We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mill House Lodge

Orbitz.comUS$ 116*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 116*
US$ 116*
US$ 116*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Mill House Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

104 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Mill House Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 104: English reviews
Belmont, North Carolina
Reviewed 22 June 2016 via mobile

First i would like to say the grounds was beauitful. We went in to check in she gave us our key when we could not find the room we went back in and she pointed us to a door. We went in to room 101. It was horrible. Dark musky. The windows would not raise. The steps that lead up...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Diane E
MyMHL, Public Relations Manager at Mill House Lodge, responded to this review

Hi there- sorry you had issues with your stay. We have to say that it is posted that no alcohol is allowed at the pool. Sorry you felt like teenagers on spring break but several people complained to the office about the noise, so we had to had to try to do something about the noise level.

Lumberton, North Carolina
Reviewed 20 June 2016

I booked this because it was fairly close to Dupont State Recreational Forest and had the most reasonable rates. I had three adults but wanted the most economical room so I chose the Jordan lodge. The room had 2 double beds, a small dinette table, microwave, small refrigerator and small gas stove. The room had a coffee pot and some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JGK930
MyMHL, Public Relations Manager at Mill House Lodge, responded to this review

Great! Thanks for the very thorough review and including that you were able to look at other rooms. We are always happy to let people see our other options when possible. Can't wait to have you back...we can help you get Biltmore tickets, too, if you need.

Reviewed 20 June 2016 via mobile

We needed a place to stay in the area for a DuPont tour and stumbled upon it since it had one of the cheapest prices for the area. It's only about a 20-30 minute drive to DuPont (which is about the closest you can get) and is also only around 3-4 miles from Hendersonville which has quite a few stores...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MelissaClaire93
MyMHL, Public Relations Manager at Mill House Lodge, responded to this review

Awesome- glad you are planning to come stay with us again! Thanks for the review and getting the word out about the property. It's great to be near DuPont. See you soon!

huntsville, United States
Reviewed 1 June 2016

This is a retro lodge but I found it clean and comfortable. It was very relaxing and peaceful. It was too cold to check out the pool or paddle boat but it was a restful stay. Beds were comfortable. I stayed in Dogwood in 2 bedroom, living room, kitchen and nice porch to sit with morning coffee. It is only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda P
MyMHL, Public Relations Manager at Mill House Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for reviewing us! It's fully warmed up now...come back and take out a boat! Glad you enjoyed your stay and had a peaceful time. :)

Ranger, GA
Reviewed 22 May 2016

If you're looking for relaxation, scenic beauty, and a clean, comfortable room, this lodge, located on a mountain lake in the charming village of Flat Rock, is for you. Rooms are classic mom'n pop style with kitchens and vary slightly depending on which building you are in. Check-in was efficient and included coupons for nearby eateries. (Note - office is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Belinda M J
MyMHL, Public Relations Manager at Mill House Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and glad you thought it was a good change for the chain motels! Good idea on the curved shower rod. Come back soon!

Birmingham, AL
Reviewed 17 May 2016

This quiet place feels very secluded, yet is not far from the quaint town of Hendersonville which has lots of restaurants and shops, and about 30 mins from Asheville. All the rooms overlook the pretty little lake. There is a "beach" of sorts, but no swimming allowed. The rooms are a bit dated and worn, but comfortable, and the bathrooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dokness
MyMHL, Public Relations Manager at Mill House Lodge, responded to this review

Glad you found the lodge to be comfortable and clean, and were able to enjoy the lake. We are slowly but surely working on updates. Thanks for your review and come back!

Anderson, South Carolina
Reviewed 8 April 2016

We expected rustic and possibly spartan, but we were pleasantly surprised when our room had a FULL kitchen, free wireless service, plus a porch facing the lake. It was a tad too cool for us to enjoy our coffee on the porch that morning, but we'll be back to enjoy it soon, and to take the paddle boats for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
MyMHL, Public Relations Manager at Mill House Lodge, responded to this review

It's always great when you are pleasantly surprised! Thanks so much for getting the word out. It's fully warm now so if you want to come on back, we'll be glad to have you. :)

Reviewed 7 April 2016 via mobile

We only stayed for 1 night, but wished we could've stayed longer. It was clean and had everything we needed. Nice kitchen. Wifi worked well. Staff was extremely friendly and the area is just beautiful, View from the lakeview building was amazing. Rocking chairs were a big bonus.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne D
MyMHL, Public Relations Manager at Mill House Lodge, responded to this review

Yay! Glad you had a chance to relax in the rocking chairs. Thanks for letting us know that everything was clean and that you had what you needed. Please come back!

Parker, Colorado
Reviewed 26 March 2016

Prices are cheap but quality is too. Walls are very thin and I could even hear the person in the next room. Housekeeping did the bear minimum and only emptied the trash. One time there was a bottle of cleaning fluid and another time there were cleaning towels left in my room. The two beds were both uncomfortable. One was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Debra G
MyMHL, Public Relations Manager at Mill House Lodge, responded to this review

We are so sorry for your issues. Did you discuss them with the staff before your check out? We hope you will give us another try- we don't want anyone to have a bad experience.

Reviewed 24 March 2016 via mobile

Immaculate accommodations on a quiet and serene lake. Close to Historic Hendersonville. Grounds well cared for. Our room was reminiscent of a 60s motel with an updated kitchenette. Lakeview was sweet.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly1005
MyMHL, Public Relations Manager at Mill House Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review! We like the retro and cute description!

43 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flat Rock
2.5 km away
CedarWood Inn
CedarWood Inn
#5 of 11 in Hendersonville
84 reviews
1.3 km away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
4.2 km away
Mountain Lodge
Mountain Lodge
#2 of 5 in Flat Rock
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 km away
The Cascades Mountain Resort
The Cascades Mountain Resort
#6 of 11 in Hendersonville
60 reviews
7.6 km away
Hampton Inn Hendersonville
Hampton Inn Hendersonville
#1 of 11 in Hendersonville
721 reviews
14.9 km away
Mountain Inn & Suites Airport
Mountain Inn & Suites Airport
#2 of 11 in Hendersonville
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our tranquil lake setting is a haven for those seeking lodging in a casual, family resort atmosphere with the unhurried pace of a mountain retreat. A perfect place for honeymoons, anniversaries, family reunions, small group meetings or a quiet restorative getaway. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mill House Lodge

Address: 1150 W Blue Ridge Rd, Flat Rock, NC 28731-9707
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Flat Rock
Price Range: ₹ 5,589 - ₹ 7,453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mill House Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Mill House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mill House Lodge staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Tryon, North Carolina
Charlotte, North Carolina

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Mill House Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 306 had a private porch overlooking the lake, a separate seating area inside with kitchen, modern bath and queen bedroom. Lovely!”
JudyS543, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“a room with a view is a good idea”
joeyeatsout, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“choose a room facing the lake.”
O9464YPangelaw, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Top floor rooms are best!”
Vgraddick, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“You may want to ask for a lake view.”
SueBee19, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
US$ 116* /night
View Deal
TravelocityUS$ 116
TripAdvisorUS$ 116
Expedia.comUS$ 116
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates