We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Vagabond Inn Ventura

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Vagabond Inn Ventura
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

310 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Vagabond Inn Ventura
See the most recent reviews
Showing 296: English reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2016

I booked this hotel with the help of the amazing lady named Deborah. Debby was super helpful and was able to give me the best room to accommodate my mom's needs. She also is just a sweet person in overall ready to help any minute! I would def come back just because of her! I was pleasantly surprised with the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lola Elena S
Herriman, United States
Reviewed 19 July 2016

We loved our stay at Vagabond in Ventura. We have 2 fur babies we travel with and it was exactly what we always need. Close to the beach and to main street. Nice restaurant for breakfast each morning. The best part is affordable.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sheli C
Paso Robles, California
Reviewed 18 July 2016 via mobile

This was a last minute trip to Ventura and we thought that we would give this place a try. Crap!! Cigarette burns all over the carpet. Room reeked of cigarettes. Someone else's hair in the bathroom. TV didn't work. We will never stay at this place again. Need I say more.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jpauly11
MaroneeBaker, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

I checked to see what room you had. That room used to be a smoking room and is scheduled to have the carpet removed and we will put in wood laminate flooring. The flooring company came in yesterday to give us a cost per room on those. You were not assigned that room, but when you came in, the room...

Reviewed 15 July 2016 via mobile

Friendly staff. Clean spacious room. Would definitely stay here again and definitely recommend. Ventura peir within walking distance. Trolley nearby. Great food nearby. Resteraunt on location, great staff. Close to downtown. Wish we could gave stayed longer.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sasharose4ever
Lancaster
Reviewed 12 July 2016

Parking can be difficult. No permit needed saw other cars park and go to the restaurant across the street. Free breakfast isn't much. There are bums in the area. A quick walk to the pier which is nice.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Z833LZmichellea
Marcus Hook, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 3 July 2016

My husband and I came out here from Philly for a work deal in the beginning of the week, hotel paid for by them. After check out we had no plan, no agenda and no reservations anywhere...it was a holiday weekend. We were resigned to have to sleep on a beach if we had to. After a few hours of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dellacurley
Rancho Cordova
Reviewed 28 June 2016

Great pool & hot tub. Can walk out the back of hotel and over the walking bridge to the pier. Room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast is basic packaged pastries, but also had locally made scones that were great!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joanne C
Wildomar, California
Reviewed 28 June 2016

Glad to get away from the inland heat! Relaxing, restful sleep in a comfy bed! Helpful and courteous front desk. Morning coffee, fruit, and muffins. Easy walking to the pier. Our place to stay when we're in Ventura! Thanks.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank christineaW9970IS
Reviewed 28 June 2016

a few things I like - location : close to the harbor, restaurants, gas station, and 101. Less than 1 hr to universal studio - practical and comfortable. This is not a luxury hotel, but it's surprisingly comfortable. And the kids love the bunk beds. - friendly staff, and very patient things I don't like - the parking lot fill...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hong C
Santa Cruz, California
Reviewed 27 June 2016

I have stayed at this hotel for the past 5 years and every time the facilities & help gets worse. We paid premium weekend rates and did not even get our room cleaned. The tap water smells like rotten eggs, there is not enough parking for guests on Saturdays and the 10 pm curfew for noise and pool use is...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 357charliel

80 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (61)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ventura hotels
0.1 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura
0.1 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura
0.4 km away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 22 in Ventura
1,035 reviews
0.7 km away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
1.7 km away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 22 in Ventura
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in Historic Downtown Ventura, the Vagabond Inn is walking distance to the shops, restaurants, theaters and more. Just behind the Inn is a footbridge that takes you to the Ventura Pier and Promenade to the right and to San BuenaVentura State Beach to the left (where you will find the famous Jolly Oyster!) ... more   less 

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Ventura

Address: 756 E Thompson Blvd, Ventura, CA 93001
Region: United States > California > Ventura
Price Range: ₹ 5,366 - ₹ 11,322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Vagabond Inn Ventura 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Vagabond Inn Ventura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn Ventura Hotel Ventura
Vagabond Hotel Ventura
Ventura Vagabond Hotel
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ventura
#4 Business Hotel in Ventura
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ventura
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Vagabond Inn Ventura staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Check the window. Check the carpet with a bare foot or put down a tissue and step on it. Verify you understand the HVAC.”
 of 5 bubbles 176marilynj, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms along the back of the building seem to be quieter”
 of 5 bubbles 276JoeR276, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“None great room”
 of 5 bubbles stefnali2010, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the sides are best, the back of hotel is next to train tracks and freeway. Spencer MaKenzie's good food next door.”
 of 5 bubbles AlanC955, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I like rooms upstairs closer to the lobby. Seems most quiet in that area.”
 of 5 bubbles JUDYW797, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5