We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Riff Chelsea

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Riff Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
Panoramas (3)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

203 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 116: English reviews
Start your review of Riff Chelsea
 Click to rate
Youngstown-Warren, OH
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for one night while I was in New York and I don't think I've ever stayed in a hotel as conspicuously filthy as this one. The carpets were utterly repulsive, and the whole place had a odor that was very unpleasant. The room was so tiny that you couldn't open the door without hitting the bed. It was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cmsgreek
Clarks Summit, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If I lay in the bed and turned down the lights and only looked at the wall in front of me, it was passable. Thin windows, loud street noise, one rough towel, no wash cloth. Hallways, carpets, stairs absolutely horrible. Depressing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nycvisitor498
Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The room was so small I hit my knees on everything. Strange configuration, weird staff that were less than helpful. The hotel was well located near Penn Station but very little food options around. Hiking up a large flight of stairs with bags also difficult. Taxis are very nearby but the street is extremely noisy.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mary V
Willsboro, New York
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Dirty, loud, stained sheets,leaking ceiling and walls. Then charged additional fees for cleaning? $100? Then I found another $100 charge a few days later and had to deal with that Please go elsewhere!!!! Location is perfect but don't get tricked the reviews cannot be real.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Paul C
Hoteli-GentNYC, Manager at Riff Chelsea, responded to this review

Hello Paul, We are sorry for not meeting your expectations! After investigating this matter, we have found that you (or your guests) have completely trashed our group suite. That includes food, marijuana smoke, wine and vomit all over our bathrooms and also our beds. It was so bad, that we had to place this room out of commission for a...

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewed 3 February 2017

we arrived in the middle of the day and found a man in our room. He said he was a mechanic and was sent by the manager. I asked him to go and he said that I had to talk to the manager. After talk to him, the mechanic went off. But he could steal something, there wasn't anybody with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ThaisTuyane
Mahopac, New York, United States
Reviewed 31 January 2017 via mobile

My fiancé set up this stay and he said it was an easy booking and couldn't beat the price. All we needed was a room for the night. The room seems clean and it was quiet around us, couldn't hear people. Ir also had a tv and bathroom. The only thing was when we arrived and I notified no towels...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Michelle L
somerset
Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

I have just returned from 11 days here and the hotel isn't as bad as some of the reviews I have read. The location of this hotel is brilliant it is right in the middle of everything. If you have never been to new york I suggest a visit to madison square gardens the atmosphere is amazing and it's literally...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank kildarechick4
Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

first to our arrival someone was assaulted opposite to the hotel, the access stairs is uncomfortable with the luggage, the room is extremely small and at night a mouse is went to bed while sleeping . The front desk staff had non care to this whole situation. Definitely NOT recommended... Next day I change my hotel and lost all my...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mike B
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 January 2017

We stayed here whilst on a road trip around the states. The price and location were ideal, especially on our low budget. The rooms are nothing fancy, but they are clean and air conditioned which was all we needed for a good nights sleep. The showers and toilets are shared with the other guests, so you do have to wait...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Emma L
Hoteli-GentNYC, Manager at Riff Chelsea, responded to this review

You ROCK! Thank you so much for sharing your experience and leaving such awesome praise. Based on your detailed feedback, we have a hunch your are a well traveled individual which makes your commentary even MORE valuable (and flattering!). Please don't be a stranger and let us know next time you are coming back to town so we can show...

Makati, Philippines
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

Check established hotels near this such as Holiday, Sheraton or Hilton, you'll be surprised the rate is almost the same. Carpet is too dirty, room generally not clean, heater is centralised, aircon not working aside from the fact location is not safe. DID I MENTION NO ELEVATOR! So if you are travelling with "long haul" luggages, you will not have...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank angeloteves14
Hoteli-GentNYC, Manager at Riff Chelsea, responded to this review

Your criticism is appreciated. Feedback ALWAYS paves the way to improvement and we, no doubt, will be better because of your candor. We are happy to hear that you have alternative economical hotel options - we know how few and far between they are in NYC!

210 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (113)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (51)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (73)
Viewed
Standard Room (38)
Viewed
The Hotel (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#400 of 467 in New York City
601 reviews
Flatiron District
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
#428 of 467 in New York City
102 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#230 of 467 in New York City
1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#317 of 467 in New York City
1,299 reviews
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#435 of 467 in New York City
809 reviews
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#264 of 467 in New York City
1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Chelsea

Neighbourhood Profile
Chelsea
Home to hundreds of art galleries, beautiful brownstones, and one of New York’s newest and most popular attractions, Chelsea is one of the city’s jewels when it comes to neighbourhood life. The contemporary art scene is an integral part of the neighbourhood’s identity, with gallery openings almost every night of the week and countless exhibits to explore. As a longtime hub of gay culture in New York City, it’s also a diverse district with a vibrant nightlife scene. The opening of the High Line, an abandoned elevated train track transformed into a world-class pedestrian park, gave this neighbourhood new life as a tourist destination. The High Line provides visitors with a tranquil, elevated space with incomparable views, providing an unparalleled way to experience the city.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Riff Chelsea

Address: 300 W 30th St at 8th Ave, New York City, NY 10001 (Formerly Chelsea Star Hotel)
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea
Price Range: ₹ 8,115 - ₹ 16,558 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Riff Chelsea 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, Reservation Counter and HRS so you can book your Riff Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Chelsea Star
Chelsea Star New York City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Riff Chelsea staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Riff Chelsea staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't stay here”
 of 5 bubbles cmsgreek, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“close your eyes the entire time.”
 of 5 bubbles nycvisitor498, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't stay here”
 of 5 bubbles 273PaulC273, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Again noting that there are rooms with and without bathrooms!”
 of 5 bubbles Jreger25, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Never, ever stay at the Riff in NY!”
 of 5 bubbles lorenew2013, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5