We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Red Sands Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Red Sands Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

552 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Red Sands Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 482: English reviews
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Reviewed 24 October 2016

I was a little concerned when we were given a room overlooking the highway. However, we all slept soundly and none of us had a complaint about traffic noise. The room was clean and comfortable. I would compare it to a Comfort Inn level room. The breakfast was not fancy but it was plentiful and it had something for everyone,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vatrips431
RedSandsHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Red Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We're so glad that you had a good experience with your room and breakfast, and we hope you'll visit us again in 2017!

new jersey
Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the Red Sands hotel while we were exploring the Moab area. Beautiful location, peaceful with little balconies and a lovely view, wonderful staff, and easy walking distance to several restaurants. The hot tub and breakfast were both wonderful. We highly recommend you stay in this facility if you want to relax after a busy day. Great value.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelwhenyoucan60
RedSandsHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Red Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are so glad that you used our hotel as a home base to explore this beautiful area. We hope you'll visit us again in 2017!

Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewed 16 October 2016

When I made the reservation in May for our October trip, I was on the phone for abotu 10 minutes making sure that we would have a room on the ground floor. We are on a several week driving trip and we have a lot of stuff. This hotel has no elevator, even though it is two stories. So we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bcwill10
RedSandsHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Red Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your customer service experience was not at the high standard we expect from our employees, and we will make sure to incorporate your comments in future training (especially with keeping track of bottom floor requests). We are planning updates to our property, so we hope you'll give us another...

Reviewed 14 October 2016

This was a perfect country accommodation. It is rustic, clean and perfectly located for travelers visiting the Capitol Reef, Escalante, By-Way 12 and Goblin Valley areas. The pet friendly room was modestly furnished and very spacious. We would definitely stay here again. We would love to sit on the patio with the fire pit and watch the horses another evening.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suzie H
RedSandsHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Red Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are so glad that you found our hotel to be exactly what you needed. We hope you'll visit and relax on our patio again soon!

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 12 October 2016

The hotel is just 10 minutes drive from Capitol Reef NP Visitors Center. Our room was on the first floor overlooking some red rocks in the distance. It was absolutely clean and quiet. The pool and whirlpool area was clean as well. The breakfast was good and the checkout very efficient.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ena G
RedSandsHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Red Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review! We are glad that you enjoyed the view and were able to relax at our hotel. We hope you'll come back to Capitol Reef very soon!

Nuernberg
Reviewed 10 October 2016

The hotel is a very good location for Escalante and Capitol Reef. So we booked 2 nights in advance. This was a good decision, the hotel was fully booked. Our room was clean and made good Impression. Equipped with refrigerator, microwave and free Wifi (working fine) we had all we need. The staff was friendly and check-in/out were easy going.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Traveller_mucnue
RedSandsHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Red Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed the amenities in your room. Please visit us again in 2017!

St. George, Utah
Reviewed 8 October 2016

The room was nice enough (even though one side of the bed had no lamp and the alarm clock had to be plugged in across the room) BUT they added a charge when we checked in. I reserved a pet room and at no time was I told that they would charge me an additional $15 when I checked in....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chuckhollywood
RedSandsHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Red Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! We're sorry that there was a miscommunication about our pet fee; we'll use your comments for future training purposes. We hope you'll give us another chance in 2017!

Hot Springs Village, Arkansas
Reviewed 8 October 2016

This location is convenient to the west side entrance to Capitol Reef National Park, as well as the start on north end of the very scenic highway along the Grand Staircase/Escalante National Monument. They were booked full, but the receptionist was extremely cheerful and helpful on dinner recommendations. The Hotel property and our room were very clean, comfortable and well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Korryn F
RedSandsHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Red Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We pride ourselves on our friendly and knowledgeable staff, so we're happy to hear that they were able to make your stay more pleasant. We hope you'll visit us again in 2017!

Sandusky, Ohio, United States
Reviewed 6 October 2016 via mobile

My husband and I are taking in 5 Utah Natl Parks. Staying in the Red Sands in Torrey is convenient for exploring Scenic Byway 12, Calf Creek, Homestead overlook, Larb Hollow Overlook along way. Another day trip can head to Capitol Reef. Room is clean and comfortable. staff friendly. Ok breakfast nothing special. Beautiful location and views. Suggest eating dinner...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank petuniasattic
RedSandsHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Red Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! We're glad that you had a pleasant stay with us and enjoyed exploring the area. We're planning updates to the property, so we hope you'll visit us again in 2017!

Littleton, Colorado
Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

We had a recent one night stay. Truly one of the most pleasant hotel visits on our trip. The setting is lovely with a pasture and nice view out back. The hotel is clean, quiet and close to Capitol Reef. We did not take advantage of the pool, but it looked inviting! The receptionist was friendly. The breakfast looked good,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Toni J
RedSandsHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Red Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are so glad that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed Capitol Reef National Park. We hope that you'll be able to visit again soon and get to have some of our delicious breakfast!

153 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (71)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
2:59
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (82)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torrey hotels
3.2 km away
Capitol Reef Resort
0.5 km away
Broken Spur Inn
Broken Spur Inn
#2 of 6 in Torrey
658 reviews
1.3 km away
Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge and General Store
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Days Inn Torrey Capital Reef
0.9 km away
SkyRidge Inn Bed & Breakfast
2.4 km away
Affordable Inn of Capitol Reef
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Red Sands Hotel Capitol Reef your gateway to adventure in one of southern Utah's most beautiful national parks. Red Sands Hotel's clean rooms, new plush beds, flat screen TV's and refreshing pool make it the perfect home base. Start your day with a buffet-style hot breakfast including scrambled eggs or omelets,(selections rotated daily for variety) sausage, waffles, cereals, yogurt, fresh bagels & breads, seasonal fruit, juices and milk. Of course we serve coffee and tea 24/7 at Red Sands Hotel for your convenience. After an exciting day of hiking through red rock, biking on endless trails, and discovering the beauty of Capitol Reef, relax at Red Sands Hotel! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Red Sands Hotel

Address: 670 East Hwy 24, Torrey, UT 84775
Region: United States > Utah > Torrey
Price Range: ₹ 5,568 - ₹ 9,760 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Sands Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Red Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Sands Hotel Torrey, Utah
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Red Sands Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Boulder, Co
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Red Sands Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Depends on what you want to look at, horses, pasture, mountains or the red rocks”
 of 5 bubbles kathybN4768ZX, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the south side, opposite from the road, look out on range land.”
 of 5 bubbles F6362PJjamesb, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask a room in the back”
 of 5 bubbles anectine, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get a ground floor room & when making your reservation get the name of the person you talk to or else you will not get the room you want.”
 of 5 bubbles bcwill10, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“from our experience, all of the rooms should be fine, but ones in back have better views, especially from second floor.”
 of 5 bubbles korrynf, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5