We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Wilshire Grand Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

504 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 498: English reviews
Start your review of The Wilshire Grand Hotel
 Click to rate
West Orange, New Jersey
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

The most incredible room. Totally worth the cost. The bed was extremely comfortable. We had a Jacuzzi in the room. The shower was pure luxury. They left us chocolates and champagne. It was one of the best nights sleep I have ever had. Incredible.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Craig P
California, Maryland
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 7 December 2016

Held my daughter's Wedding & reception there in Oct 2016. Everything from arrival to departure was done TOP NOTCH! The rooms were large, clean and comfortable. The lounge was great for late night cocktails. The Wedding reception was fabulous and the food was phenomenal and my daughter and her husband couldn't be more pleased. The hotel staff was very friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank BillFenn2673
About Hotel's Favourite Review
service1, General Manager at The Wilshire Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear BillFenn2673, Thank you very much for your kind words and for memorializing your review with TripAdvisor. Our team works diligently to insure every guest is happy with their experience with us. They will share in my happiness that things went so well for you and your family and friends. Sincerely, Ed Reagoso, general manager

Charlottesville, Virginia
Reviewed 1 week ago

At the end of January of this year we booked a night at The Wilshire Grand Hotel and our confirmation from Expedia stated "Your reservation is confirmed. No need to call to reconfirm." However, on the afternoon of arrival at The Wilshire Grand Hotel at the start of April, they said they had no reservation in our name. When I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StarVoyage
service1, General Manager at The Wilshire Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear StarVoyage, I'm sorry for this experience. If I can help in the future please feel free to reach out directly and I'll insure this doesn't happen again with you regardless of how your reservation was booked. My team and I do care, an awful lot as a matter of fact. We are a small local business and we pride...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Normally I would have given this hotel four stars, however the walls were so thin that I could hear everything in the room next to me, which made it hard to fall asleep. Aside from that, the staff were very friendly and the rooms were spacious. I appreciated the refrigerator and complimentary water in the room. The breakfast in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JenHillJHCCS
service1, General Manager at The Wilshire Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JenHillJHCCS, Weekends can be noisy with weddings and other events being celebrated. My apologies that you were inconvenienced. I'm glad everything else went well however. Please don't hesitate on reaching out directly so I can insure we place you in a quieter area in the hotel on your next trip. And thank you for posting your review with TripAdvisor....

Millburn, New Jersey
Reviewed 1 week ago

After experiencing a broken leg resulting from my house being under construction, I was displaced and looking for a place to stay while work on my house continued. Larry Benus, Director of Corporate Sales, from The Wilshire Grand Hotel, was empathetic to my situation and worked along with my husband and me to allow us to stay at the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank blwoolfson
service1, General Manager at The Wilshire Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear blwoolfson, Thank you kindly for memorializing your stay. I know we all appreciate your nice comments and I'll be sure they are shared with the team and especially Larry! Sincerely, Ed Reagoso, Gen Mgr

Albany, NY
Reviewed 1 week ago

We loved this independently owned hotel. Kwatu, who checked us in was warm, welcoming and quick. He was also knowledgeable about area dining options. Our first floor room was clean, spacious and well appointed. Along with free wifi, it featured a coffee machine, small refrigerator and microwave. While we have cats that do not like to travel, we are animal...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank WanderingFools007
service1, General Manager at The Wilshire Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Wanderfools007, Thank you so much for posting this terrific review with TripAdvisor. We measure our service success on the results of our scores and my team and I TRULY appreciate the time you've taken to memorialize your stay with us. Sincerely, Ed Reagoso, Gen Mgr

Thomaston, Connecticut
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room was on the 2nd floor; one of the older rooms. Renovations were in progress in other areas. Room was dark; older furniture. Shower was difficult to operate! Bathroom otherwise was clean and spacious.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DianeMin4
service1, General Manager at The Wilshire Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DianeMin4, Thank you for posting this review with TripAdvisor. We are aggressively refinishing some of our guestrooms and refurnishing the hotel rooms. We make every effort to never inconvenience our guest during the process as we believe this must never happen. Our apologies if you were in fact inconvenienced but I didn't really hear you say that....It's my precautionary...

New Jersey
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Check in could not have been easier, really a total of maybe 3 minutes. Upon entering my room the first thing I noticed was the more than ample size of the space. Large bathroom also had separate heater if the weather was chilly. Bar and restaurant on premises made dining and relaxing worry-free with no travel necessary. In nice weather,...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank jerseyrick
service1, General Manager at The Wilshire Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jerseyrick, Thanks for posting this great review on TripAdvisor. We'd love to have you back. Feel free to reach out and say hi on your next trip please. I would truly appreciate the opportunity to thank you in person! Sincerely, Ed Reagoso, Gen Mgr

Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is fantastic. It seemed like they did a great job serving a two day conference I attended that included about 200 guests, give or take. I'm usually a Hilton or Marriott guy, but this hotel is fantastic. Much better at a lower price. They really know how to run a hotel and provided little extras the big companies...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 600bill
service1, General Manager at The Wilshire Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 600bill, Thank you so very much for this review. My team and I truly appreciate it when our hard work is noticed. I also believe we do it right, thank you. We don't pretend to be perfect but I know everyone on my team has the experience and heart to go the distance for every guest whether it's a...

Shaker Heights, Ohio
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for two nights for a family event which had been planned for months. When one of our party went to check in, he was told the hotel had cancelled his two month old, prepaid reservation the day before. Since he had the reservation on Expedia they took no responsibility for their action..not even an apology or an attempt...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank investmentguru
service1, General Manager at The Wilshire Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear investmentguru, I am so sorry you were disappointed. We did in fact insure that Expedia reached out and they claim to have left a voicemail which was verified but they claim the guest never responded or returned the call to Expedia per our Expedia representative. When rooms are booked through a third party there are limits in handling the...

472 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (94)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (27)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (298)
Viewed
Amenities (33)
Viewed
Handicap Accessible King Room (42)
Viewed
Presidential Suite (51)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Second Whirlpool Suite (49)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (32)
Viewed
The Hotel (32)
Viewed
Whirlpool Suite (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (80)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (32)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Orange
1.2 km away
Residence Inn by Marriott West Orange
1.9 km away
Courtyard West Orange
Courtyard West Orange
#3 of 4 in West Orange
204 reviews
7.9 km away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#1 of 1 in Livingston
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 km away
The Madison Hotel
The Madison Hotel
#1 of 5 in Morristown
774 reviews
5.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn
10.6 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Clifton / Rutherford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Upscale suburban hotel in the Pleasantdale section of West Orange. Featuring a combination of suites, kings, and double bedded rooms with the finest of touches and a sparkling reputation for service and cleanliness. We offer Free secured WiFi at speeds of 50Mbps, Free Classic American Buffet Full Breakfast, Complimentary local business shuttle, plush linens and oversize towels, our own green line of amenities with no plastic bottles that will linger on for fifty years and of course our free to guest lobby beverage center featuring 24 hour healthy waters, Folgers Coffee & Decaf, and Nescafe Coffee, Espresso, Decaf, Hot Chocolate, and Cappuccino. And of course our daily baked cookies, popcorn, seasonal home-made lemonade and our Sweet Shoppe for that quick snack. We're minutes from Edison's Historic District, South Mountain Reservation, NJPAC, SOPAC, and The Historic Wellmont Theater in Montclair. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Wilshire Grand Hotel

Address: 350 Pleasant Valley Way, West Orange, NJ 07052-2918
Region: United States > New Jersey > West Orange
Price Range: ₹ 8,939 - ₹ 20,922 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Wilshire Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Wilshire Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilshire Grand West Orange
Hotel Wilshire Grand
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Wilshire Grand Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Wilshire Grand Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a different hotel.”
StarVoyage, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for an updated room!”
DianeMin4, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms facing the back of the hotel will be shielded from any road noise.”
jerseyrick, 8 Apr 2017 | Read review
“First floor is the pet floor”
LadyDiVineland, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The hotel is pet friendly and has a fenced in ground floor courtyard for their business”
W5694WLbrianb, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5