We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Panoramas (68)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,634 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,438: English reviews
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

Was a nice place. Now paper falling off walls and service is just ok. Can't say I would stay here again. Looks as if it needs a redo and some management. Building a brand around a flagship that seems to be flying at half mast. Couldn't even muster up free coffee like most hotels in the lobby on thanksgiving morning.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Physician005
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review

Dear Physician005, Thank you for sharing your experience. Your dissatisfaction saddens us and we hope to get the chance to change your opinion. We are currently in the process of renovating our hotel one step at a time and would love for you to return in the future. We take your feedback regarding the morning coffee to heart and will... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I've been wanting to stay here since it's opening, but the stars just finally aligned. I must say, I wish I would have made an attempt sooner. Great rooms, ours was a king sized bed with a terrace. Modern amenities, great, professional, attentive staff (John the doorman was outstanding). LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION. The hotel is in the heart of prime... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robhoss79
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review

Dear Robhoss79, Thank you for the wonderful review. We’re thrilled the stars aligned and led you to our doorstep. We take your positive feedback to heart and will pass along your sentiments to John and the rest of our team. It’s true, our Meatpacking District location cultivates a culture rich in art, history, five-star restaurants and much more. If you... More 

Level Contributor
122 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

The Meatpacking Gansevoort hotel is well located within a shopping precinct. It is a nice hotel with unobtrusive and polite staff, clean rooms and good functionality. The roof bar is inviting and cool for friends. the noise from the streets however fill up the rooms and the reception bar on the ground floor can be quite chaotic.

Helpful?
1 Thank Akin O
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review

Dear Akin O, Thank you for the review. We’re delighted you had a pleasant stay and will continue to consistently provide seamless service. Due to the bustling location of the Meatpacking District, it can be difficult to find silence away from the busy streets and nightlife noise. However, our team can provide a room that steers away from the streets... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

The hotel is modern and has ambition of being a designer hotel. Well, probably it is - however I must say that in general NYC hotels are for me dissapointing - overpriced, with small rooms. Our room was Deluxe room on a 6th floor. It was nice, not too big but there was a place for a couch. Decoration nice,... More 

Helpful?
Thank MagdaCK
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review

Dear MagdaCK, Thank you for sharing your experience. We’re glad you enjoyed your time with us. We apologize the nightlife noise kept you up. We know a good night’s sleep is important. Plunge Lounge is a hotspot and tends to draw a lively crowd, however our reservations team is always happy to move guests to a more secluded room. It’s... More 

boston
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Really loved the location. So much going on in this area within walking distance. Lots of restaurants. However, the downside was unless you were on the super high floors you hear eveything from the street. The rooftop bar was cool. I was a little disappointed with the fitness center in quantity and quality of equipment.

Helpful?
Thank sdvb09171020
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review

Dear sdvb09171020, Thanks for sharing your experience. It’s wonderful you enjoyed the perks of our trendy downtown location where the shopping and dining opportunities are endless. Due to the bustling location of the Meatpacking District, it can be hard to find silence away from the busy streets. However, our team is always happy to move guests to a more secluded... More 

Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We made hotel reservations at the Gansevoort Hotel in the Meatpacking District of New York City for 4 nights. A fairly good deal as you get a discount for the 4th night. However, it was the most expensive time to go as it was the New York Marathon and hotel prices reach the sky. For the 4 nights, it was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer Z
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review

Dear Jennifer Z, Thank you for sharing your experience. We’re glad you took advantage of our promotional discount – it’s always nice to save! Our rooftop also has an enclosed lounge area where you can relax and indulge in the city views and signature cocktails. We tend to attract a crowd that’s young at heart, however we welcome all ages... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed here one night to celebrate a birthday and had an absolutely wonderful time. Check-in was smooth and efficient, with our room available earlier than we had expected (check in is normally 3 pm, but they let us check in at 12 pm). Our room (a Grande Deluxe) was elegantly appointed and large (by NYC standards) with an exceptionally... More 

Helpful?
Thank Grey_JV
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review

Dear Grey_JV, Thank you for the wonderful review. We’re delighted you had a truly memorable experience. A night out with friends in Manhattan is always a good idea and we’re glad you did so while taking in our rooftop views. If you stay with us again we’ll point you towards even more nightlife possibilities in the trendy Meatpacking District. Indulge... More 

Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Checked in on Friday November 1, Checked out Sunday November 3rd. Room was small. The lighting in the room was very poor. It was very dark. The lighting in the bathroom was poor as well, made it challenging to put makeup on. Visitied the rooftop bar it was ok, but I dont see what all the hype was about. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jill D
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review

Dear JLW1176, Thank you for sharing your experience. We’re disappointed your stay wasn’t what you hoped it would be. We’re currently working on additional lighting amenities for the room, which will provide a well-lit place for applying makeup. As far as the nightlife noise, our rooftop is a hot-spot and tends to draw a lively crowd. We monitor our hallways... More 

New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I have always enjoyed the gansevoort, so when my friend rented a suite for Halloween we were excited. We were making a bit of noise and turned the music down and told guests to leave due to capacity constraints, but they treated us like criminals. The staff wanted to ask us to leave when my friend had reserved one of... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Hh1900
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review

Dear Hh1900, Thank you for the review. We are sincerely disappointed with the quality of service you experienced during and after your stay. We have to make sure all hotel guests are content, which is why you were asked to turn down the volume. However, we apologize for any misunderstanding or negative impression you received from any member on our... More 

Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
177 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

It's a great hotel in a great location. The rooms are a nice size compared to others in the area. Lots of great shopping in the area. The staff were accommodating and attentive. We tried the Spa in the hotel. It was just OK. Probably wouldn't visit it again. The feather pillows are way too thin. The minute you put... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Tom S
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review

Dear BlkBetty, Thank you for the review. We’re happy you enjoyed your stay at our downtown location. Exhale Spa offers various relaxing therapies and exercise classes. Perhaps a core fusion session would interest you next time. It’s great that our team provided a pillow that better fits your needs. Ensuring a good night's sleep can make all the difference and... More 

861 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (291)
Viewed
Room/Suite (49)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (60)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (26)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
0:32
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (106)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (528)
Viewed
Amenities (47)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (33)
Viewed
Gansevoort Suite (66)
Viewed
Grand Deluxe Room (31)
Viewed
Manhattan Suite (43)
Viewed
Penthouse - Duplex Presidential Suite (86)
Viewed
Pool (53)
Viewed
Dining (51)
Viewed
Superior Room (29)
Viewed
The Hotel (89)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
The Standard, High Line
The Standard, High Line
#155 of 477 in New York City
2,554 reviews
Manhattan
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
#86 of 477 in New York City
2,095 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#103 of 477 in New York City
3,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#142 of 477 in New York City
596 reviews
West Village
Soho House New York
Soho House New York
#290 of 477 in New York City
236 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#115 of 477 in New York City
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in West Village

Neighbourhood Profile
West Village
Stretching from Sixth Avenue to the Hudson River, the West Village is one of the city’s most coveted addresses. Full of trendy shops, historic taverns, and cozy restaurants set amid 19th century architecture, this neighbourhood has a unique old-world feel. You won’t find a more picturesque location in Manhattan. Without the traditional city grid layout, it’s easy to get lost here, but that’s part of the fun as you stroll down elegant narrow streets with beautiful brownstones. When you need a break, you can always stop in at one of the many quaint eateries or cafes to soak in the atmosphere, or head to the western edge of the neighborhood to enjoy magnificent waterfront views while taking a leisurely walk in Hudson River Park.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC Hotel, with breathtaking 360 degree panoramic views of New York City and sunsets over the Hudson River, is the first and only luxury, full service resort in Manhattan’s vibrant Meatpacking District. Gansevoort Meatpacking offers a chic retreat from the urban metropolis that redefines the world of luxury accommodations. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC

Address: 18 9th Avenue, at 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014-1202 (Formerly Hotel Gansevoort)
Region: United States > New York > New York City > West Village , Manhattan
Price Range: ₹ 17,660 - ₹ 51,684 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC 5*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Travelocity so you can book your Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gansevoort Hotel New York City
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in New York City
#108 Business Hotel in New York City
#142 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#179 Family Hotel in New York City
#182 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pay attention for staff on rooftop bar! Not always "correct" we discovered.”
 of 5 bubbles K4181GHchrisb, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask the front desk to be honest”
 of 5 bubbles karthick_sf, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I would ask for a room on one of the upper floors, because of the view.”
 of 5 bubbles Ny10522, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose A Room.....Well Any Room Is Wonderful At The Gansevoort”
 of 5 bubbles angelofolino, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Book Early”
 of 5 bubbles X7864FLmichaelz, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay