and talk with me personally,...

47 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Glacier
0.0 km away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
301 reviews
0.0 km away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
331 reviews
0.0 km away
Village Inn At Apgar
Village Inn At Apgar
#2 of 6 in West Glacier
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Historic Tamarack Lodge
Historic Tamarack Lodge
#1 of 3 in Hungry Horse
270 reviews
0.0 km away
Glacier Outdoor Center
Glacier Outdoor Center
#2 of 13 in West Glacier
190 reviews
0.0 km away
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
#2 of 16 in Whitefish
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Glacier Highland is a rustic style motel in West Glacier, located across from the Amtrak train station at the West entrance to the Glacier NP, with gorgeous, sweeping mountain views. We have 33 different units with Internet access, satellite television and more. If you are looking for a quaint and high quality restaurant in West Glacier, MT that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner, you will find that on site as well. We are also a hub for fuel, toiletries, clothing and essentials of all kinds, thanks to our convenience store and gas station in West Glacier, MT. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Glacier Highland Resort

Address: Box 397, West Glacier, MT 59936-0397
Region: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Price Range: ₹ 5,076 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 33
Also Known As:
Glacier Highland Hotel West Glacier
Glacier Highland West
Glacier Highland Resort West Glacier, Montana
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Glacier Highland Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“They had earplugs available in the office for the trains, didn't take them. Didn't need them”
 of 5 bubbles craigclark, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
“First-floor room was very noisy when upstairs guests walked overhead”
 of 5 bubbles acs898, 7 Aug 2016 | Read review
“hotel is across from a railroad station - did not bother me in the least but may bother some”
 of 5 bubbles 175sa, 1 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Not sure where that would be, but definitely one with a private bathroom.”
 of 5 bubbles 39NancyD39, 14 Nov 2014 | Read review
“Room 10 is next to the facility laundry and storage room. If you are in the room in the day you will hear the washer/dryer running”
 of 5 bubbles JoeD986, 24 Sep 2014 | Read review
5 of 5