We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Residence Inn San Diego Downtown

Save
Traveller (47)
Room & Suite (24)
Pool & Beach (5)
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
Overview
  • Excellent43%
  • Very good37%
  • Average14%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“free shuttle”(25 reviews)
“great location”(71 reviews)
“shuttle service”(20 reviews)
Free Wifi
Parking
Breakfast included
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Free Airport Transportation
Suites
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Offers from Residence Inn San Diego Downtown
Special Offer: Member Rates
Hotel packages
Hotel deals
Offers from Residence Inn San Diego Downtown
Special Offer: Member Rates
Hotel packages
Hotel deals
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (398)
There are newer reviews for Residence Inn San Diego Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
386 results
Traveller rating
160
143
55
18
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
160
143
55
18
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree shuttlegreat locationshuttle servicebedroom suiteclose to the airportfree breakfastamtrak stationfire pitwalking distanceseaport villagehotel shuttleconvention centerfront desk staffgas lamplight railcouple blocksfresh fruit
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
151 - 155 of 386 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2015

First night, A/C made a humming sound every few minutes and didnt cool to an acceptable temperature. We were moved to another room due to a "broken compressor" and our room was comped for that night. Unfortunately, the new room didn't cool much better. Second...More

2  Thank Soccamomma1316
Response from Adam L, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego DowntownResponded 17 February 2015

Greetings Soccamomma1316 Thank you for taking the time to give us your sincere feedback about your stay at our hotel. It is obvious we failed you on many levels especially from the maintenance aspect of our hotel. Rest assured we are addressing the AC and...More

Reviewed 13 February 2015

Alaska air got us to SAN two hours late, and by the time we got a rental car it was after midnight. We had a ground floor room off the pool. Room was perfect size, very clean and comfortable. We walked to Little Italy for...More

3  Thank ORCon
Response from Adam L, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego DowntownResponded 17 February 2015

Greetings ORCon Sounds to me like you had a great and relaxing stay after your delayed flight. We appreciate your great review of Residence by Marriott San Diego Downtown. Please join again when your travels bring you to our great and beautiful city, San Diego.

Reviewed 11 February 2015

Hotel is walking distance to the convention center and all of the restaurants. Rooms are spacial and clean, sinks are located outside of the bathroom. Granite throughout the room and comfortable bedding.More

2  Thank Chris E
Response from Adam L, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego DowntownResponded 17 February 2015

Greetings Chris E Thanks for your thorough review of Residence Inn by Marriott San Diego Downtown. It appears you enjoyed all of our amenities including our great location. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to the next opportunity to host your trip here in...More

Reviewed 1 February 2015

The location is perfect - steps to the harbor and 5 minute walk to Little Italy. The complimentary breakfast is better than most. The staff are extremely friendly. The manager's receptions are light suppers with beer and wine. They even give you a fresh baked...More

2  Thank breeandcasper
Response from Adam L, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego DowntownResponded 2 February 2015

Greetings breeandcasper, Thank you for great review of our home away from home, namely Residence Inn by Marriott San Diego Downtown. It was a pleasure serving you and we hope to see you again soon. We appreciate your kind words about our team as well.

Reviewed 7 January 2015

I stayed at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown on my third trip to San Diego. The hotel offers a free shuttle for airport runs and to the major sites. All the staff we encountered were super friendly. The hotel is a block off from the...More

1  Thank dreamyr227
Response from Adam L, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego DowntownResponded 15 January 2015

Greetings dreamyr227 Thank you so much for your excellent review of all that we offer at Residence Inn by Marriott San Diego Downtown. Our ideal location caters to all the great attractions of San Diego. On a positive note, better signage is on the horizon...More

View more reviews
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Business Centre with Internet Access
Breakfast included
Airport Transportation
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Self-Serve Laundry
Room amenities
Microwave
Things to do
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Heated pool
Outdoor pool
Details
Price range
US$ 182 - US$ 494 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#67 Business Hotel in San Diego
Room types
Kitchenette, Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$ 182 - US$ 494 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#67 Business Hotel in San Diego
Room types
Kitchenette, Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (47)
Room & Suite (24)
Pool & Beach (5)
Dining (4)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
harold280
20 March 2018|
Answer
Response from sara b | Reviewed this property |
if i remember correctly, breakfast is 7am-10am, or around those times and the shuttle, i believe its 6:30am, but its literally 10 minutes away from the airport. i took an uber because the shuttle wasn't running, and it was... More
1
Vote
Enjoyingmytravels
10 January 2018|
Answer
Response from sara b | Reviewed this property |
parking is really expensive, you'd probably be better off parking at the airport.
0
Votes
sara b
31 October 2017|
Answer
Response from Jadybugs | Reviewed this property |
we were closest to the train and didn't hear them but I suspect if you are a light sleeper you may want to be further away from the train. I would just call front desk and put a note on your reservation to be furthest away... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Higher floors facing the harbor"
Read review
"Make sure you tell the taxi driver to take you to the right address"
Read review
"The North side of the hotel is closest to the airport and a bit noisier."
Read review
"Avoid this hotel"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing