We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Red Roof Inn San Diego Downtown

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Red Roof Inn San Diego Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

200 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Red Roof Inn San Diego Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 153: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

Pros Nice staff Free parking if you find a space Free wifi Comfy beds Great location (near Gaslamp) Cons Dirty bathroom Some strange folk loitering around outside a few times 16 dollars a night to park if you don't find a space in the main entrance

Thank Lord_Robin_Bishop
Nicholas V, General Manager at Red Roof Inn San Diego Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your stay. We our very proud of the level of customer service our staff provides our guests. I apologize that your room did not meet expectations, but I am happy you did find our were comfortable. We value your candid feedback. Thank you for choosing to stay with us...

Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 September 2016

We chose this hotel based on price as we were only staying one night and it was just somewhere to lay our heads. We arrived early but unfortunately our rooms weren’t ready so we parked the car and went for a walk. We returned at 3:00pm and by then both rooms were prepared. The rooms were good, the beds were...

Thank LiciaW
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

I was there to visit my grandson who is in the Navy. I was so disappointed in the hotel. There was never any parking on lot had to park on street. Shower was awful no pressure. Breakfast was just ok, but it was the only thing in my stay that was ok.

Thank Esther C
Oxnard, California
Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

Got sent to 3 different rooms. Upon arriving, the bed board collapsed. Room 2, started dripping something good yellowish at about 4 am, onto the faux wood floor. It did stop. I reported it to the front desk. They told me they would have someone look at it. Went to SeaWorld. Came back and saw the same thing, and maintenance...

Thank oneeddy1
San Diego, California
Reviewed 1 September 2016

I came into the Red Roof Inn tired and grumpy. Shanica greeted me with a great smile, a great attitude and gave me a great deal on my room. She really knows how to treat a customer. Because of Shanica's great customer service I will be returning to the Red Roof Inn for all of my hotel needs. Shanica explained...

Thank Mobetta5
Ilion, New York
Reviewed 24 August 2016

This is the most disgusting hotel I have ever stayed at. The room was falling apart. no parking ... had to park around the corner in an under ground garage. Very unsafe. The room was dirty. had a garage style type toilet. The shower was extremely small and tiles falling down and cracked. The floors instantly turned your socks black....

Thank theresaimpink
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 19 August 2016

The hotel was nice for the price. Ivan the manager was super helpful and answered all our questions. The room was nice with sound proof windows. Airplanes fly over every 5 minutes and the street noise can be an issue late at night. The place was clean , the parking was good with a fee. Everything was close by. I...

Thank danaV1444WK
Sassari, Italy
Reviewed 8 August 2016

I was quite disappointed by this hotel and its staff in general. They don't seem to be eager to help. They are very laid back. I arrived by 9 pm to find out they had canceled my reservation without even notifying me and the day before I had sent them a note via booking.com informing them of my late arrival,...

Thank LellaSS
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

My boyfriend and I came to SD for a random weekend getaway, but our hotel had some issues with our reservation that it wasn't able to go through. Upset, we were just about to head back to LA but stopped by here just to see if we can hopefully find a room for the night. We were helped by SHANICA!!!...

Thank Stella P
A TripAdvisor Member
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the red roof mainly because of the rate we found. Overall good experience, we were able to easily walk to the pier, gas lamp quarter and little Italy. The zoo was also in walking distance. This was key because parking was nearly impossible in the area. Staff was awesome. Very helpful! Wifi wasn't great but overall would...

Thank A TripAdvisor Member

52 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (35)
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Dining (1)
Room/Suite (14)
Bathroom (6)
View from Room (1)
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (17)
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Room/Suite (10)
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Days Inn San Diego/Downtown/Convention Center
BEST WESTERN Cabrillo Garden Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Non-Smoking Red Roof Inn San Diego Downtown is located just minutes from The San Diego International Airport via car or our complimentary shuttle. Our newly renovated rooms are the provide the perfect place to stay while visiting local attractions like the San Diego Convention Center, SeaWorld, San Diego State University or the USS Midway, all located within an easy drive of our location. For a day or evening out, enjoy all that the Gaslamp Quarter has to offer from food, to shopping to entertainment less than a mile from The Red Roof Inn San Diego Downtown. Enjoy our Non-Smoking rooms and free WiFi while experiencing all that San Diego has to offer. Our business center is open 24 hours for all of your travel needs and a microwave & refrigerator are available in select rooms. Relax in our lobby with coffee house style coffee and tea in the lobby. Parking is available for passanger vehicles is available for a fee and complimentary shuttle service is available to the San Diego Airport, Amtrack & cruise ship terminals. Shuttle Hours are from 5AM to 9PM. So, if your destination is the San Diego Zoo, or taking in a game at the ball park or just visiting all of the attractions and events San Diego has in store, the Red Roof Inn San Diego Downtown welcomes you as a guest in your travels to San Diego Downtown. One well behaved pet is welcome. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn San Diego Downtown

Address: 719 Ash St, San Diego, CA 92101-3213 (Formerly Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown)
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Price Range: ₹ 5,425 - ₹ 19,739 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn San Diego Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Red Roof Inn San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown Hotel San Diego
Rodeway Inn And Suites Downtown
Rodeway Inn Downtown
Rodeway Inn San Diego
San Diego Rodeway Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Red Roof Inn San Diego Downtown staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Sparta, New Jersey
Toronto, Canada
San Diego, California
Toronto, Canada

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Red Roof Inn San Diego Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Good rate a little bit away from downtoen but for the price walk or catch a uber 4$ or go 5 blocks down tge street and pay much more”
 of 5 bubbles brandonh430, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“try not to get a room by the main street, to noisy”
 of 5 bubbles danaV1444WK, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
“upper rooms are spacious with good a/c”
 of 5 bubbles andyh642016, 3 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Choose a different hotel”
 of 5 bubbles panama2000, 8 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Avoid room 307 for the reason I mentionned”
 of 5 bubbles Ms_Voyage, 22 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5