We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Super 8 Carlsbad

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Super 8 Carlsbad
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

277 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Super 8 Carlsbad
See the most recent reviews
Showing 271: English reviews
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here one night while visiting Carlsbad Caverns. Picked it because of cost. The hotel seems a bit worn and in need of new carpet and updated bathrooms. Rooms and bathrooms were definitely on the small side. But our room was clean. Complimentary WiFi worked. Mini fridge and microwave was nice. Beds ok size, but not super comfortable. No elevator.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sharron W
praful07451, Manager at Super 8 Carlsbad, responded to this review

I am glad that you found our rooms to be clean. However, I wish that your expectations had been exceeded in comfort, convenience, and quality amenities. We appreciate that you have taken the time to let us know how you perceived our accommodations. We hope to see you again someday and to transform your opinion of our hotel and service. More 

Travellers are raving about these Carlsbad hotels

Magnolia, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Prior to our vacation, I warned my family that we wouldn't be staying in a luxury hotel in Carlsbad. First of all, there are no luxury hotels and all of the hotels are overpriced due to the demand. A large area of southeastern NM and west TX is dominated by oilfield employees who need lodging. Like many travelers, we were... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mom23TeenBoys
praful07451, Manager at Super 8 Carlsbad, responded to this review

We appreciate the time you've taken to give us your thoughtful review. I am sorry to hear that you did not thoroughly enjoy the breakfast options, and I want to let you know that we take your suggestions to heart and are reconsidering to expand food choices. Your voice is very valuable to us and we hope you will return... More 

La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I stayed at Super 8 July 23, 2014. This is a typical motel out in Carlsbad. The price was right but most of the "price is right" motels are older. This one was an improvement over my last stay at the EconoLodge (yuck). People at the Super 8 were friendly. Bed was a tad uncomfortable but this is a quiet... More 

Helpful?
Thank AlumofCU
praful07451, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Carlsbad, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We do our best to maintain our property in order to provide comfort and relaxation to our dear guests. It is our pleasure to provide you a great value stay that was worth the value you’ve paid for. We will consider your comments More 

Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

We booked a room here because we didn't want to spend $200-300 for a room elsewhere and the reviews appeared acceptable. Major mistake on my part. Although the hotel staff was neither friendly, nor unfriendly, the hotel was dirty and in need of major repair. Outside the room, tiles were broken and the hallway smelled like urine and stale smoke.... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Sara P
praful07451, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Carlsbad, responded to this review

Thank you for bringing your thoughts and concern to our attention. We are deeply saddened with the very unlikely experience you had in our hotel. Your insight will be seriously taken and these issues will be immediately attended. Comments regarding cleanliness are our top priority and we will do our best to ensure that these will be handled differently in... More 

Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed here for one night while we were in Carlsbad to check out the caverns. It was expensive for a motel, but I understand that hotel rooms in the area are in high demand, and that seemed to be the average price in the area. It was only 15 minutes away from the caverns, had free breakfast, and a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jess839
praful07451, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Carlsbad, responded to this review

Thank you for your insightful review. We would like you to know that our rates are competitive and we always keep our accommodations clean and well-appointed to ensure a great value stay. Rest assured the comments you made will be considered in order for us to improve our services, we look forward to serving you again. More 

Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

After driving for 5 hours after work, the late check-in was simple. Sign this credit card receipt and here are your key cards to your room. The bathroom looked alright, until I looked at the hairdryer. At eye level, it was disgusting and caked with months of dust. The bathtub wasn't much better; I had to scrub the shampoo shelves.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon S
praful07451, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Carlsbad, responded to this review

We would like to express our sincerest apologies for failing to meet your expectations on our property’s cleanliness. Please know that your feedback will be taken seriously. The details of your comments will be shared with our Housekeeping staff and the rest of our team to ensure that these will be handled differently in future. We hope that you’ll give... More 

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This is about the second cheapest hotel in a city with way overpriced hotels. Room was freshly cleaned though these was some trash hidden behind the bed and the smell of cigarettes occasionally floated through the hallway. The continental breakfast left much to be desired and I had to clean the bugs out of the pool myself, but all around... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank mattchupman
praful07451, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Carlsbad, responded to this review

It is good to know that the accommodation we have provided was able to meet up with your lodging needs. We want you to feel comfortable during you’re your stay. Though we wanted to provide a great value stay, we are saddened that we missed on the cleanliness part. Please know that this details that you’ve mentioned will be addressed... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The room was quite good. The price was very high considering, but as one reviewer put it - supply and demand. The two staff I encountered were lacklustre at best. No receipt provided, sullen, lazy and inattentive. The breakfast was poor - no coffee, then only one weak pot was made and the staff member did not come back to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Fred B
praful07451, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Carlsbad, responded to this review

Thank for taking the time to share your experiences during your recent stay in our hotel. The least we want to happen was an unsatisfactory visit from a valued guest like you. We apologize for failing to meet you expectations regarding the staff services and accommodations we provided. Your feedback will be further evaluated to properly handle the areas that... More 

31 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
8.3 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 22 in Carlsbad
161 reviews
0.5 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Carlsbad
2.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Candlewood Suites Carlsbad South Hotel
2.0 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Carlsbad
3.9 km away
TownePlace Suites Carlsbad
TownePlace Suites Carlsbad
#4 of 22 in Carlsbad
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Super 8 Carlsbad

Address: 3817 National Parks Highway, Route 62/180 South, Carlsbad, NM 88220
Region: United States > New Mexico > Carlsbad
Price Range: ₹ 4,455 - ₹ 6,786 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Carlsbad 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Super 8 Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
Super Eight Carlsbad
Carlsbad Super Eight
Carlsbad Super 8
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Super 8 Carlsbad staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Second floor was quieter”
 of 5 bubbles dannyc690, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Our room faced the pool area.”
 of 5 bubbles GypsyWannabe90, 11 Aug 2016 | Read review
“all floors have steps either down to first floor or up to 2 and 3. Wouldn't think a wheelchair would be good here.”
 of 5 bubbles Eagleeva, 15 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Unless you are on a severely limited budget avoid.”
 of 5 bubbles noronwe, 23 Feb 2016 | Read review
“ask for 2nd floor room to avoid hearing the person above walking around, and for room as far away as possible from smoking”
  • shower ad
  • rusty tub
  • drywall tape
 of 5 bubbles 192KS192, 17 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay