We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Red Lion Inn and Suites Brooklyn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Red Lion Inn and Suites Brooklyn
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

79 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 71: English reviews
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 1 week ago

I was given a horrible room in the basement. I cannot even imagine what kind of shady business goes on in this hotel, suffice to say a few of the other "guests" on the same floor were going in and out of their rooms at regular intervals (about 30mins) THROUGHOUT THE NIGHT. imagine trying to get some sleep with doors...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank annabluebird6
danyjp2016, Director of Sales at Red Lion Inn and Suites Brooklyn, responded to this review

Hello Annabluebird6, I apologize for the experience at our hotel during your stay. We do have rooms at the garden level which offers a view of our garden and provides a lot of natural light due to having a larger window. We do not in any way attempt to hide the fact these rooms are 50% below level, as a...

Brooklyn
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed here on a Saturday night for a wedding. My boyfriend and I shared a king bed and the room was pretty tiny, as I walked into the room I basically walked into the bed. But it was comfortable and clean enough for just a 1 night stay. There's free breakfast from 6-9 and there's a small seating area...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sharlenet2016
danyjp2016, Director of Sales at Red Lion Inn and Suites Brooklyn, responded to this review

Dear sharlenet2016, Thank you staying with us at the Red lion inn and suites, we greatly appreciate your feedback. Yes our complimentary breakfast is very popular and does get high peak hours. We do offer trays to take up to your rooms to have breakfast in the comfort of your own bed. Please contact me directly my name is Dany...

Montanita, Ecuador
Reviewed 1 week ago

If you're looking for a budget hotel in a prime Brooklyn location you have found your place. The room was clean, and the service friendly. You can take the train straight in from JFK on the A line with easy access to the rest of the city. Walking distance to all the best of Boerum Hill & Park Slope.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank T_Geisel
danyjp2016, Director of Sales at Red Lion Inn and Suites Brooklyn, responded to this review

Thank you kindly for taking the time to offer us a review. As you accurately pointed out, we are located near all the major subway stations including the A,C,2,3,4,5, B,D,N,R,W and the LIRR. Easy commute to JFk and 1 stop away from Manhattan!

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 1 week ago

My brother and I stayed in this hotel out of desperation for 2016 new years eve. the first room that the front desk dude gave us was in the basement--- yes it was basement! and smelled like an ashtray. Neither of us smoke and the condition of the room was unbearable so I went back to the guy and complained...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sajadraeisi
danyjp2016, Director of Sales at Red Lion Inn and Suites Brooklyn, responded to this review

Dear Sajadraesi, Thank you for the review. I can assure you that the property is a lonng way from where it was during your stay a year ago. We have fully renovated the hotel between January and April and I would love to invite you to come stay with us again this coming New Year's eve. You will be pleased...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

BEWARE OF BEDDDDDDD BUGGGGGGGS !!!!!! NEVER AGAIN ! We told the supervisor our little situation but then was told that maybe we came with it mind you three other families had the same problem !!! Don't waste your money !

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Iloveyou322
danyjp2016, Director of Sales at Red Lion Inn and Suites Brooklyn, responded to this review

Hello Iloveyou322, We take the issue of bedbugs VERY seriously. I looked into the history of the hotel at around the time that your review was posted and no bed bugs were detected at the hotel. We constantly get our rooms checked by the best professionals not just to treat rooms but as a routine to check and ensure that...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We are here for a concert and staying at the Red Lion Inn. The staff is friendly and informative. The hotel is 7 blocks from the venue and a great set of shops. Restaurants on 5th Street are varied with many options from burger bistros to vegan options. The rooms are small but clean and modern. Plenty of tree lined...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Stacey S
danyjp2016, Director of Sales at Red Lion Inn and Suites Brooklyn, responded to this review

Hello Stacey, Thank you kindly for reviewing our humble accommodations. I am excited that you had a chance to explore our neighborhood and its many food and entertainment offerings. I hope you come back to enjoy the gorgeous view of the brownstones soon.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As with most things, you get what you pay for. This Red Lion Inn was a great value for a 2 night stay in Brooklyn in a convenient neighborhood. But don't come in expecting luxury. The room itself was tiny, with one bed pressed right up against the HVAC unit, meaning at least one person is in for a breezy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank K8163SGsusanh
danyjp2016, Director of Sales at Red Lion Inn and Suites Brooklyn, responded to this review

Hello K8163SGsusanh, I was a pleasure to host you as our guest at the Red Lion Brooklyn. We proud ourselves to make every room as comfortable as possible for all our guests. We appreciate the honest feedback and we will ensure to monitor the temperature in our breakfast area. Quick tip for your next visit, each room is equipped with...

York, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have stayed at the Fairfield right around the corner, It's in a light industrial area where I could understand a single woman would be concerned....but most of what I saw were employees outside for a smoke; people from the neighborhood walking to and from work, etc. It is "out of the way" located next to an out fit that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wildelk2
danyjp2016, Director of Sales at Red Lion Inn and Suites Brooklyn, responded to this review

wow wildelk2, I could not have described the immediate surrounding of the hotel myself; it definitely has an industrial charm to it. In a three block radius, all the unique offerings of Brooklyn are at your disposal; from the boutique grocery stores, to the mom and pop restaurants and the creative microbreweries. You certainly have gotten to know the neighborhood...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 November 2016

I stayed here with my sister for 2 days and it was really great! Clean, comfortable and in a great location in Brooklyn, close distance to Atlantic - Barclays centre station which gets you into the city within 15 mins! Only annoyance was that the lift stopped working and we were based on the 6th floor! But their staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank viddyriff
danyjp2016, Director of Sales at Red Lion Inn and Suites Brooklyn, responded to this review

Hello Viddyriff, Thank you for the encouraging words to the staff. I will print out your review and post it for all to see. These words of encouragement are the reasons why I love working in the hospitality industry, once more I think you for acknowledging our care and boundless efforts.

Westport, Massachusetts
Reviewed 4 November 2016 via mobile

Wouldn't even get out of my car. Neighborhood is very scary. Graffiti on every parked car. A fairly decent walk to the train through this sketchy neighborhood. As a woman alone, there was no chance I was staying there. Third party booking agents offer a low rate for a reason. Pay more elsewhere. (After several calls, my money was refunded.)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sheri P
danyjp2016, Director of Sales at Red Lion Inn and Suites Brooklyn, responded to this review

Hello Sheri, I apologize that the industrial feel of the neighborhood did not make you feel comfortable. I can ensure you that Gowanus is one of the safest neighborhoods in New York City; just look at the data from our city website. As always, we strive to ensure that everyone leaves happy so I am delighted to hear that we...

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Brooklyn
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn Brooklyn Downtown
0.1 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Brooklyn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
EVEN Hotels Brooklyn
EVEN Hotels Brooklyn
#13 of 69 in Brooklyn
88 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Indigo
Hotel Indigo
#21 of 69 in Brooklyn
543 reviews
2.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Plus Prospect Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Red Lion Inn and Suites Brooklyn

Address: 279 Butler Street, Brooklyn, NY 11217 (Formerly Comfort Inn Brooklyn - Downtown)
Region: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Price Range: ₹ 7,751 - ₹ 18,063 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red Lion Inn and Suites Brooklyn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Red Lion Inn and Suites Brooklyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Brooklyn Downtown Hotel Brooklyn
Comfort Inn Brooklyn
Brooklyn Comfort Inn
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Brooklyn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Red Lion Inn and Suites Brooklyn staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question
2 months ago
2 months ago
5 months ago
Hopewell Junction, New York

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Red Lion Inn and Suites Brooklyn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“fyi, "C level" actually means basement”
 of 5 bubbles annabluebird6, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“C level means you're in the basement.”
 of 5 bubbles T_Geisel, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“don't stay here!”
 of 5 bubbles sajadraeisi, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Check that the lift is working!”
 of 5 bubbles viddyriff, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“RM 403 Minor repair needed , needs to glue wall paper joints, kindly advice housekeeping to lower voice early in the am.”
 of 5 bubbles don25ptrp, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay