We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Watson Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Watson Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,071 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Watson Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,994: English reviews
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed for 6 nights in August 2013. Clean room and staff was very helpful. Beds were comfortable and lots of pillows and maid service was great. Great location - very close to Columbus circle - subways / bus. I booked this hotel because it had a pool which I thought would be great for my two teenage boys. Unfortunately...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Momof2boysTO
Jasmin O, Guest Service Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Momof2boysTO, Thank you very much for your review about the Holiday Inn Midtown on 57th Street! We really appreciate your feedback and are very happy to hear your found our rooms to be comfortable, and our staff to be helpful. We take great pride in our customer service so we are thrilled to hear you can see it in...

Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The rooftop pool is fantastic ! Especially if you travel to New York during warm seasons. It is really cool and cools you off in the day in a city that never sleeps. The lokation is very good. Close to Columbus cirkle with lots of shopping. Close to the Subway and very nicely situated to be able to walk in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bibs2013
Jasmin O, Guest Service Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bibs2013, Thank you so much for your positive review on the Holiday Inn Midtown on 57th Street. We really appreciate your feedback, and your comments will be shared with the General Manager! Please know we do have a concierge on site that is always more than happy to recommend restaurants in the area, for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Thank...

wollongong nsw
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We are a family of four -2 adults & 2 teenagers travelling from Australia, I had read previously on trip advisor to book the south tower as it had been renovated....!!! Signs up around hotel saying that the south tower was to be completed in october & the north tower to start in january 2014.... Wow what renovated? Is my...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank natned
Jasmin O, Guest Service Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this review

Dear natned, Thank you very much for your comments. I apologize that your stay with us was less than satisfactory. We have completed renovating the South Tower before the expected time frame, I sincerely apologize the signs are not up-to-date and thank you for bringing this matter to our attention, I will inform the department to take them down to...

Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

Being so close to everything and reasonably priced for NYC , so hotel was pretty good. Nothing luxurious. Clean with comfortable beds. The carpet in the hallways leading to the room made me fearful of what we had gotten into but rooms were fine. Concierge very friendly and helpful. Only negative was no bar fridge and no heavy curtains to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank FrayzL
Jasmin O, Guest Service Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this review

Dear FrayzL, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our property. We are very happy to hear you found our rooms to be clean and comfortable. Please know we do have refrigerators available but upon request, as they are not included with the room and are priced at $10 per day. The curtains in our rooms...

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights in August in 2 rooms. Before travelling I asked for a high rooms in a renovated part of the hotel and rooms close together. We got the 2nd floor in the north tower which was not the renovated part of the hotel, although in my opinion they were still a very good standard and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 413Sue
Jasmin O, Guest Service Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 413Sue, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I apologize that the room expectations did not meet your needs. Our rooms with two beds are full sized mattresses, which are a little bit smaller than a queen but we apologize if you found them to be uncomfortable. I am however very glad that we were able...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We were here for 5 nights in August. Having read some of the reviews before coming, they were mixed, but you have to have your own opinion and once booked and paid for there's not a lot you can do! On recommendation I e-mailed the hotel and asked for a high room, said we definitely needed a large room as...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank laneytop
Jasmin O, Guest Service Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this review

Dear laneytop, Thank you so much for your positive comments about the Holiday Inn Midtown! We are very happy to hear your requests were met and you found our rooms to be comfortable and clean. The entire staff here takes great pride in our hotel and are always thrilled to hear that guests can see that in our actions! Thank...

Chantilly, France
Reviewed 29 August 2013

My list is rather long... Where do I start... I stayed at this hotel 5 years ago, so I had no hesitation to book again, based on my previous, excellent, experience with the place. This time, I'd booked a so-called "Deluxe" room, which the receptionist described to me as fully renovated. I supposed the room was indeed renovated a few...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank muttivore
Jasmin O, Guest Service Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this review

Dear muttivore, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. My sincerest apologies that your stay was not satisfactory. This is disappointing to hear especially since you are a returning customer. I apologize for the inconvenience regarding the hair dryer and towels in your room and will send your comments along to the department heads. Please know housekeeping...

Quesnel, Canada
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We wanted an extra night in New York on short notice, and this was one of the few hotels available... I agree with other comments about the room being old and outdated. It was a good size, but everything needing upgrading. Was surprised by the double beds, as every other hotel seems to now be supplying queen size beds. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Richard P
Jasmin O, Guest Service Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Richard P, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments. I apologize that you did not find our rooms to be satisfactory. Please know we are currently renovating all of our guest rooms, which include new furnishings, carpeting, wallpaper, and more. Please know we do charge $3 per bag for storing luggage only if left...

Birmingham
Reviewed 29 August 2013

This is the last day of our trip in America and we've ended up here. It is awful. The bedroom is OK but the bathroom is absolutely terrible. It does actually stink of stale urine - like a male public toilet and the paper is peeling off the walls. We are tired and are leaving tomorrow for the airport so...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ClareBirmingham
Jasmin O, Guest Service Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ClareBirmingham, Thank you for taking the time to write your comments and giving us the opportunity to learn from your feedback. We are very sorry to hear your stay was not satisfactory. I am passing your comments regarding the bathroom to the Director of Housekeeping who will look into the issue further. However, please know we are currently renovating...

Reviewed 29 August 2013

I am staying here right now in room 334. New York is fantastic and I would recommend it to anyone. However, the holiday inn on w57th street has filthy curtains, smelly toilets and incredibly rude staff. I tried to access the movies two hours ago and got the message, access barred. Please contact reception. We have now contacted reception five...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lilclo
Jasmin O, Guest Service Manager at The Watson Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lilclo, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our property. We sincerely apologize that you did not receive superb customer service throughout your stay. I will be sending your comments regarding the cleanliness of our rooms to the Director of Housekeeping so we can look into the situation further. Please know we are currently renovating...

1,176 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (854)
Viewed
Room/Suite (234)
Viewed
View from Room (66)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (71)
Viewed
Bathroom (73)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (48)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
1:57
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (349)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (317)
Viewed
Amenities (25)
Viewed
Double Queen Room (71)
Viewed
King Room (61)
Viewed
Queen Room (63)
Viewed
Dining (60)
Viewed
The Hotel (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#279 of 467 in New York City
2,017 reviews
Upper West Side
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#314 of 467 in New York City
5,602 reviews
Midtown
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#286 of 467 in New York City
2,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#218 of 467 in New York City
4,653 reviews
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Central Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#343 of 467 in New York City
75 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#326 of 467 in New York City
6,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Midtown

Neighbourhood Profile
Midtown
This is the iconic New York that so many visitors imagine before they visit—spectacular skyscrapers like the Chrysler Building and Empire State Building, iconic public buildings like Grand Central Terminal and the New York Public Library, and the non-stop hustle and bustle of the city streets. Fifth Avenue is a shopper's heaven where you can find every kind of store imaginable, with fashion brands ranging from the affordable to the ultra-fancy. Visit the Rockefeller Center to experience towering Art Deco grandeur, and foodies will love the busy restaurants that stay open late in Koreatown. After dark, Midtown calms down a bit, but at any time of day or night it still feels 100% New York.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service

Additional Information about The Watson Hotel

Address: 440 West 57th Street, New York City, NY 10019-3013 (Formerly Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St)
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Price Range: ₹ 10,357 - ₹ 23,124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Watson Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 597
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity and IHG so you can book your The Watson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Midtown New York
Holiday Inn New York City
Holiday Inn Nyc
Holiday Inn Times Square
Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street
Holiday Inn Midtown Manhattan
New York City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Manhattan Midtown
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Watson Hotel staff and other travellers.
132 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (132)

Questions? Get answers from The Watson Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“HIgher the floor the quieter the stay”
 of 5 bubbles Traveller-NS, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“High floor - south tower”
 of 5 bubbles bri019, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors have a view and are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles familytravel38, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I would say to try to stay on 12th floor or above in the main building. It was pretty quiet during our stay.”
  • Beautiful Evening looking out at Time Square
  • Daytime View of Buildings in Time Square
 of 5 bubbles 641JoanO, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“King bed rooms are quite roomy.”
 of 5 bubbles palekh, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5