Smyth Tribeca

Smyth Tribeca

Traveller (214)
Panorama of the King Deluxe at the Smyth Hotel
360
Panoramas (2)
Smyth Tribeca
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#73 of 503 hotels in New York City
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Centrally located at 85 West Broadway on the corner of Chambers Street, Smyth is nestled in the heart of Tribeca, where epicurean treasures and cultural riches are tucked among cobblestone streets, and industrial-era buildings coexist with contemporary architecture to create a uniquely urbane cityscape.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Paid private parking nearby
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Doorperson
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Soundproof rooms
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
City view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Boutique
Green
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Price:10% off room rate

Location

85 West Broadway, New York City, NY 10007
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
LaGuardia Airport
13.2 km
See all flights
Newark Liberty Intl Airport
14.2 km
See all flights
Chambers St
1 minNew York City Subway
892Reviews25Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 652
  • 149
  • 53
  • 24
  • 15
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Ludvig E wrote a review Jul 2023
6 contributions2 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have stayed at 5-star luxury hotels in NYC before but this 4-star hotel (how it couldn't be a 5-star is beyond me) is so much better and more value for the buck! A fantastic hotel and staff at the perfect spot in TriBeca, just next to subway 123, a block away from ACE and just a little bit further from 6 and R.

We will come back! They made our anniversary very memorable bringing us champagne and red roses to our room <3

What a amazing staff and the rooms are great and very modern!

We first stayed at room 604 but a plumbing leak issue made us to change rooms and the staff gave us a luxury suite instead (room 910). The suite had an amazing terrace with views over both World Trade One and the Empire State Building <3 Amazing handling from the staffs side!

Kind regards, Elebring family <3
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: 910 suite or 604 (twin double beds) are very nice rooms
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mark Pandaleon, General Manager at Smyth Tribeca
Responded 13 Jul 2023
It was our pleasure to host you and your family. The team was thrilled to hear about your special occasion and I'm thankful you decided to share it with us. We look forward to hosting you again!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
geoklein wrote a review Jan 2020
Los Angeles, California15 contributions37 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I was recently in Manhattan and wanted to stay in a hotel but not feel like the trappings of a hotel with gift shops and kids taking selfies in the lobby. Staying at the AKA made this Los Angelino feel like a New Yorker. I think the upper floors are inhabited by long term guests or owners. The bar is fantastic and the restaurant attached is also very very good. The staff are great, very friendly and very professional. My only negative comment is that you can't get a cup of coffee in your room, you have to go downstairs and go into the sister restaurant. A very small price to pay for a great hotel in a great location.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Abraham R, Manager at Smyth Tribeca
Responded 18 Mar 2020
Dear geoklein, Thank you for your recent review of AKA Tribeca. We are very happy to hear that our superstar team, always on staff 24/7 to assist with all guest needs, went above and beyond to making our hotel your home away from home! We strive to provide each and every guest with a unique and personalized experience that cannot be found anywhere else! Also, as you have kindly pointed out, our restaurant Little Park is a staple of Tribeca, offering American Cuisine inspired by Mediterranean influences. We would like to note that we offer Nespresso coffee setups upon request and will have this noted in your profile for your future stays with us. We appreciate your loyalty in choosing AKA Tribeca for your stay in New York. Please do not hesitate to reach out to us directly when your travels bring you back. Warmest Regards, Abraham Rodriguez Director of Operations
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RockyJohnnyB wrote a review Aug 2022
Norwich, United Kingdom336 contributions166 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Smyth Tribeca is an unshowy building in lower Manhattan, not opulent with frills but good quality and functional. My room was a modest size but very comfortable, good shower and internet. There is no restaurant, but plenty of nice bars and places to eat nearby.

I’m giving it 4 stars rather than 3 for two reasons. First is that the location for trips out to Liberty Island and other NYC sights was great, and the environment felt safe and relaxed to travel in foot. Second is that the guy on the door and one of the girls at reception were super helpful, which as an out of towner like me counted for a lot.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mark Pandaleon, General Manager at Smyth Tribeca
Responded 5 Aug 2022
Rocky - thank you for your attention to detail in this review and for taking the time to write it. I'm glad you were able to experience this little slice of specialness that is our neighborhood. It's a hidden gem amongst the hustle and bustle of Manhattan. Hopefully when you return, you can join us at our brand new restaurant Smyth Tavern that opened this week. See you soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Adventure33736203642 wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I want to say nice things because the people working here are very kind. However, I had such an unimpressive experience, particularly for the money paid.

I arrived after a long drive just after midnight. I didn't receive much help with my bags or my bike, which I learned they cannot store and it needed to stay in the room with me. Managing it in the elevator wasn't too fun.
Parking my car was chaotic - the lot is 24 hours but it does close the gates, it felt like a riddle trying to find the place, stand outside the closed gate in the cold calling them, and finally dropping my car.

Back in the room, it wasn't cleaned. There was a damp washcloth on the nightstand and a bottle cap with the glasses. They have limited amenities for food and I went to bed hungry (it was that or eat gummy bears).

I will say - the beds are heavenly. But there is no view from the third floor other than construction and street noise. There's also limited attraction to the room, it looks sterile and has an odd amount of closet space.

I cancelled my second night and went to a different hotel that was rated higher and cost slightly less, I enjoyed that stay much more. Plus parking there was $35 a night, at the Smyth its $60.

This place is waaaay too much money for what it offers - they should be charging half of what they are for what they offer. I slept in a dirty room next to my bicycle.

On the plus, the people working here are kind and friendly.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Diana Tzanis, Guest Services / Front Office at Smyth Tribeca
Responded 23 Dec 2021
Dear Adventure33736203642, Thank you for your feedback. We are incredibly sorry to hear that your were not satisfied with your stay and that we did not meet your expectations. The experience you had is not indicative of the level of service we are capable of providing. All of your concerns will be addressed with the proper departments and we will ensure these issues are corrected for all future visits. We would love the opportunity to show you the wonderful experience Smyth Tribeca is able to provide, and if your travels due bring you back to NYC, please reach out to me directly so I may oversee your stay.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sharron T wrote a review Dec 2022
3 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I didn’t plan on writing a review and this is my first review online. I normally just send the staff a review so they can make adjustments for the next customers. However, when I checked on this morning the gentlemen at the front counter was so nonchalant about my experience and couldn’t have cared less. The following was my feedback to them when I received an automated message about my stay:

Hi thank you for checking in. Quite honestly other than the friendliness of the gentlemen who brought us to our room and some of the front desk staff, this has been a disappointment. I would rate our experience a 2/5.

Here is why we have had a poor experience:

1. The couch bed mattress should be thrown away. The hard wire springs are so prominent it visibly protrudes from the mattress and if you simply place your hand on top of it, you can feel it. No one should pay to sleep on it.

2. I called the front desk last night to tell them about the mattress and asked that someone bring up more comforters so I could create a makeshift mattress so that I would not be in pain in the morning. The housekeeper brought me fleece blankets.

3. I called the front desk again and told them I wasn't cold but needed a thicker comforter because the mattress was bad. The same man brought me a bunch of sheets, a thin comforter and then told me he was on his way home when I called.

4. No one apologized for the condition of the bed or offered to change our room.

5. Today we put a "quiet please" sign on our door because we did not want service since we are here for such a short stay. We just walked back into the room to find that it happened anyway and my mother was very upset that someone touched her personal items.

6. Though we got housekeeping we did not want, the hand soap in the restroom is empty.

7. The place was only prepared for 2 people and not three. There are only two glasses, two robes and the couch bed was made after we arrived and it looked like someone threw the blankets on it with two different sized pillows

This is way too expensive of a hotel for any of the above to happen. I wanted to pay for a higher quality hotel so that we could get a higher quality experience. Instead I've slept poorly, and I am frustrated and tired.

I book this trip as a Christmas present for my mother and needless to say it has been a major let down
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mark Pandaleon, General Manager at Smyth Tribeca
Responded 4 Dec 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay with us. Your feedback is essential in our effort to improve our service standards. I apologize for the list of issues you faced as one of our guests. Please rest assured that this is not indicative nor the norm of our service standards. I would like to have an opportunity to make this right. While I do not want you to hesitate to get back to us, we will be reaching out to you directly to discuss your stay. Warmest Regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MaleehaK wrote a review Jul 2022
Malaysia1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The location in central Tribeca allowed for convenient travel to notable outlets and sights. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and we had a view of the One World Trade Centre and the Empire State Building. The toiletries provided were of high quality. The staff were polite and accommodating. Mario the receptionist, in particular, made our stay here exceptionally memorable. He was warm and friendly, always willing to converse with us, and was a highlight of our stay.

The only cons of our stay were that the walls were incredibly thin - we could hear the residents down the hall closing their doors and the water fixtures whenever someone showered or used the toilet. Also, the breakfast service didn't seem worth it to me as my sister asked for an English muffin and was given a slice of bread with jam. However, these didn't subtract from our stay here and I'd still recommend staying here.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mark Pandaleon, General Manager at Smyth Tribeca
Responded 20 Jul 2022
Hello - thank you for the great feedback. I'm pleased to hear that Mario was able to make an impression on your stay. He is one of our rock-star team members! We will certainly look into your breakfast experience and ensure our culinary team is made aware. Hopefully when you return you can experience our brand new restaurant Smyth Tavern, scheduled to open by August. I ensure you they will 'WOW' you with their menu. Please also reach out directly for your next booking so we can make sure the issues you had in your room during this stay, are avoided. Thank you again!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
997tadf wrote a review May 2022
Taconic, Connecticut5 contributions12 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My two sons, wife and I had a marvelous stay at the Smyth Tribeca last weekend. We were afforded a wonderful upgrade to a suite and the hotel is elegant, understated, very quiet, and right in the middle of the real residential neighborhood section of Tribeca. Two blocks from Zuckers bagels, Odeon, and a couple more to Frenchette and Weather Up. What more could you ask for? Staff is efficient and kind.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mark Pandaleon, General Manager at Smyth Tribeca
Responded 1 Jun 2022
Thanks for the fantastic review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the "insider" location. Would have loved to see you award us with the 5th star. Please reach out if there is anything we can do to better understand the issues.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jane S wrote a review Feb 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Smyth was fantastic!! Truly a home away from home. We loved the boutique feel in the lobby, the friendly staff and easy valet service. Having just come for a night we felt all the comforts of home. The room is well thought out, simple yet elegant furnishings. The kitchen was ideal - just enough and complete with a Nespresso maker that was perfect for a late afternoon cup of coffee on this freezing weekend. It felt open and airy, while cozy and easy living. The bedroom was very gracious with lots of storage and the bathroom perfect - equipped with a vanity, 2 sinks and an enormous shower. Truly the lap of luxury! Additionally we loved the bar downstairs! It was a perfect (pre and post!) dinner spot. Lots of couches, a fire place and a lovely extensive bar. Thank you to the Smyth and all the wonderful people who work there. We will definitely be coming back!!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mark Pandaleon, General Manager at Smyth Tribeca
Responded 7 Feb 2023
Thanks Jane for the feedback - really enjoyed reading your review. We hope to host you on your next visit to the Big Apple!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bettina B wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The AKA Tribeca is beyond wonderful. Rooms are larger than the avg. NYC hotel room and the service is amazing. It felt like home away from home. What absolutely made my stay a 10 is the service provided by Mario, the concierge. He greeted me with joy every evening, always called me by name, made sure I always had a bottle of water in hand, an umbrella over my head in the nasty weather, and I never had to open a door or press an elevator button on my own. Mario is beyond professional in service and appearance. Every hotel needs a Mario and it’s because of Mario that AKA Tribeca is now my home away from home when I’m in NYC.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Abraham R, Manager at Smyth Tribeca
Responded 18 Mar 2020
Dear U9517LLbettinab, We appreciate for your review of AKA Tribeca! We are grateful to hear of your fantastic experience you've had with us. Our team prides themselves on providing unique service that cannot be matched anywhere else! Mario, along with the rest of our lovely team, ensure that all of our guests enjoy a memorable luxury experience when visiting Tribeca. Thank you again for staying with us. Please reach out to me and I will be more than happy to personally oversee your stay. Warmest Regards, Abraham Rodriguez Director of Operations
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Asta365 wrote a review Sept 2022
Kent, Texas575 contributions324 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Really enjoyed my stay at the Smyth Tribeca. The room was very attractive, coordinated in a sleek design, using shades of gray. The bathroom was first rate with quality shampoo, conditioner, lotion, and soap. All linens were top-end. After a long trip, I was greeted with courtesy by the front desk staff. Special kudos to Mr. Nick D’Andrea, Director of Operations, who ably assisted me during my booking.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: The Hotel is on West Broadway - For “Out Of Towners” this is a separate street from Broadway, not...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mark Pandaleon, General Manager at Smyth Tribeca
Responded 18 Sept 2022
Thanks Asta for the review. Glad to hear a seasoned traveler such as yourself enjoyed the Smyth experience. I hope to welcome you back personally next time you stay with us. See you soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Catherine T asked a question Nov 2021
Hatteras Island, North Carolina86 contributions38 helpful votes
Do you have hard wired internet in the rooms? I need to host an important zoom conference.
Answer from Abraham R
Hi 93haydenr, Thank you for your interest in AKA Tribeca! With regards to your question, unfortunately we do not have a courtyard nor views of the Empire State Building. Based on the room type you may be interested in, we do have views of One World Trade. Also, we do provide standard speed wifi complementary to all guests. We hope to have an opportunity to have you stay with us. If you have any other questions, please do not hesitate to reach out to us directly. Warmest Regards, Abraham Director of Operations
Answer from DWNBRHM
47 contributions62 helpful votes
18
Answer from Camila A
Santiago, Chile29 contributions1 helpful vote
Yes! At least mine did
whywhywhy10 asked a question Mar 2019
Manchester47 contributions52 helpful votes
Does anyone have any pics of the current renovations and is the bar still open?
pjdobbs wrote a tip Yesterday
San Jose, California7 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"My husband and I like a firm bed, so this was one area that was an adjustment for us."
Read full review
KJMIreland wrote a tip May 2024
Cork4 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"A really great location - and the Chambers St subway is right on the corner!"
Read full review
Jeremy T wrote a tip Apr 2024
New Canaan, Connecticut4 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If the suite with porch is available its fantastic! "
Read full review
Scott W wrote a tip Apr 2024
Cincinnati, Ohio1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Subway access is literally 20ft out the door. "
Read full review
Angel A wrote a tip Mar 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Awesome place ! "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the New York City area.
PRICE RANGE
₹27,481 - ₹46,943 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
smyth hotel a thompson
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
AKA Tribeca
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkNew York CityTriBeCa / Downtown Manhattan (Downtown) / Manhattan
NUMBER OF ROOMS
100
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SMYTH TRIBECA (New York City) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Smyth Tribeca
Which popular attractions are close to Smyth Tribeca?
Nearby attractions include One World Observatory (0.4 km), World Trade Center Station (PATH) (0.4 km), and Woolworth Building (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Smyth Tribeca?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Smyth Tribeca?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Smyth Tribeca?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Smyth Tribeca?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking nearby, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Smyth Tribeca?
Conveniently located restaurants include Jungsik, Scalini Fedeli, and The Consulate Midtown.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Smyth Tribeca?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Smyth Tribeca located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of New York City.
Are any cleaning services offered at Smyth Tribeca?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Smyth Tribeca?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Smyth Tribeca offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
All New York City HotelsNew York City Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in New York CityHotels near Smyth Tribeca
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday homesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire