We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Leo House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Leo House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

667 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Leo House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 466: English reviews
Massachusetts
Reviewed 16 August 2015

I normally don't follow up with hotel reviews, but I felt compelled to do so for this one. The building as a whole is very nice and comfortable. The prices are reasonable, as they are a privately owned business and offer no tax on rooms. Everyone on staff is so nice and pleasant. A special thank you to the front...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Audrey K
Columbia Heights, Minnesota
Reviewed 9 August 2015

Given the wide range of reviews, I was apprehensive when I opened the door to Leo House upon arriving in New York on Monday. My fears were nearly completely unfounded. The staff members, with one exception, were universally efficient, welcoming, and personable, and absolutely no one was rude or incompetent. The room had recently been newly carpeted and painted -...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank RayBannon
Aachen, Germany
Reviewed 8 August 2015

We spend four weeks in the U.S. and we started our trip at the Leo House and ended it there. Our first room was not so nice as it needed renovation but it was clean and quiet and the bed was perfect. Furthermore, our luggage was lost by the airline when we came in and the staff working at the...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Momo04_12
Ashley B, Director of Operations at Leo House, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments regarding our customer service. Our staff members take their roles in our industry very seriously and try, every day, to provide that quality customer service, that our guests expect. We are glad that you...

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 4 August 2015

The hotel is understandably small in downtown NYC (but unusually quiet at nite). Nonetheless it's annoying to have common (bath)rooms. You have to go outside the hallway to take a shower. And the locks don't work most of the time! Frontdesk was friendly though, look for Jose Salazar, nice people.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Yun G
Gold Coast
Reviewed 1 August 2015

Leo house is located in the Chelsea neighbourhood of Manhattan. There is a subway (E line station 23rd street) in very close proximity which makes it very convenient when coming in from JFK or just getting around the city. Leo House is in an older building however this does not mean that the place is falling apart. It may look...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank CSJAMES
Shakopee, Minnesota
Reviewed 1 August 2015

CLEAN! Ok, this means a tremendous amount to me when it comes to a review - it gets a 5. Staff: 5. BEDS: Very comfortable and I like a stiffer mattress. But these were not overly stiff. Quiet: 4.... can't help door slams sometimes, they get away from everyone. And then - it's NYC. It's so noisy, the staff gives...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank sharkagirl77
Reviewed 22 July 2015 via mobile

I am well travelled and this is the worst hotel i have ever stayed. Stayed here for four nights with a friend from Turkey and the Horrible-depressing rooms, front desk people super RUDE (specially a girl named Vanessa), stupid rules (feels like you are in a jail or something) and the wifi is very bad. Location is good since you...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Hector S
Ashley B, Dir of Operations at Leo House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. i'm sorry to hear that your stay was not what you expected. We alway strive to provide or customers with the best guest experience during their stay with us. Please provide me with more specific information. I will personally look into what happened. I look forward to hearing from you.

Mississauga, Canada
Reviewed 11 July 2015

The rooms are SMALL. The front desk workers are RUDE. The management is INCOMPETENT. We had an issue late at night and only wanted to speak to the duty manager. We were told that the people at the door COULDN'T help us but also the manager was sleeping. So NO HELP and NO MANAGER. One of the employees told us...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank j0hnp13
Ashley B, Director of Operations at Leo House, responded to this review

Good morning, Thank you for your review of your stay. I'm sorry that your stay was not what you were expecting. You also stated that you were treated rudely by some of our staff. I would like the opportunity to speak to you. I would to have more details about your stay. This is something that we do not take...

Reviewed 10 July 2015 via mobile

We stayed at the Leo House for four nights and we will never gome back. The room was nothing like the rooms they advertise on the internet. The bed was tiny and terrible. Walls were dirty and badly painted. The bathroom was dirty looking and bathtub rusty. Nothing worked as it should have. Even the room was not we were...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank santomina
Ashley B, Dir. of Operations at Leo House, responded to this review

Good Morning, Thank you for taking the time to let us know what you though of your stay. i'm sorry that your stay at The Leo House was not what you were expecting it to be. I would like to opportunity to make things right with you. We always strive to give our the guests a great experience while staying...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 7 July 2015

I (with three adult family members) spent 5 nights in Leo House in June 2015. We'd booked it in March and were lucky to get space. It describes itself as a Catholic Guest House and it really suited our needs for a central, reasonable location on a first time visit to NY. It's in the Chelsea district, very central to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank missireland054

458 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (155)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (58)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (32)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (283)
Viewed
Amenities (74)
Viewed
European Style Double Room (15)
Viewed
European Style Double Room (Upper Level) (20)
Viewed
European Style Double Twin Blue Room (22)
Viewed
European Style Double Twin Room (21)
Viewed
European Style Single Room (19)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
Single Room (with Shower) (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (6)

Staying in Chelsea

Neighbourhood Profile
Chelsea
Home to hundreds of art galleries, beautiful brownstones, and one of New York’s newest and most popular attractions, Chelsea is one of the city’s jewels when it comes to neighbourhood life. The contemporary art scene is an integral part of the neighbourhood’s identity, with gallery openings almost every night of the week and countless exhibits to explore. As a longtime hub of gay culture in New York City, it’s also a diverse district with a vibrant nightlife scene. The opening of the High Line, an abandoned elevated train track transformed into a world-class pedestrian park, gave this neighbourhood new life as a tourist destination. The High Line provides visitors with a tranquil, elevated space with incomparable views, providing an unparalleled way to experience the city.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Leo House

Address: 332 W 23rd St, New York City, NY 10011-2289
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Price Range: ₹ 7,974 - ₹ 9,335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Leo House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Leo House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leo House Hotel New York City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Leo House staff and other travellers.
28 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (28)

Questions? Get answers from Leo House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher floor certainly”
83Andrew, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I think most rooms would be the same”
PammyM_46, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Know what you want and book it, if you are fine with a sink and a toilet for a cheaper stay you can share a bathroom off the hall way.”
56JulieD, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Upper floors in the back of the hotel”
barbsboyBoston, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The breakfast isn't available on a Sunday”
LukeUK_12, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5