We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Consulate Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Consulate Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

148 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Consulate Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 140: English reviews
South Portland, Maine
Reviewed 4 June 2016 via mobile

Might have been able to overlook the tube TV, cracked floor tiles, and coffee pot stuck in the bathroom, but the cockroaches on the vanity were a bridge too far. We cancelled the rest of the stay. Do not go near this place.

jatin935, Night Auditor at The Consulate Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry you had to experience something like that during your stay. Thank you for writing a review. Ken "Night Auditor"

Reviewed 2 June 2016 via mobile

Myself my husband and my 2 boys stayed here for a few days on our road trip. I was really worried after reading the reviews on this hotel but our room was clean. The furnishings was a little outdated but we wasn't there to watch TV. The hotel is in a good location with shops and restaurants close by. The...

1Thank Stella M
jatin935, (Ken) Night Auditor at The Consulate Hotel, responded to this review

We are glad to hear your stay was a great one at that during your road trip. I would like to thank you for taking the time and reviewing our hotel. Always to be of service and look forward towards your next stay with us.

Reviewed 15 May 2016

The view was great very quit by the harbor very clean will stay in the future!!! best price in town front desk staff is very professional they offer rides to the airport also free parking very spacious a lot of parking

Thank Kayshon A
jatin935, Night Auditor at The Consulate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are very pleased your stay with us was a pleasant one.

Concord, New Hampshire
Reviewed 13 May 2016

Great views of San Diego Harbor and skyline on one side; great views of Point Loma on the other side. Great personable staff, especially Julio and manager. Ask for special rate if you're staying longer or repeated visits.

Thank ken v
jatin935, NIGHT AUDITOR at The Consulate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We look forward towards your next stay with us. Ken

Ramstein-Miesenbach, Germany
Reviewed 19 April 2016 via mobile

My parents got a room for the weekend which was included with a Hotwire package including airfare and hotel accommodations at The Consulate Hotel. When we arrived at this establishments lobby, I was reminisced of a similar ambiance from that of a foreign country (not Europe). We got off the elevator only to hear an awful noise coming from the...

jatin935, Front Office Manager at The Consulate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear wemyouk we are sorry to read that you had such bad experience.we will make sure in future people behaves good. Thanks for your time to write review. jaton

Salem, Oregon
Reviewed 18 April 2016

Dirty, noisey, old and, yes, cockroaches. When I called the hotel to let them know that we would be checking in later that night, it took a good dozen rings before the phone was answered. That should have been my second concern of what we were getting ourselves into. The first was this hotel was not even listed as an...

Thank MMurak
jatin935, Front Office Manager at The Consulate Hotel, responded to this review

MMurak Thank you very much for your review .we will make sure you have good experience in your next visit,.we will make sure front desk reply soon

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 31 March 2016

it was our trip for family get together .initially we were little scare about reviews.still we booked as rate were good compare to other hotels.But we had no problems we enjoyed stay room was good,clean, facing point loma with fantastic view.i will recommend people to stay and visit this place without worry .i have booked again in august for summer...

Thank dianekirkpat
jatin935, Front Office Manager at The Consulate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Diana Thanks for your time to write review .we as team are committed to provide better and better service.we will make your next visit memorable. Thanks again.

New York, NY
Reviewed 26 March 2016

This is the most disgusting hotel I have ever stayed at in the United States. How anyone running a hotel can get away with not vacuuming a room between guests is completely a mystery and a scandal. I got this booking through Hotwire and it was cheap, but even so I want my money back.

Thank Resnyc
jatin935, NIGHT AUDIT at The Consulate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We deeply apologize for your experience staying with us, hopefully you will give us another chance to change your mind.

San Diego, California
Reviewed 9 March 2016

OMG! Do yourself a HUGE FAVOR, don't waste your money. I'm not sure where to begin, but had we actually read the many, many terrible reviews on line, we would not have ended up at the Consulate Hotel in Point Loma. It was a sort of a last minute decision to stay overnight rather than head back to stay with...

3Thank SoccerMama1982
jatin935, Manager at The Consulate Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your time to write review on line .My front desk agent always ready to help guest 24 hrs.we are sorry for your experience and we are taking corrective action professionally by pest control company .IT would have been better to print room number to be specific for your complaint.

San Diego, California
Reviewed 11 January 2016

I found bed bug in my bed, the management was not surprised, took it as a norm. good location, good price, but $20 economy is not worth spending $1000 to get rid of bed bugs in your house if you bring them from that hotel.

Thank joy k
jatin935, Public Relations Manager at The Consulate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear joy k On behalf of management we are sorry to have such experience. Mostly our front desk immediately give you different room , and we check room and call professional pest control company . And we clean guest cloths at our laundry to make sure you are free of any bugs.Mostly people complains at time of check out where...

22 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (8)
Bathroom (1)
Room/Suite (2)
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (14)
Room/Suite (6)
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.8 km away
Cabrillo Inn & Suites Airport
Cabrillo Inn & Suites Airport
#187 of 279 in San Diego
130 reviews
0.5 km away
Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside
#106 of 279 in San Diego
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Ramada San Diego Airport
Ramada San Diego Airport
#143 of 279 in San Diego
1,294 reviews
0.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Yacht Harbor Hotel
0.3 km away
Hotel Aqua Mar
Hotel Aqua Mar
#167 of 279 in San Diego
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are located in the heart of Point Loma near many great attractions. We have over 100 rooms some suites that have a Harbor View. We have Free WiFi and all the room amenities. Shuttle service and underground parking is available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Consulate Hotel

Address: 2901 Nimitz Blvd, San Diego, CA 92106-2321 (Formerly Quality Inn Airport SeaWorld Area)
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Price Range: ₹ 4,910 - ₹ 10,868 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Consulate Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Consulate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Airport Seaworld Area Hotel San Diego
San Diego Quality Inn
Quality Inn San Diego
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Consulate Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Check for Bed Bugs before you hit the bed”
 of 5 bubbles 174karthikm, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“doors making lot of noise”
 of 5 bubbles dianekirkpat, 31 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Just keep going back to front desk and demand a better room. These people need to be shamed into doing their jobs.”
 of 5 bubbles Resnyc, 25 Mar 2016 | Read review
“the higher the better, south side”
 of 5 bubbles 202joyk, 10 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Nope, don't do it.”
 of 5 bubbles 406brittanys, 4 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5