We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
700 8th Ave, New York City, NY 10036-3901
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$165
View deal
Free cancellation until 28/08/22
Expedia.com
$163
View deal
Free cancellation until 28/08/22
Trip.com
$144
View deal
ROW NYC$171
Priceline$203
getaroom.com$210
View all 20 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (5197)
Dining (131)
Room & Suite (91)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-out
Updated 15/08/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 15/08/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#414 of 513 hotels in New York City
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Gold level
THE HOTEL The Row NYC hotel has pioneered a new era of individuality among Times Square hotels by meeting NYC's signature urban grit with grandeur. Row NYC transforms your stay into a completely contemporary experience - with a front row view to Times Square that's truly incomparable. Outside the hotel, guests have access to anything and everything Times Square has to offer - 24/7. Inside, the Row NYC is a medley of inspired New York City amenities. Learn about ROW PASS - included as a Facility Fee Perk!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Evening entertainment
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Salon
Parking
Wifi
Paid wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Telephone
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
633Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
257Attractionswithin 0.5 km
26185Reviews620Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 7,448
  • 8,313
  • 5,066
  • 2,680
  • 2,681
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
twebber2022 wrote a review Yesterday
Penn Yan, New York1 contribution
ROW is conveniently located in the theatre district and close to time square. The rooms are tiny, and offer no real amenities. The price is on the lower end, at least until they add on all of their fees. The staff can be a little cranky, especially the doormen who basically tell you that you have to tip them, and yell at you if you don't tip them enough. If they handle your luggage, or store your luggage, they will insist that you tip them.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from ROW_NYC_Hotel, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel
Responded today
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. It's great you enjoyed our location. However, we're disappointed your time with us was less than ideal and that you had such challenges with our rooms, service, and amenities. We care about the satisfaction of our guests so we'll be sure to address your concerns with our team moving forward. We look forward to hosting you again soon for a more positive experience.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
em3rsonB wrote a review Yesterday
Nice, France108 contributions36 helpful votes
Terrible service , rooms dirty , impossible to call the reception phones doesn't work First we arrived and got a dirty room , got down to see for a change, on desk attendant don’t even want to talk and just says going to call a manager , the named manager comes and tell us the upgrade we’re supposed to have is on condition in case they have it , but we were charged anyway 😧 and so he says he has a room but it will be a full bed till the day after to see if they change it for another Anyway to resume , no matter how calm you talk to explain your issue these people in and/or of New York doesn’t give a sh***t for your issues with them the desks employees will look and talk to you like you’re nothing New York is becoming today the worst place to go Avoid this hotel
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Get another one and maybe another city New York workers don’t give a thing about customers services
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from ROW_NYC_Hotel, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel
Responded yesterday
We appreciate the feedback, Emerson. It's unfortunate your stay in our hotel was less than ideal. We're disappointed you had such challenges with our team and that we couldn't assist you in every way. Your experience is not on par with the high-caliber service we're capable of providing so we'll be sure to discuss your review and feedback moving forward. Thank you again for the valuable feedback. We do hope to see you again soon so we can share a more positive experience with you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BeeinabubbleIOW wrote a review 13 Aug
Sandown, United Kingdom12 contributions23 helpful votes
The good things about this hotel is it location, security and concierge staff and the daily cleaning service. Not so good is the ridiculous low lighting in the corridors which actually put the creeps up me. The baffling workings of the lift (nailed it eventually and helped other guests who were frustrated and struggling) and the lack of mirrors in our room. They have flight crews staying here so I'm sure some rooms have a full length mirror.? The reception staff were not all entirely friendly or helpful. Although not terrible, I would look for a different hotel if booking again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from ROW_NYC_Hotel, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel
Responded yesterday
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, BeeinabubbleIOW. It's great you had a pleasant stay with us. We're happy you enjoyed our prime location in New York City. We know how important safety and cleanliness is, which is why we prioritize these aspects of our hotel each and every day. We're disappointed your time with us was less than ideal and that you had such challenges with our lightning and lack of mirrors. We appreciate your feedback and will be sure to address this with the appropriate members of our team moving forward. We look forward to hosting you again soon for a more positive experience.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Helen C wrote a review 11 Aug
Nottingham, United Kingdom49 contributions44 helpful votes
I paid for this holiday for my daughters 21st birthday. When she arrived she rang me in tears because they forced her to pay charges that should be standard or for services she wouldn't use. It now seems to be common practice for ROWNYC to hide the true room rate so it's a nasty shock to find the charges can run into hundreds of $. I asked the hotel to help but they refused. They bury the charges in thier T&Cs but a clear 'up front' room rate of all costs seems to be beyond thier capability. You have been warned, pay on check in or find a hotel that doesn't have these charges.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from ROW_NYC_Hotel, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
We appreciate the feedback, Helen C. We regret that you had such challenges during your time with us. It's unfortunate you didn't notice all fees associated with your booking. Our facilities fee allows us to offer additional amenities for our guests. The fee provides the following services: local, long distance and international phone calls; high-speed wireless internet access; an eco-friendly water bottle to use at the hotel’s water filtration stations; and printing services in our iMac lounge. In addition to this, our Facilities Fee also provides you with special discounts whenever you show your hotel key card at participating vendors. The information regarding this fee is readily available on our website, along with all third party booking platforms. We do hope you give us another opportunity to share a more positive experience with you soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jangs1193 wrote a review 11 Aug
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom32 contributions26 helpful votes
I have stayed here before a few years ago so when BA cancelled my holiday 8 weeks or so before we flew, I booked The Row as it was a similar price to our BA holiday through a different company. I then read the reviews and was dreading it a little as it sounded like things had taken a real turn since my last visit. My review, arrival fine - I found the front desk staff unwelcoming as has been said before on here, that said it was quick and easy to check in. I absolutely begrudge paying the amount of tax per night they charge - another negative but I knew it was coming! I don’t mind paying taxes but that really is excessive in comparison to other places! Our room was fine, I was travelling with a teenager and we had a room on the 16th floor overlooking 8th! It was big enough for us, bathroom was fine - could it have done with a few cosmetic updates? Yes, lick of paint and some scuffs on bits of furniture but on the whole it was clean and tidy, there was a comfy bed and casting available on the TV! I don’t need much more when I’m in the city! Air con was a god send given the heat wave and the cleaning staff were so nice! Room was cleaned every day and the girl who had our room even apologised for the room not being cleaned the previous day as she was off! Given youre in New York I doubt you’d spend much time inside when there’s so much going on outside anyway but I don’t think things are as bad as the reviews make out…our room certainly didn’t smell and having looked at a few places it seems everywhere is expensive nowadays so its about being realistic!! As for the corridors theyre dark but not scary/creepy its in keeping with the design of the hotel, gyms basic but then you walk so much in New York it maybe doesnt need to be state of the art! The lifts are what they are, press your room floor and go to the allocated lift…it was busy at times but we never waited more than a couple of minutes for one! I’d go back, its central and near the subways if you need yo go further afield…unless you’re willing to pay super money I would expect most hotels would look like this now! I don’t usually write reviews that are this long but felt some of the comments could be extremely off putting for people as they were beginning to worry me!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from ROW_NYC_Hotel, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to share this 4/5 review, Jangs1193! We're so glad to hear your time with us was so enjoyable! We're delighted you appreciated our clean and comfortable accommodations and friendly housekeeping staff. We care deeply about the comfort and satisfaction of our guests so we'll address all of your concerns with the appropriate members of our team so that we may improve moving forward. We strive for excellence so we look forward to sharing an even more positive experience with you soon! Have a wonderful day!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Wade W wrote a review 10 Aug
Washington DC, District of Columbia4 contributions1 helpful vote
The hotel is groovy and definitely very New York. We enjoyed it despite no hdmi access which is a big deal for us. Also we could have booked it the day of our stay for $120 cheaper than the super genius Bookings offer which made for an unsavory view of both the hotel and Bookings.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from ROW_NYC_Hotel, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to submit this feedback, wadesterk. We are always working as hard as we can to provide the best stays for our guests. We regret to hear about your experience. We will share all of your concerns with our team moving forward. We hope you plan on staying with us again soon. We'd love to improve your opinion of us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Monica M wrote a review 10 Aug
2 contributions
Pros: Location, close to everything and transportation Price Express checkout Cons: Elevator system is just a huge mess. Room barely looks clean Hallways very dark and sketchy looking No AC in hall or elevator I felt as if it wasn’t a true 4 star hotel. The time I asked for extra towels, the attendant was at least very nice .
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from ROW_NYC_Hotel, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you for submitting your feedback with us, J8884UQmonicam. We are always working as hard as we can to provide the most enjoyable of visits for our guests. We regret to hear that your experience with us was anything less than ideal. We will share these concerns with the appropriate members of our team so we may moving forward. We hope you plan on staying with us again soon as we'd love to improve your opinion of us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BroadwayChef wrote a review 9 Aug
Red Bank, New Jersey6 contributions5 helpful votes
Great location, but that's about it. The hotel has become run down in the last several years. Basic maintenance is lacking and cleanliness in the public areas is poor. They have refitted the tubs, and we almost broke an arm slipping in it, as it was fitted improperly and very uneven. There is no air conditioning in the hallways or elevators, so waiting for one (which took forever) you start to sweat before you are even outside in the sun. In the elevator it's even worse.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from ROW_NYC_Hotel, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
We appreciate that you took the time to share your feedback, BroadwayChef. We're disappointed that your stay in our hotel didn't exceed your expectations. We also regret that you weren't entirely satisfied with the quality and condition of our furnishings and accommodations. We care about the comfort and satisfaction of our guests so we'll address all of your concerns with the appropriate members of our team so that we may improve moving forward. We hope for the opportunity to host you again soon for a more positive experience.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JCCaf94 wrote a review 9 Aug
4 contributions1 helpful vote
Room size, comfort and equipement OK ; room comfortable. BUT Noisy A/C and thin walls ... still OK WORST and PURE SCAM TO ME : a ca. $40 additional fee per night not mentioned in the offer from reservation platforms. Check-in staff then blame it on you for not properly reading your contract. Indeed it is specified in the "contract" which you only receive after booking. So beware when comparing with other hotels ; what may appear as a good offer initially might end up into an expensive experience (we stayed 4 nights).
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
manny wrote a review 8 Aug
Singapore, Singapore35 contributions43 helpful votes
Row NYC is one of the more affordable hotels in the midtown area, and i had a reasonably pleasant stay there in 2018. At that time, it was understandably basic, but clean and is right around the corner from most theaters. However, the hotel has significantly deteriorated in the days following the pandemic. The lobby and elevators have a distinctly sour smell. The first room i was given had a bathroom with a strong stench of urine. I asked to switch rooms, and the stench of urine in the second room was far worse! I’m talking steaming subway elevator worse. I asked to switch rooms again and finally got a room which smelled normal. The furniture is very scuffed and chipped in places, holes in the bathroom door roughly patched and painted over, and there is mold in the bathrooms. At these prices, guests aren’t expecting the Ritz but certainly a reasonably clean, decent-smelling room. Staff are doing the best they can, but this hotel is in desperate need of repairs and a good enzyme cleaner.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from ROW_NYC_Hotel, General Manager at Row NYC Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
We appreciate you taking the time to share your concerns with us, Manny. We're disappointed that your experience with us was anything less than ideal. It's also unfortunate you've noticed a decline in the quality and condition of our accommodations. We care about the comfort and satisfaction of our guests so we'll address all of your concerns with the appropriate members of our team so that we may improve moving forward. We hope to see you again soon so we can share a more positive experience that our guests are accustomed to.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$186 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkNew York CityTimes Square / Theater District / Theater District / Times Square / Midtown West / Manhattan / Midtown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
1331
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Row NYC Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Row NYC Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Broadway (0.2 km), Times Square (0.3 km), and Come From Away (0.08 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Row NYC Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Row NYC Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Row NYC Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Row NYC Hotel?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Row NYC Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Frisson Espresso, Los Tacos No. 1, and Obao.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Row NYC Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Row NYC Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Row NYC Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Row NYC Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The National 9/11 Memorial & Museum (5.6 km), World Trade Center Memorial Foundation (5.6 km), and Hamilton Park (2.7 km).
Does Row NYC Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.