We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Econo Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Econo Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

126 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 119: English reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

STAY AWAY!!!! THIS PLACE IS HORRIBLE!! 1st we get there and the room is DISGUSTING!! BLOOD, PEE AND POOP STAINS ALL OVER THE BED SHEETS!!!😷 we talked to tgem about it they changed us to 6 different rooms THAT WERE ALREADY BOOKED AND HAD PEOPLE INSIDE!!! the last time i went in i asked them "how do i know for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rosie A
EconolodgeCarlsbadNM, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Rosie A, Please accept my sincere apology for the problems you encountered. You deserved a comfortable and stress-free stay, and we did not live up to your expectations. I ensure you that what you experienced is not acceptable, and we will take immediate action to identify why we failed so we can prevent these issues from occurring again. We...

Cedar Grove, Wisconsin
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Last minute reservation for us . . . check in was smooth, a little rude (no thank you for being a rewards member), another one that was so-so ok with having a service dog. Customer service could use a little improvement. Rooms are all open to the outside - no hallways. Easy to unload/load.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JanetCat73
EconolodgeCarlsbadNM, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear JanetCat73, Thank you for sharing the details about your recent visit. We appreciate that you've taken the time to share the ways that we have impressed you and the ways that we can improve we want you to know that the matters you mentioned are being addressed to our management. I do thank you for bringing this matter to...

California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The lobby looks nice and clean, however; the rooms are dirty as reviews have stated. The most annoying thing was how loud the hotel is. You can hear everything your neighbors say and their tv as well. We stayed near the stairs and we could hear people run up and down.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wendy E
EconolodgeCarlsbadNM, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Wendy E, Thank you for your review. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced due to the noise level of the hotel. We strive hard to maintain a quiet and family friendly environment, but we can not control the actions of our guests. In the future, please speak with our front desk staff if there is too much noise,...

Blind Bay, Canada
Reviewed 14 January 2017

We have been on the road for 5000 KM and this was the worst value we have had for our hotel stays. First of all the cost is higher for this type of hotel here than anywhere else - should have been about $40 -- not $80. Asked the clerk about why and she said it's because of all the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MarinaSchoon
EconolodgeCarlsbadNM, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear MarinaSchoon, Thank you for taking the time to leave such thorough and revealing feedback. We take all reports of lacking service and your suggestions for improvement, particularly those that you have raised. We want you to experience the best value for your money, to feel comfortable, and to have your expectations exceeded; I hope that this will be the...

Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

I was told they had recently remodeled the hotel, so we stayed one night. Never again! Huge roaches! The sealing was falling down in the tub area and we wrren't comfortable being there. They did have newer light fixtures and sheets look ok but I personally can't deal with cockroaches.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tina A
EconolodgeCarlsbadNM, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Tina A, Thank you for bringing to our attention your experience and comments regarding your stay in our hotel. The room was thoroughly inspected the next morning and no cockroache were found and also the room was rented out, with no further cockroaches complaints. I want to assure you that we are thoroughly investigating this claim and that although...

Illinois
Reviewed 21 September 2016

I realize that this is not a high dollar hotel and do not expect the same quality as a hotel that is 2 to 3 times as expensive. But when I walked into the bathroom, turned on the light and saw a multitude of roaches scurrying around, that is not what should be happening in any public facility. Hopefully I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sherry
EconolodgeCarlsbadNM, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Sherry, Thank you for bringing to our attention your experience and comments regarding your stay in our hotel. The room was thoroughly inspected the next morning and no roaches were found and also the room was rented out, with no further pest complaints. I want to assure you that we are thoroughly investigating this claim and that although we...

Reviewed 30 August 2016

The hotel location is relatively close to the caverns (16 miles) however the room was below average. The room smelled musty and the bathroom was the worst part. The tub had large sheets of paint peeling from the actual tub. The door had been painted so often it couldn't open completely into the restroom.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ritterf1
EconolodgeCarlsbadNM, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave such thorough and revealing feedback. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best hotel around. Your concerns regarding the level of cleanliness and outdated condition of the facility will be addressed accordingly. Allow me to apologize for any inconvenience these issues...

San Antonio, Texas
Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

Apparently weak procedure for checking that a room is ready. Stayed the night of July 11. Light not working in bathroom upon 7pm arrival. Called front desk to ask if bulb could be changed. Arrived back at room at 10pm to find light had not been changed-- had to shower in semi-darkness next morning with bathroom door open to let...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DeeMBarr
EconolodgeCarlsbadNM, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our survey and share your experience! I am terribly sorry to learn that you experienced so much difficulty during your stay. It is through feedback like yours that we are able to quickly address housekeeping and maintenance issues. The fact that we've failed in this regard is very disheartening. On behalf of...

Vancouver
Reviewed 5 July 2016

They wanted to scan my driver's license, but since I was paying with debit, I didn't have to give it to them. I don't want a copy of my driver's license floating around. I already had my identity stolen once. And why should they care who is staying there just so long as they get paid? The patrons at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MBombardier
EconolodgeCarlsbadNM, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to recognize our staff for their exemplary work in providing clean and comfortable experience for our valued guests. We appreciate your time in sharing the details of your recent experience with us. I do wish that we would have exceeded your expectations of service and accommodations and I hope you'll return to enjoy...

Reviewed 20 June 2016 via mobile

Booked this hotel because it had a POOL. Drove 10 hrs with two little girls. Walked in to the lobby and the lady was on the phone complaining about other customers. Pool is out of service. Notification is on the desk (as if that could inform any traveler). She was rude to me and refused a refund. Told me it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jennifer A
EconolodgeCarlsbadNM, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Your review is greatly appreciated, though it is very disappointing to learn of the bad impression we made with the state of our accommodations. I am very displeased to hear that anyone was treated with rudeness or that any misunderstandings regarding your booking were not addressed in a professional manner. The standard procedure in such cases is to confer with...

129 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (53)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (76)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.9 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Carlsbad
2.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carlsbad
0.3 km away
Candlewood Suites Carlsbad South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Carlsbad
3.7 km away
TownePlace Suites Carlsbad
TownePlace Suites Carlsbad
#4 of 22 in Carlsbad
65 reviews
8.2 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 22 in Carlsbad
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 3706 National Parks Hwy, Carlsbad, NM 88220-5943 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn - Carlsbad)
Region: United States > New Mexico > Carlsbad
Price Range: ₹ 4,100 - ₹ 5,377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge 1.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Choice Hotels so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn - Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Econo Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Econo Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay away!!”
 of 5 bubbles rosiea910, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Better and newer hotels in the area for the same or better prices.”
 of 5 bubbles Ritterf1, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“inspect the room before you rent.”
 of 5 bubbles P6979PXkarenr, 18 Nov 2015 | Read review
“If you still decide to select this hotel, request for room nearby the lobby or front entrance.”
 of 5 bubbles 773eunicei, 26 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Don't book here!!!!!”
 of 5 bubbles jennifersA5139FC, 21 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5