We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Thunderbird Inn

Show Prices
#39 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
GreenLeadersGold level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Thunderbird Inn
The Thunderbird Inn
Panoramas (4)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

1,332 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Thunderbird Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,301: English reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2013

First the good... fun place and atmosphere, the bed was comfortable, the towels were nice and fluffly and everything was clean. The staff bent over backwards to be pleasant at check-in, and to help us with picking a tour. I thought the location was fine, one block off of the historic district. We came home late at night both nights,...

1Thank folgema
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I tussled between four and five stars. Place is on edge of tourist area, safe walking distance for me but perhaps not for some at night. Loved the 60s music piped into the corridors but by early evening I had enough of it. Hotel clerk claimed city is bike-friendly....wow is he high or something? I have ridden bikes all over...

1Thank philandcarolyn
Warner Robins, Georgia
Reviewed 20 September 2013

this place was so much fun. it really had a trippy vibe to it. just made you feel at home because it looked so cool. definitely should check this place out if your looking have a goodnight sleep. although our air conditioner was sticking outside the room and you could see people walk by.. didnt feel safe. but still fun....

1Thank macksmoe2
Loveland, Ohio
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Stayed at the thunderbird inn from 09/12/2013 thru 09/15/2013 to get our daughter moved into her dorm at SCAD . Upon arrival , my 1st impression was that the thunderbird inn was a real retro looking hotel , 50's 60's looking . Pulled into the parking lot, the parking spaces were really small . Getting in and out of the...

1Thank Todd L
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Great value for the money, clean and very friendly service. Special kudos to front desk concierge Tracy who gave me excellent customer service. This motel has a fun retro look. The rooms are standard size with a sink outside the bath area. Also comes with a mini fridge - nice for breakfast. The 24 hour coffee was quite good (...

1Thank Carol S
Corona, California
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We were in town for dorm move in at SCAD. Staying at the Thunderbird was not only so convenient to the dorms but also to everything in the Historic Downtown. The beds are so comfortable. The staff is great. We love Andrea the Housekeeping Supervisor. A gem of the South. Can't wait to stay again.

1Thank travlin1042
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I chose Thunderbird Inn as a place for us to stay in Savannah as it had great reviews and was within walking distance from town. I wasn't a big fan of Krispy Kreme doughnuts for breakfast but my travel companions loved it. The rooms were comfy and clean. Unfortunately, we couldn't get WiFI access in the room as the signal...

Thank Juvern
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

Sir, I thought we had taken care of this completely. I am sorry there was confusion to begin with. I know that puts a bad stay in your mouth.

Perry, Georgia
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We decided to stay at the Thunderbird Inn for a quick weekend getaway due to the great reviews and cute retro decor. The room was spacious and very clean, the bed was comfy, and we loved the magic fingers vibration! Tracy at the front desk was helpful from the first call placed to make the reservation all the way to...

1Thank mommily
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

I'll start off with what this place isn't--- upscale, room service, latest trends in motel. This place is a time capsule of the past if you grew up in the 50's -60's. I think of it as a motor lodge like you would see traveling down us411 or hwy 66. Magic fingers beds, white nagahyde chairs, a real typewriter and...

1Thank Beachfix
Framingham, Massachusetts
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I chose the Thunderbird largely because of the rave reviews it got on TA and elsewhere. I have to say I had trouble understanding what the fuss is all about. The Thunderbird markets itself as a throwback to the roadside motels of the 60s, and it is that, but those of us who stayed in the Holidays Inns and HoJos...

Thank pgillin0734
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Tbird. It takes good and bad reviews for us to have the opportunity to improve our product. I truly hate that there is a disconnect between our marketing and our execution. I assure you that we work hard to deliver everything we promise....everyday. Please feel free to reach out to me...

561 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (304)
Room/Suite (76)
Hotel & Grounds (57)
Bathroom (18)
Dining (4)
View from Room (4)
Videos (1)
Other (144)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

All TripAdvisor Photos (231)
Double Full Room (56)
Double Queen Room (54)
King Room (49)
The Hotel (72)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (26)
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Room/Suite (2)
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Quality Inn Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN PLUS Savannah Historic District
Yamacraw Village
Holiday Inn Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Meet-up at our delightfully quirky motel where refined Savannah's so-historic location and so-hip eccentricities hook up. Discounted Savannah lodging was never so much fun! Hotel rates include Moon Pies and Krispy Kreme donuts! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Thunderbird Inn

Address: 611 W Oglethorpe Ave, Savannah, GA 31401-2305
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Yamacraw Village
Price Range: ₹ 5,176 - ₹ 12,464 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Thunderbird Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Thunderbird Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Thunderbird Hotel Savannah
Thunderbird Hotel Savannah
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Savannah
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Thunderbird Inn staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from The Thunderbird Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“You can't go wrong with a deluxe king room”
 of 5 bubbles 899suzieh, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We were on the main level.”
 of 5 bubbles ina-can, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a second floor room”
 of 5 bubbles 645dalew, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We stayed on the ground floor which was close to our parking spot.”
 of 5 bubbles 618beverlyi, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“top floor rooms due to parking”
 of 5 bubbles robinnest1, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay