We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Savannah Historic District

Save
Share
411 West Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401-1114
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (320)
360
Panoramas (6)
Videos (3)

About

#29 of 129 hotels in Savannah
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Bronze level
Just 20 minutes from Savannah International Airport, and set in the heart of Savannah's Historic District, this Savannah hotel is positioned next to Savannah City Market and just one walking block from the iconic River Street. Feel valued and cared for at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Savannah Historic District, and enjoy a variety of special comforts and thoughtful amenities, including a freshly baked, warm DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie on arrival. Explore Savannah's nearby attractions and shopping as you step out the front door and immerse yourself in the historic city. Unwind in a spacious guestroom or choose a suite and relax with a separate living space, a microwave and refrigerator. Indulge with delicious, innovative cuisine at Savannah restaurant, John Ryan's Bistro or sip on evening drinks at John Ryan's Pub. Bathe in the summer sun on this Savannah hotel's pool deck or plunge into the hotel's outdoor heated pool and whirlpool.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Paid internet
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Value
City View
Languages Spoken
English
2416Reviews54Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,656
  • 491
  • 148
  • 62
  • 59
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
1988LindaG wrote a review 3 Feb
4 contributions2 helpful votes
This was my 11th time staying at this hotel since 2005. Positives: very clean, large rooms, tasty breakfast (not complimentary) but part of my purchased package, digital key, and good location. Negatives: River view has been lost since the building of the Plant district, discontinued daily maid service (although room refresh available upon request), broke my heart that there was no concierge available anymore -- as a single and senior traveler I needed some advice and the front desk couldn't help, no more dinners just an overpriced bar food menu, and valet parking price is altogether too expensive at $45/night. Lastly for the 3rd time in the past ten years there was a fire alarm at night. It's hard being a senior to walk down many flights of stairs. While I am very thankful it was a false alarm perhaps prioritize who gets in the elevators first to go back to the room. Lol
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: City Market is close but many places under renovation &no live music. Close to Plant...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from G M, Guest Services / Front Office at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Savannah Historic District
Responded 6 days ago
Dear 1988LindaG, Welcome back to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Savannah Historic District. We are delighted to know you were pleased with our ideal location, comfortable accommodations, and the delicious breakfast we serve. However, we are sorry for the service shortfalls you experienced while here and for the inconvenience this caused. We also regret your disappointment with some of our charges. It was a pleasure having you here, and we look forward to welcoming you again. Paul Komanecky General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
cheermeup wrote a review Jun 2021
martinez12 contributions8 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
We were a late arrival after spending the day on Tybee Beach. Check-in was easy. Desk clerk was pleasant and professional and we were offered warm chocolate chip cookies! The hotel was sparkly clean as was our room. Beds were very comfy. AC worked great and the refrigerator as well. Our room on 6 was very quiet, no outside noise. We were close to shopping, bars and restaurants. All employees and guests we encountered were very pleasant and friendly. Valets were quick and professional. My stay was on a Saturday and the hotel was busy and did a great job. It was a great stay and I would stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: We were on 6th floor and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from G M, Guest Services / Front Office at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Savannah Historic District
Responded 22 Jun 2021
Our gratitude for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are glad our location was convenient for everything you wanted to do on this visit. It is also good to learn you liked our comfortable beds and quiet accommodations. Thank you for mentioning the excellent service you received from our staff. All of us at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Savannah Historic District look forward to having you stay with us again. Paul Komanecky General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LeeshaLL wrote a review Jan 2023
Tampa, Florida1213 contributions67 helpful votes
Stayed here over Thanksgiving. The downstairs of the hotel is really pretty, clean, and well kept. The rooms are nice as well but a little worn. You can tell these rooms are used a lot. Our shower could have used a good wipe down with a magic eraser and the shower pressure sucked. Elevators were a bit slow as well, but nothing too crazy. Price was good, location is walking distance to everything (we even walked to the Pirate's House which is on the complete opposite side of the historic district). Valet is expensive but it's expected. There are lots nearby. The trolley has a stop on the corner right in front of the hotel and the hotel bar will pour you to go beers to go! The plant district is across the street and is an awesome little area. Would I stay here again? Probably not because there are better hotels in the area. But it was good for a last minute no frills trip.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from G M, Guest Services / Front Office at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Savannah Historic District
Responded 1 week ago
Dear LeeshaLL, Thank you for choosing DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Savannah Historic District and sharing your experience. We are glad you were pleased with our well-kept accommodations and that our location worked well for you. However, we are sorry if there were a few issues that kept you from giving us a higher rating. We regret any inconvenience this caused, and we hope you will return for the perfect stay you deserve. Paul Komanecky General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ChristaWNC wrote a review Jan 2023
Hendersonville, North Carolina72 contributions9 helpful votes
This hotel is in a great walking location to shops and restaurants. It is kept in great condition! Parking is super easy. Valet Mell is awesome!! Front desk staff very helpful. Bartender was great and friendly We will definitely be back again & again
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Request an odd numbered room, the evens face Bay Street and the traffic/construction noise
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from G M, Guest Services / Front Office at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Savannah Historic District
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Christa W, Thank you for choosing DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Savannah Historic District and sharing your experience. We are glad our location convenient to shopping and restaurant worked well for you and that you enjoyed our courteous hospitality. It will be our pleasure to share your kind compliments with Mell. Thank you once more for your review, and we hope you will choose us again. Paul Komanecky General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Crystal W wrote a review Jan 2023
We had a wonderful stay during our bachelorette party! The beds were comfy. Excellent linen service. Location was perfect for partying on River street. Valet Mell took really good care of us!! Will definitely be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from G M, Guest Services / Front Office at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Savannah Historic District
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear H2430VBcrystalw, Thank you for choosing our hotel while you were in Savannah for the Bachelorette party. We are pleased you had a great stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Savannah Historic District. We truly appreciate your kind comments regarding our convenient location, friendly staff, and comfortable suites. We will share your compliments with the team, especially Mell. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Paul Komanecky General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Daina S wrote a review Jan 2023
Mell was really good to us with the parking situation. So nice, kind, and professional. The soda machine took my money, but front staff gave me a drink. There was a stain on one of the beds and there was trash in the trashcan when we got there.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from G M, Guest Services / Front Office at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Savannah Historic District
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear 907dainas, Thank you for staying at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Savannah Historic District and for posting your wonderful comments about the Southern hospitality of our staff. We are dedicated to providing a warm welcome and a comfortable, stress-free experience for each guest, and we are happy to know we did that for you. However, we apologize for the items overlooked in your room and we will share your comments with our housekeeping team to ensure such mistakes are not repeated. We hope you will come back to see us whenever your travels bring you back to our beautiful seaport city. Paul Komanecky General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bruce C wrote a review Jan 2023
18 contributions6 helpful votes
I got in very late, had checked in and gotten the digital key (so I didn’t get to talk to the front desk, but the valet was cool (they are valet parking only). The room was nice, and they had a sound machine which was awesome. The breakfast restaurant was one of the best I’ve been to at a double tree. The morning valet (Mell) really stood out as being the star of this location. He made it his business to make sure that we left the hotel with a positive opinion of the hotel and Savannah in general. Will definitely stay here next time I’m in town.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Valet only at the hotel and it’s very steep ($45 per day).
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from G M, Guest Services / Front Office at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Savannah Historic District
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Bruce, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Savannah Historic District. We are delighted to know you were pleased with our ideal location, comfortable accommodations, devoted associates, and our thoughtful amenities. We will surely share your compliments with our team. We appreciate your comments and look forward to welcoming you again. Paul Komanecky General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
schottfam wrote a review Jan 2023
Boston, Massachusetts9 contributions3 helpful votes
We have no complaints about your staff but your shortage of personnel is felt throughout. We arrived around 3:30 w/ another couple. Both our rooms were not ready. Checkin is at 4pm so we waited. Our room was not ready until well after 5pm. Our friends room was ready a little after 4pm but only because we pushed a little & we could at least leave our luggage in their room. After dinner that night, around 9pm, we attempted to get a drink at the bar but waited (w/ a lot of other people) for a good 15 mins & there was no bartender. She finally showed up w/ someone’s to-go meal but then forgot something that should have been part of his meal & she disappeared again. Needless to say, we & several others decided to leave too. Our 1st night I could smell smoke so perhaps someone near us was smoking in their room. But later we woke up from a sound sleep to smell toxic air permeating our room. It was on the whole floor. We tried to sleep w/ covers over our heads but it was put an easy restful sleep. The next day we were able to change rooms onto a floor that apparently doesn’t get the local paper mill scent were were told about when we asked for the room change. But the new room’s air condition kicked on so loudly that a good night sleep was still impossible the 2nd night. We requested someone to look at it, which I assume they did as it was still loud but less than the night before. Or maybe we were just so darn tired from lack of sleep so sleep came despite the noise. Upon check out they took awhile to bring the car & then brought the wrong car. So, we waited more & finally they brought the correct car. Thankfully, we had given ourselves plenty of time to get to the airport to the car wait wasn’t too much of an issue. Just another bad experience to our stay. Overall we cannot completely blame the front desk staff. They made an effort to remedy things. The disappointment is for the rate charged for overnight stays & for the lack of quality & service experienced. Bad price/performance. We all decided we are staying away from Doubletrees from now on.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from G M, Guest Services / Front Office at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Savannah Historic District
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Schottfam, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay. Please accept our apologies for the issues you faced with both the room assigned, and that we were unable to resolve to your satisfaction. We have shared your comments with the appropriate team to ensure a much better guest experience moving forward. We are also sorry to know you had to wait time you experienced on several occasions, and we understand the frustration this caused. We appreciate your patience and hope you and your group will give us another opportunity to make a better impression. Paul Komanecky General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jake M wrote a review Jan 2023
1 contribution
We had a Great stay in Savannah. Mel and Justin really took care of me this trip, and they deserve a shoutout. Thanks to everyone at the front desk and at valet. Valet might be a bit expensive but that’s Savannah for you
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from G M, Guest Services / Front Office at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Savannah Historic District
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear jakemI3865DQ, Thank you for the complimentary review, and most especially for the wonderful feedback about our staff. Our main goal is to provide outstanding service so all of our guests have a great experience, and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We will surely share your compliments with Mel and Justin. We look forward to your next visit with us at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Savannah Historic District. Paul Komanecky General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kelsa S wrote a review Jan 2023
The stay was very pleasant. Rooms were clean and spacious. The staff was very accommodating. Special thanks to Mel and Keith in valet. They loaded the bags in our vehicle, gave us snacks and water wished us well and safe travels back home. I will definitely book with Doubletree on my next visit to Savanah!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from G M, Guest Services / Front Office at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Savannah Historic District
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear 285kelsas, Thank you for being our guest and for the feedback. We are pleased to know you were delighted with our comfortable accommodations and thoughtful hospitality. We appreciate you recognizing Mel and Keith for their job well done and will surely share your compliments with them. It was a pleasure hosting you, and we look forward to welcoming you again. Paul Komanecky General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$159 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
doubletree savannah, savannah doubletree
LOCATION
United StatesGeorgiaGeorgia CoastSavannahHistoric District - North / Downtown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
150
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

DOUBLETREE BY HILTON HOTEL SAVANNAH HISTORIC DISTRICT - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Savannah Historic District
Which popular attractions are close to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Savannah Historic District?
Nearby attractions include Pounce Cat Cafe (0.2 km), Savannah Supernatural Tours (0.4 km), and Barrelhouse South (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Savannah Historic District?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Savannah Historic District?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Savannah Historic District?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Savannah Historic District?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Savannah Historic District?
Conveniently located restaurants include Chive Sea Bar & Lounge, Jazz'd Tapas Bar, and Alligator Soul.
Are there opportunities to exercise at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Savannah Historic District?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Is DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Savannah Historic District located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Savannah.
Are any cleaning services offered at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Savannah Historic District?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Savannah Historic District?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Savannah Historic District offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.