We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sierra Lodge

Show Prices
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sierra Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

408 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sierra Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 304: English reviews
Albuquerque
Reviewed 2 November 2016

Stayed one night for fishing in late season. The room was clean and spacious, the staff was very friendly, and the breakfast was adequate. The facilities are aged but no problem. Only complain was that there was no elevator available. Most importantly, the price was unbeatable. Thank you Sierra Lodge, I would stay again next time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kevinbiy
sierralodge, Manager at Sierra Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay. We are very glad to hear you found the property a Great Value. Sierra Lodge is consistently among the most economically priced hotels in Mammoth Lakes and we work hard to make guests feel as though they have received a value. On your next stay please request a room on...

Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for the weekend after a football game. It is clean, just old. It probably hasn't been Reda one since the 80's. Helpful staff , but old. Old spa, old carpets, old everything. With a little help, would be nice

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Erik P
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

My husband and I spent 2 nights in Sierra lodge. The room was really specious, clean and comfy. The breakfast was nice but they need to fix the toasters (only 1 is working out of 4) and also make sure to take out the trash while it is piling up. Nice staff :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tal S
sierralodge, Manager at Sierra Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay at Sierra Lodge. I am glad to hear you found the rooms spacious, clean and comfy. I apologize for the toasters. There were a couple of days when, as you said, we had only one functioning. We had ordered 2 new ones and the delivery took longer than expected. The...

Lake Arrowhead, California
Reviewed 13 October 2016

This is an older property in a decent location but could use a little TLC to bring back to it's former glory. Our faucet was broken and the bedding and room decor was dated. This could be a gem again with a little modernization.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 2inArrowhead
sierralodge, Manager at Sierra Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are working on updates for our soft goods (bedding) and décor. I am sorry to here your faucet was broken. I hope you called our staff to fix this for you. We do hope to see you again.

Wollaston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed here a few nights ago - on a long road trip so can only compare with similar type hotels. Easy check in - room large and plenty of space, huge bathroom and vanity area but it was quite dated as was rest of hotel, also room was very dark. There were also no coffee making facilities in room. Breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank NorthantsAquababe
sierralodge, Manager at Sierra Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We have plans to update our bedding in all the guest rooms, bringing the rooms to a more modernized, yet comfy look and feal. While we do not have coffee makers in the guest rooms our staff is available to make coffee for our guests at any time. We are glad to hear you found...

Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 20 September 2016

I have lived in Mammoth Lakes for many years ago and was managing another location. When we went back to Mammoth we did not stay at my old place but stayed at Sierra Lodge and loved it. The rooms were nice, big and clean and had a little kitchen area. There was a balcony out to the little grassy back...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank susannorby
sierralodge, Manager at Sierra Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of you recent stay at Sierra Lodge. It comes with a special added value since you have managed another lodging property in the area. We are very glad to hear you were very satisfied with your stay and we hope to see you again.

Ojai
Reviewed 17 September 2016

Very large room, more like a studio apartment, with private balcony. King bed with 2 side tables & lamps, small sofa with good light, table and chairs, kitchenette, large dressing area with lots of hanging space and long counters, good sized bath. No AC but big fan & slider. Convenient parking. Good location back a bit from highway; nice for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathy984
sierralodge, General Manager at Sierra Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for such a thorough review of your recent stay with us. Rest assured, while we do not have recycle receptacles in the guest rooms, our housekeeping staff separates all recycled goods. Thank you for recognizing the friendliness of our staff, large room, balcony (note not all rooms have balconies) and other room amenities, We work hard to make...

Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

The hotel is clean and tidy. It is relatively basic but does the job and it was reasonably priced given the expense of accommodation generally here. We booked a two bedroom room but note this means one bedroom which can be closed and the other in open plan with a separate lounge. We are travelling as two couples and so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin G
Paonia, Colorado
Reviewed 1 September 2016

Then rooms are large, and nice to have a kitchenette and lots of room for gear. Decor hasn't been updated, carpets and paint show wear. Nice location within walking distance of The Village and good eateries.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank echozx65
South Lake Tahoe, California
Reviewed 30 August 2016

Very friendly staff, nice kitchen set up, big rooms, covered parking... Great close access to the Village, great bandstand in Village, good weekend events, close to Devils Postpile, and of course bikers Heaven!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 2014CostaRica

127 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (120)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
0.9 km away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
789 reviews
5.6 km away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,293 reviews
0.5 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
774 reviews
1.6 km away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#9 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
508 reviews
1.0 km away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#2 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are Mammoth's first 100% non-smoking hotel. Perfectly located near the slopes (1.5 miles), in the middle of town, we offer affordable, clean rooms and great hospitality. Amenities include free WI-FI, free continental breakfast, cable TV, kitchenette, telephone, hairdryer, outdoor spa, and underground parking. We are located .75 miles from the new Village and the Village gondola and walking distance to restaurants and shops. Yosemite and Tioga Pass are 45 miles from our hotel in the summer. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sierra Lodge

Address: 3540 Main Street, P.O. Box 9228, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Region: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Price Range: ₹ 6,418 - ₹ 10,631 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sierra Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Sierra Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Sierra Mammoth Lakes
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#3 Green Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sierra Lodge staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Oceanside, California
Sunnyvale, California
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Sierra Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Mountan view-”
dancD4024YC, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“First floor rooms (100 series) are on same level as outdoor parking”
Kathy984, 17 Sep 2016 | Read review
“2 bedroom has lots of room and balcony”
2014CostaRica, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“top floor will not have anyone above you”
Evelina62, 16 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Stay away from room 111 and neighboring ones because it is adjacent to the jacuzzi: you'll have the noise and can't open your curtains.”
robertzimbardo, 7 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5