East Bay Inn
Traveller (563)
Panorama of the Classic Queen at the East Bay Inn
360
Panoramas (5)
East Bay Inn
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Sun, 2 Jun
₹25,714
Fully refundable before Sun, 2 Jun
Get rewarded with One Key
₹25,714
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#6 of 125 hotels in Savannah
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
East Bay Inn was built as a cotton warehouse in 1852. Today, it's rumored haunted by a ghost named Charlie, and welcomes pets as well as people. Located directly across from River Street, with bar and restaurant inside. MORE INFO • 28 historic guest rooms with high ceilings and unique features • Pets and children are welcomed • Located on Bay St., across from River St • Elevator & accessible rooms • Unlimited WiFi • Bellman staff • Debi's Restaurant onsite • Tandem Coffee & Spirits onsite
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary welcome drink
Shared lounge / TV area
Doorperson
Umbrella
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Classic
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:4-Night Special

Location

225 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Savannah-Hilton Head Airport
Hilton Head Airport
41.1 km
See all flights
2,713Reviews25Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 2,041
  • 471
  • 116
  • 65
  • 20
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Ryan D wrote a review Feb 2024
Savannah, Georgia37 contributions6 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I stayed at East Bay Inn for our Valentine’s Day and we had the best memorable experience. The hotel itself is amazing and the architecture is stunning. The furnishings and layout are beautiful. The staff were excellent, Lauri Elder was very attentive to all of the guests needs, and the innkeeper Susan Powers left us a hand written note and a bottle of champagne on ice and chocolates for when we arrived. We have never felt so pampered in our life, the staff went above and beyond to make our experience great. I would give this inn and their employees 100 stars if I could. In addition to our great experience, the location of the inn is perfect for enjoying Savannah’s historic district. We were able to walk from our hotel to all of the city’s attractions and our time could not have been better spent. Thank you East Bay Inn and staff for making our romantic getaway a night we will never forget.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: If you are looking for an inn that is close to everything downtown this is the place to stay and...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Charles Stewart, Guest Services / Front Office at East Bay Inn
Responded 22 Feb 2024
Thank you so much for this great review! We are thankful you chose to stay with us during your trip to Savannah. We are happy you were able to take advantage of our location and we especially appreciate you mentioning our staff. They all endeavor to provide warm, professional service. We hope to see you again. Sincerely, Charles Stewart Guest Services Manager East Bay Inn
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DLC41448 wrote a review Oct 2020
Houston, Texas23 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our second trip to Savannah, but just two days this time so needed a hotel where pets were welcome. Not only were they welcome, there was even a bag of goodies for them in each room. This building dates back to 1852, and much of that ambiance has been preserved. Original pine flooring, exposed beams, brick, an included sitting room with sofa and chairs, and even a few friendly ghosts. Add in some antique furnishings, good sized rooms, upscale accoutrements, and a very well trained staff, made this the highlight of our quick trip. When staying in a downtown location such as this, one expects to pay for parking (just $16) and some added inconvenience, but even with the limited on site parking, their alternate parking is less than a block away and secure. Our king room was right on the front of the hotel and East Bay is one of the main downtown streets, but our second floor room was surprisingly quiet. There's even an on site restaurant (Debi's) where we had a convenient breakfast one morning. The next time we get to spend some time in this great town, we will definitely plan on staying at the East Bay Inn.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Susan wrote a review Mar 2020
Calgary, Canada2 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We enjoyed our stay at East Bay Inn, the staff were very friendly, especially on the night we checked in. The Front Desk lady assisted us with a storage area for our bikes which was much appreciated. The couch and chair fabrics in our room just seemed very soiled.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: We opted for the 3rd floor room and the high ceilings made it feel more roomy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ronnie Jones, General Manager at East Bay Inn
Responded 18 Mar 2020
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I do apologize for the experience you had. Our goal is to have all our guests completely satisfied, and we clearly failed to do so in your case. Again, please accept our apologies. We hope you'll give us another opportunity to be your hotel in Savannah on your next stay. Sincerely, Ronnie Jones, Innkeeper
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rb913 wrote a review Sept 2020
Tallahassee, Florida189 contributions74 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Just returned from a nice stay at the East Bay Inn. My top criteria in searching for a hotel was health and safety standards and this hotel met my expectations. Everyone there, guests and staff, were wearing masks. My room was very clean. There were plenty of towels and toiletries so I did not require housekeeping to come into my room during my stay. It was in a beautiful, historic building that apparently dates back to 1852. The room I was in was actually pretty large. The exposed brick, old-style furnishings, cast iron pillars, and creaky wood floors made for a unique experience (but I didn't see any ghosts!). The bed was extremely comfortable. I got a great night's sleep. The bathroom was small, but the shower was hot and the water pressure was perfect. The hotel was also thoughtful enough to provide complimentary bottles of water in the room and at the front desk. Another plus is that the hotel has its own small parking lot. We arrived around 8pm on a week night and were lucky enough to get the next to last spot but I think if it had been full, there were plenty of garages nearby. The location was great. We just left the car in the lot and were able to walk the entire historic district and river area. I think the only thing that would have made our stay even better is if there was a balcony (FYI the windows, like most hotels, don't open either). I would not hesitate at all to recommend this historic inn.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tim wrote a review May 2021
Allen, Texas7 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This historic hotel built in 1852 is full of character that you don’t find in a modern hotel. The old wooden floors creak with every step and remind me of the house I grew up in. It is located across the street from River Street in the historic district and within easy walking distance to many nice restaurants and sites. We stayed in May 2021 as the COVID pandemic was starting to unwind and the rooms were cleaned before your arrival but not during your stay. Our room wasn’t ready yet when we arrived early but they promised to call when it was ready, but we got back a couple hours later and it was ready even though we didn’t get a call.

There were several areas in our room and throughout the property that were obviously not receiving the type of cleaning you would expect for this type of facility. If you have to get ice on the first floor, you’re best if you don’t look around that room to closely. Our queen bed had major depressions on each side which tended to make us both roll towards the center of the bed.

Please be aware that this is a pet friendly facility. On our first night there, my wife sat in the chair in our room for about a half hour and was covered in flea bites from her neck to her feet. We reported that to the staff the next morning and they stated they would look into it and call us during the day. They didn’t call but when we got back that night we were told they looked and didn’t see any bugs.

The staff needs to learn to under promise and over deliver. Over promising and under delivering doesn’t cut it with me.

Parking is free but very limited next to the hotel. Very long vehicles may have to find somewhere else to park.

Upon checkout we learned that the third floor is pet free, so that may be a safer bet to avoid fleas, plus you won’t have any creaking floors above you.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Pet friendly except for 3rd floor. Stay up there to avoid fleas. Limited parking especially for...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Erika Simmons, Guest Services / Front Office at East Bay Inn
Responded 23 May 2021
Hello again. I'd like to start off by apologizing for the issues you had during your 2 night stay. Once you reported the issue to the staff that morning on your way out, the room was inspected. We did not find anything but still sprayed the room. I personally reached out to you post stay letting you know we have an ongoing contract with a local exterminator that comes on a monthly basis to spray all rooms and our building as a regular maintenance upkeep. We are also staffed 24hrs a day, and would've gladly come that night when you said you noticed the bites. The morning of your check-out, we did offer you a full night back for your troubles as you thought that was fair. We hope this will not deter you from staying again as we would love to have you as a future guest.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alexandre H wrote a review Feb 2020
New York City, New York1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
When we booked East Bay Inn for our long weekend getaway, we did it primarily because of its central location in downtown and pet-friendliness. It always gives us peace of mind when that's an option, but East Bay Inn went ABOVE AND BEYOND! We were kindly welcomed by such a friendly front desk staff, they accommodated us into a spacious room where my girlfriend, myself, and our pup could stretch and relax in a cozy space, and responded to any inquiries we might have had with the utmost hospitality. From daily smiles of the gentleman refilling the lemonade cooler to the complimentary drinks offered at the property's bar, we were consistently met with warmth. Pet-friendly, guest-friendly, and all the charm we could have asked for on our short stay in Georgia...an absolute recommendation for anyone visiting Savannah!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ronnie Jones, General Manager at East Bay Inn
Responded 18 Mar 2020
Thank you staying with us in Savannah. We're glad you enjoyed your visit. We wish you all safe travels, and hopefully we'll get another opportunity to welcome you back to Savannah. Warm regards, Ronnie Jones, Innkeeper
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
S2McH wrote a review Nov 2021
Baghdad, Iraq19 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Chose the East Bay Inn due to location and stately appearing rooms, oversized with spacious sitting area and corner windows with views of East Bay street. Corner room offered pleasant foyer entry, sturdy doors, and room was quiet, allowing for noise of traffic from street. State of America and work ethic at present perhaps, but the room was less than clean. Electrical outlets were limited, and the multi-plug outlet extension cord for the refrigerator sticking out on the floor detracted from the stately appearance. Bed linen was clean. Staff was friendly, allowing us to stash our luggage prior to check-in, and then called us when the room was available, with our luggage delivered to the room.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
corbi2020 wrote a review Feb 2020
Chesapeake, Virginia1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The rooms were beautiful with the high ceilings, exposed brick, and cozy furnishings. All staff from the Front Desk Receptionists to the housekeeping staff were all very friendly and helpful. Loved that it was dog friendly...nice park across the street to walk the dogs! Great location...walking distance to everything in the historic district and the waterfront. Great lobby area for our large family to get together! Was very nice having an attached restaurant and cocktail lounge.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ronnie Jones, General Manager at East Bay Inn
Responded 18 Mar 2020
Thank you so much for this great review! We were so happy to have you with us while you were visiting Savannah. We especially appreciate you mentioning our staff and how warm and welcoming they were. It was definitely a pleasure having you all, and we can't wait to welcome you all back on your next trip! Until next time, Ronnie Jones, Innkeeper
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
markjanic wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
If this property upped the water pressure in the shower, bought new a bed mattresses and did a white glove inspection of the rooms biweekly it would be a must return. Great location, nice property and wonderful staff. Has so much potential.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Charles Stewart, Guest Services / Front Office at East Bay Inn
Responded 29 Jul 2021
Thank you for your feedback and for choosing to stay with us. We do our best to meet and exceed our guest's expectations. I apologize that we were not able to meet yours. First impressions are extremely important but we hope to have a second chance to host you in Savannah. Safe Travels. Sincerely, Charles Stewart Guest Services Manager The East Bay Inn
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Holly M. wrote a review Jan 2020
Vermilion, Ohio54 contributions39 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My mom, sister, and I traveled here this past summer for a mother-daughter trip. The location is a perfect base to walk to many of the city’s attractions while being close to the river. Value is excellent for the price. Everything about the place is charming — the decor is magnificent and the front desk employees were friendly and hospitable.

My room key kept not working the first day even after replacing, but perhaps that was because we were in room 325, which we learned is the main hangout of the resident ghost, Charlie. We had a good time chatting with the front desk folks about the unusual occurrences that happen here from time to time! Nothing creepy happened during our stay (although I did say “if anyone is listening—no funny business—I like my sleep!), and I had a really good vibe about the energy of the place in general. The third floor I think has higher ceilings than the other rooms, so sometimes that’s a cool thing about staying on a top floor if that matters to you.

The complimentary drink at the attached bar/cafe and daily lemonade was a nice touch, too! Would definitely stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from EastBayInn, Guest Relations Manager at East Bay Inn
Responded 17 Jan 2020
Thank you so much for this lovely review! Hearing how much you enjoyed your stay really means the world to us. Here at East Bay Inn, we take great pride in our "spiritual history" and we're always happy to share it with our guests. Thanks for humoring us! We're glad Charlie let you sleep! It was truly a pleasure having you as part of our East Bay family this summer and we hope you'll come back to see us again real soon! Warmest regards, David Scanlon Guest Relations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Trekki asked a question Feb 2020
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina122 contributions32 helpful votes
Do you allow indoor only cats? Thanks.
Answer from 903lynnetted
Sedona, Arizona22 contributions45 helpful votes
I agree with the previous person, call and see. They were very accommodating and I believe someone had a small dog while we were there.
Debbie S asked a question Oct 2019
Sarasota, Florida19 contributions4 helpful votes
how is the water pressure in the showers, I know it is a older building
Answer from Shelia J
Louisburg, North Carolina22 contributions7 helpful votes
sorry just checked this - everything is good at his place
Debbie S asked a question Oct 2019
Sarasota, Florida19 contributions4 helpful votes
was breakfast included with your stay the the East Bay Inn
Answer from SandyTripReview
Cleveland, Ohio7 contributions4 helpful votes
No, breakfast was not included. However, there was a great restaurant, B. Matthews Eatery, just a few steps away.
Debbie S asked a question Oct 2019
Sarasota, Florida19 contributions4 helpful votes
Has anyone stayed in the Patio King Suite and was is quiet also does it have a coffee maker
Answer from Erik B
Boca Raton, Florida9 contributions8 helpful votes
I stayed in November 2019 and they did have a coffee maker in the room. We didnt stay in a special room, so assume all rooms have them.
East Room has a coffee maker and a mini-Fridge... There are no microwaves in the rooms
Rick C wrote a tip Apr 2024
Grand Rapids, Michigan6 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The hotel sits on Bay St, historic Savannah central. Friday & Sat nights can get a little noisy. Did not deter my sleep. Just be prepared. "
Read full review
Griff B wrote a tip Feb 2024
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Complementary drinks at the bar. Also complimentary water, soft drinks, tea, coffee, and popcorn are available. "
Read full review
Ryan D wrote a tip Feb 2024
Savannah, Georgia37 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you are looking for an inn that is close to everything downtown this is the place to stay and the staff is superb!"
Read full review
Jim M wrote a tip Feb 2024
11 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"pets are limited to first floor"
Read full review
Jamie B wrote a tip Jan 2024
Forest, Virginia98 contributions63 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Debi’s restaurant (next door to the hotel) was great for breakfast!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Savannah area.
PRICE RANGE
₹19,020 - ₹31,894 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
east bay hotel savannah
LOCATION
United StatesGeorgiaGeorgia CoastSavannahDowntown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
28
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

EAST BAY INN (Savannah) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about East Bay Inn
Which popular attractions are close to East Bay Inn?
Nearby attractions include Nightly Spirits (0.3 km), Webb Military Museum (0.4 km), and Savannah Supernatural Tours (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at East Bay Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at East Bay Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at East Bay Inn?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at East Bay Inn?
Yes, paid private parking nearby and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to East Bay Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Chive Sea Bar & Lounge, River Street Sweets, and 45 Bistro.
Is East Bay Inn located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Savannah.
Are pets allowed at East Bay Inn?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to East Bay Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Savannah Historic District (1.2 km), Flannery O'Connor Childhood Home Museum (0.9 km), and Fort Pulaski National Monument (8.0 km).
Does East Bay Inn have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
Is East Bay Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Savannah HotelsSavannah Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in SavannahHotels near East Bay Inn
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday homesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire