We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Riff Chelsea

300 W 30th St at 8th Ave, New York City, NY 10001 (Formerly Chelsea Star Hotel)
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Show Prices
Close 
  • Madison Square Garden
    0.2 km
  • 2 star hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviewed 2 days ago
Excellent holiday excellent location
I have just returned from 11 days here and the hotel isn't as... more
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

189 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 110: English reviews
somerset
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

I have just returned from 11 days here and the hotel isn't as bad as some of the reviews I have read. The location of this hotel is brilliant it is right in the middle of everything. If you have never been to new york I suggest a visit to madison square gardens the atmosphere is amazing and it's literally...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kildarechick4
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

first to our arrival someone was assaulted opposite to the hotel, the access stairs is uncomfortable with the luggage, the room is extremely small and at night a mouse is went to bed while sleeping . The front desk staff had non care to this whole situation. Definitely NOT recommended... Next day I change my hotel and lost all my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here whilst on a road trip around the states. The price and location were ideal, especially on our low budget. The rooms are nothing fancy, but they are clean and air conditioned which was all we needed for a good nights sleep. The showers and toilets are shared with the other guests, so you do have to wait...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma L
Hoteli-GentNYC, Manager at Riff Chelsea, responded to this review

You ROCK! Thank you so much for sharing your experience and leaving such awesome praise. Based on your detailed feedback, we have a hunch your are a well traveled individual which makes your commentary even MORE valuable (and flattering!). Please don't be a stranger and let us know next time you are coming back to town so we can show...

Makati, Philippines
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Check established hotels near this such as Holiday, Sheraton or Hilton, you'll be surprised the rate is almost the same. Carpet is too dirty, room generally not clean, heater is centralised, aircon not working aside from the fact location is not safe. DID I MENTION NO ELEVATOR! So if you are travelling with "long haul" luggages, you will not have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank angeloteves14
Hoteli-GentNYC, Manager at Riff Chelsea, responded to this review

Your criticism is appreciated. Feedback ALWAYS paves the way to improvement and we, no doubt, will be better because of your candor. We are happy to hear that you have alternative economical hotel options - we know how few and far between they are in NYC!

Flower Mound, Texas
Reviewed 18 December 2016

I needed to travel to New York on a slim budget and searched several properties that I was unfamiliar with. As stated, this trip was driven by low budget needs and booked a room at the Riff. It was only a few blocks from the convention center and the rate met my needs. I was surprised to find out that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jreger25
Hoteli-GentNYC, Manager at Riff Chelsea, responded to this review

A HUGE thank you for taking the time to draft such an honest and fair interpretation of your RIFF Chelsea experience. There is nothing more motivating or rewarding than receiving critical feedback (both good and bad) from those well-traveled folks who don't have an axe to grind, rather who seek to help you improve your business. #MoreLikeYou

Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

Coming to this hotel after reading all the reviews - I was terrified and pleasantly surprised when I arrived. I came in for only one night and the location was PERFECT! Literally what seems a block from Penn Station and an amazing pizza at NY Suprema down the street. There wasn't a remote for the the tv when I arrived...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle R
Hoteli-GentNYC, Manager at Riff Chelsea, responded to this review

You ROCK! Thank you so much for sharing your experience and leaving such awesome praise. Based on your detailed feedback, we have a hunch your are a well traveled individual which makes your commentary even MORE valuable (and flattering!). Please don't be a stranger and let us know next time you are coming back to town so we can show...

Reviewed 14 December 2016 via mobile

Recently stayed here after reading some good reviews on TripAdvisor. As a well travelled person, I was prepared for budget hotels and the cost of going "cheap". This hotel wasn't cheap for us but in comparison to others it was. After travelling for most of the day we arrived at the hotel as a couple and the room we received...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Louise T
Hoteli-GentNYC, Manager at Riff Chelsea, responded to this review

Your criticism is appreciated. Feedback ALWAYS paves the way to improvement and we, no doubt, will be better because of your candor. We are happy to hear that you have alternative economical hotel options - we know how few and far between they are in NYC! Also, on our website, as well as third party websites such as Booking.com and...

Reviewed 13 December 2016

Room was tiny and disgusting. They never clean anything, carpet was filthy looks like it has never seen a vacuum cleaner. Shared bathroom and you will need to wait forever to get a chance to use it. The plumbing for the water system ran around the room so throughout the night it would get HOT! There was an aircon unit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
Hoteli-GentNYC, Manager at Riff Chelsea, responded to this review

Bummer - we did not put our best foot forward. No excuses. This being said, your candor has led to numerous new standard operating procedures including an intense property maintainence program that allows us to address items like those you noted in your feedback BEFORE they become an issue. We sincerely apologize for not meeting your (or our) expectations and...

Puerto de la Cruz, Spain
Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed one week in the Riff Chelsea hotel. Booked a two beds room and it just fulfilled all we expected from a city like New York. Shared bathrooms were always extremely clean and the hotel is located near everywhere. Madison Square garden is just behind the corner. The only thing to complain on was the rug is a little...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Miguel G
Hoteli-GentNYC, Manager at Riff Chelsea, responded to this review

You ROCK! Thank you so much for sharing your experience and leaving such awesome praise. Based on your detailed feedback, we have a hunch your are a well traveled individual which makes your commentary even MORE valuable (and flattering!). Please don't be a stranger and let us know next time you are coming back to town so we can show...

Naples, Florida
Reviewed 6 December 2016 via mobile

Terrible, gross, horrible, unclean ! I am trying to get out of this reservation ,,,,,worst place I've ever seen. It's 11pm and I just checked in and am trying to move to another hotel Kaye and tired but I will not sleep on this flee infested bed !!! I'm not kidding most horrific hotel I've ever seen !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bentkey1
Hoteli-GentNYC, Manager at Riff Chelsea, responded to this review

Bummer - we did not put our best foot forward. No excuses. This being said, your candor has led to numerous new standard operating procedures including an intense property maintainence program that allows us to address items like those you noted in your feedback BEFORE they become an issue. We sincerely apologize for not meeting your (or our) expectations and...

210 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (113)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (51)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (73)
Viewed
Standard Room (38)
Viewed
The Hotel (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#387 of 463 in New York City
591 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#225 of 463 in New York City
1,485 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#318 of 463 in New York City
1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Flatiron District
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
#415 of 463 in New York City
430 reviews
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#264 of 463 in New York City
1,315 reviews
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#431 of 463 in New York City
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Chelsea

Neighbourhood Profile
Chelsea
Home to hundreds of art galleries, beautiful brownstones, and one of New York’s newest and most popular attractions, Chelsea is one of the city’s jewels when it comes to neighbourhood life. The contemporary art scene is an integral part of the neighbourhood’s identity, with gallery openings almost every night of the week and countless exhibits to explore. As a longtime hub of gay culture in New York City, it’s also a diverse district with a vibrant nightlife scene. The opening of the High Line, an abandoned elevated train track transformed into a world-class pedestrian park, gave this neighbourhood new life as a tourist destination. The High Line provides visitors with a tranquil, elevated space with incomparable views, providing an unparalleled way to experience the city.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Riff Chelsea

Address: 300 W 30th St at 8th Ave, New York City, NY 10001 (Formerly Chelsea Star Hotel)
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea
Price Range: ₹ 4,982 - ₹ 14,400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Riff Chelsea 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Riff Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Chelsea Star
Chelsea Star New York City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Riff Chelsea staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Riff Chelsea staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Again noting that there are rooms with and without bathrooms!”
 of 5 bubbles Jreger25, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Never, ever stay at the Riff in NY!”
 of 5 bubbles lorenew2013, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Bring earplugs to sleep in the City the Never Sleeps”
 of 5 bubbles RachelD793, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“ask for a street view ... you are in Manhattan !”
 of 5 bubbles GoneFishing911, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“room at back was quieter”
 of 5 bubbles thomas111765, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5