We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,581 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,493: English reviews
Start your review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District
 Click to rate
Stamford, Connecticut
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel is well located in the historic area of Philadelphia. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. We were with two of our Granddaughters and had connecting rooms and it worked well for us. The rooms were very basic but we were so busy we were there only to sleep!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank erf621
John K, General Manager at Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District, responded to this review

Dear Trip Advisor Traveler, Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit to Philly and we hope to see you back again sometime soon. Thanks again. Regards,

HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 28 January 2017 via mobile

Not gonna lie. I love cemeteries. So I was very pleasantly surprised when I looked out the window of my room at this hotel and saw this historic graveyard right behind the hotel. Little did I know that it was pretty much one of the most important and historic cemeteries in the city ... including the final resting place of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank DaddySnake
About Hotel's Favourite Review
John K, General Manager at Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District, responded to this review

Dear Trip Advisor Guest, Thank you for the great review. I couldn't have said it better. We truly appreciate it and hope to see you back sometime soon. Thanks again. Regards,

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Close to Philadelphia's historic sites but disappointing hotel. More like a motel at hotel prices. Hair in the bathroom, stained grout in shower, cheap toiletries, wrinkly sheets, those awful industrial sprayed ceilings in the rooms,--just didn't feel clean, up to date, or pleasant. Very average. So many other nice choices in Phillie.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
John K, General Manager at Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District, responded to this review

Dear Trip Advisor Traveler, Thank you for your feedback. The issues you had with your bathroom are unacceptable and will be addressed immediately. My sincere apologies. Thank you for bringing them to my attention. Regards,

New York City, New York
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Staff is really nice; parking is convenient. The location is convenient -- just a couple of blocks from the Bell and some good restaurants. The hotel itself is clean and well maintained but is still older and lacks things such as a fridge in each room and ventilation in the bathroom. Walls are a little thin -- hallway noise and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pattycakesnyc
John K, General Manager at Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District, responded to this review

Dear Trip Advisor Guest, Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay for the most part. We appreciate you candor and your message will be shared with the rest of the team. Thank you again. Regards,

Wilkes Barre
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

This hotel was very nice. The check in process was very smooth. There is a large parking garage right in site that you can pay $37 per day to park in. It is big enough that we never had a problem securing a spot and could come in and out as we chose. The room itself was nice...a little dusty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lynnef06
John K, General Manager at Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District, responded to this review

Dear Lynne, Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. My apologies for the ironing board issue. I'll try to find out what room you stayed in so I can have it replaced immediately. Thank you again and we hope to see you back sometime in the future. Regards,

Washington, DC
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights over spring break. We had two rooms for our family. Overall the hotel has been updated and is well maintained. Wonderful location for historic sites and restaurants, no need for a car. All the staff were very helpful especially the front desk, bellman, concierge and housekeeping! Would definitely stay here again when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scampbell2324
John K, General Manager at Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District, responded to this review

Dear Trip Advisor Guest, Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed a few days in Philly during Spring Break. It's a great part of town with so much to see and do. Thanks again and we hope to see you back sometime soon. Regards,

Corning, New York
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank patriciaaM4273XK
John K, General Manager at Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District, responded to this review

Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I was in and out of Philadelphia one night. Company booked this hotel since it was convenient to my meeting location. Staff was friendly. It was dark when I arrived and left so I didn't get to sight see at all and have no idea what the neighborhood was like. But it worked for my trip. I at dinner and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa M
John K, General Manager at Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District, responded to this review

Dear Melissa, Thanks for your feedback. Too bad you didn't have more time to spend in the city. This is a fantastic part of town for not only sightseeing but also dining and night life. Maybe you'll be able to on your next visit. Thanks again. Regards,

Lovettsville
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Wyndham while in town for a volleyball tournament. It was great that most of the team was on the same floor. It was a short walk to the convention center as well as a Starbucks and good restaurants. The service at the hotel restaurant was a bit slow. I think they were overwhelmed with the volume....

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank aprilp143
John K, General Manager at Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District, responded to this review

Dear April, Thank you for your comments. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and hope your daughter's team was successful at the tournament. My daughter played as well and had a great time. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you back next year. Regards,

Reviewed 1 week ago

I had a business situation to deal with and had to stop in Philadelphia. I called and spoke with "Paula" front desk staff at this hotel. She definitely went over and beyond her job of duties to assist me and I never stayed at this property. As I watched her do her job she was very pleasant with everyone that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank England I
John K, General Manager at Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District, responded to this review

Dear Trip Advisor Guest, Thank you for your feedback and kind words about Paula. She's definitely a gem. I will be sure to share this with her. Thanks again. Regards,

154 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (144)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (66)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4,690 reviews
City Center East
Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the nation's most historic square mile! In the heart of downtown Philadelphia Old City, 8 miles away from the international PHL airport, the Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District offers the best in Philadelphia accommodations! We are only 5 minutes' walk to the major historic attractions: Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, National Constitution Center and Betsy Ross House. Walk or take a short subway ride to Pennsylvania Convention Center.Visiting Thomas Jefferson hospital or Pennsylvania hospital? Reserve a room at the smoke free Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District in a safe neighborhood with 40 restaurants. Government offices within walking distance to the Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District include US Federal Court House, IRS, US Attorneys office, Department of Labor, FPS, Social Security Administration, FRB, Department of Justice and DEA.The Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District offers free WiFi and is conveniently located about 2 miles from Art Museum and Franklin Institute featuring Star Trek and Galileo the Medici and the Age of Astronomy exhibits. With short drive to Aquarium, New Jersey Battleship and Zoo, families will appreciate the central location of the Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District in Philly, Pennsylvania. If Market Street, Gallery shopping mall, and South Street shops haven't wore you out yet, King of Prussia Mall is only 30 min. drive. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Address: 400 Arch Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106-2120
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Price Range: ₹ 10,372 - ₹ 26,643 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District 3.5*
Number of rooms: 364
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Philadelphia Historic District
Philadelphia Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#34 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#46 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District staff and other travellers.
31 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (31)

Questions? Get answers from Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Both Arch and 4th streets are very busy, and we had traffic noise; I suspect a room facing the courtyard may be quieter.”
msrlswan, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“There is some city street noise so higher floors would be preferable.”
Hoosiercritic, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“They all seem about the same!”
Travelttomuch, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“upper floor rooms, don't worry, there are elevators available.”
anaidazulita, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors have better view.”
K1092MUdenniss, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5