We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

PB Surf Beachside Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
PB Surf Beachside Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

313 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for PB Surf Beachside Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 284: English reviews
Norway
Reviewed 25 November 2016

We stayed for three nights when visiting San Diego in early November. The place was easy to find. Check in was quick and smooth. We got a quiet room on the third floor - as requested. The room was spacious and clean, queen bed comfortable. Nice sun terrace close to our room. Only negative about this place is WiFi which...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kleopetra
jimsilver, General Manager at PB Surf Beachside Inn, responded to this review

Eventually, the WiFi will be complimentary. The good news is that it is inexpensive, and the provider allows up to four devices for cost of one. Also, the WiFi signal has been upgraded twice within the past year making it very fast. I have been known to refund the cost of the WiFi if really becomes an issue.

Ormond Beach Florida
Reviewed 18 November 2016

Stayed here on my son's recommendation. Overall..............it's OK. Positives first. Very friendly and helpful front desk. Motel grounds are well maintained, room was clean,and bed was comfortable. This place is located close to beach on the main drag. Negatives. Parking is limited, WIFI is $6.00, and breakfast limited to donuts. If you've been to Pacific Beach you'll know there is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gary1952
jimsilver, General Manager at PB Surf Beachside Inn, responded to this review

The parking is and will always be an issue for us. When they built this property, underground parking was not constructed, and I guess street parking was not an issue. As you know, street parking can ne an issue during the busy times, and even our overflow parking at our sister property can become full. I know the breakfast is...

Provincetown, Massachusetts
Reviewed 14 November 2016 via mobile

Thank you again for having such a great place to come and stay! We love it here. Always great staff, clean rooms and hot coffee in the morning! The grounds are also very well kept up. The rates are very fair and even better with a AAA discount! 😀

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BaileysMom72
jimsilver, General Manager at PB Surf Beachside Inn, responded to this review

We hope you will continue to stay with us. Please remember that we will always match any of our online rates, and that sometimes our return rate is even better.

Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for a night while visiting San Diego with my husband. This hotel is walking distance from so many bars and restaurants on Pacific Beach. It's also less than a block from the beach and on the nicer end of the beach. As for the hotel, it was clean and updated but would consider it more a economy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sascha N
jimsilver, General Manager at PB Surf Beachside Inn, responded to this review

I agree that the location is almost perfect. Many guests never drive once they check in with us, as there are so many options for entertainment and dining within walking distance.

Reviewed 12 November 2016 via mobile

The room is clean and the location is amazing. We walked to the beach. Lots to see nearby. The staff is super friendly and gave great suggestions for things to do and places to eat. Everything we need is in walking distance. Parking spaces are tight but manageable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cherika W
jimsilver, General Manager at PB Surf Beachside Inn, responded to this review

I hope we ill see you on your next birthday! Thank you for staying with us!

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 7 November 2016

We booked here for a last minute celebration for my daughters birthday and were quite happy with it. This is a great affordable hotel steps from Pacific Beach. You really can't beat the location for the price. The rooms are simple but have everything you really need, including a microwave and fridge. There is free parking, if their lot is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cselkie
jimsilver, General Manager at PB Surf Beachside Inn, responded to this review

We do hope to see you again. I'm glad you had a nice simple solution to the firmness of your mattress. I get mixed responses about the mattresses, mostly positive, but have had extra blankets placed on an occasional bed due to this issue. Thank you very much for your review.

Cottonwood, Arizona
Reviewed 13 October 2016

This resort was a nice place to stay. The room was great size and comfortable to be in. The bed was comfortable but we did not care for the pillows but nothing beats personal pillows. There was an outside sitting area that was nice to sit at when we picked up dinner and brought it back to the resort. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scorch8501
jimsilver, General Manager at PB Surf Beachside Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry about the limited parking. This only occurs about four or five times a year when even our sister property is full. We do hope to see you again, and I will be sure that they do not forget about placing our choices of two juices out as well. Thank you for your review.

Ashford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 October 2016 via mobile

I was looking for an affordable motel, close to the Pacific beach and this seemed to tick all the boxes. Upon arrival the receptionist was warm and welcoming. The room was basic (which is what we were after) but was clean, spacious and had all the amenities we required including a microwave in the room, a fridge and TV. Bed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chazz V
jimsilver, General Manager at PB Surf Beachside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We appreciate you staying with us and hope you will make here again the next time you stay in PB.

Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

Most over priced place we have ever experienced. Tiny rooms, plug in the bathroom sparked every time it was used, unsafe hair dryer provided along with another that didn't work, no free wifi (shocking in this day and age), lots of street noise even on the third floor, hard mattresses, staff were irritated and grumpy when we asked any questions,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Megan C
jimsilver, General Manager at PB Surf Beachside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am very surprised to read about what you said regarding sparking. Since we renovated, there has never been a comment about something like that. We also double-paned the windows being that some of our rooms are located close to Mission Blvd. I honestly do not know what happened to make you not like anything,...

Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

Disappointed. We had to move rooms 3 times. The first 2 rooms had a very pungent gas/sewer smell that got worse when we ran the water. The 3rd room we got moved to was already "someone else's". We had to move again and was treated very poorly by the staff and they threatened to check us out. Not once did...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ashley H
jimsilver, General Manager at PB Surf Beachside Inn, responded to this review

Of course, we do apologize for the smell and the multiple moves. This is a problem we are currently working on getting resolved very soon, so it should not be a factor very soon. Thank you for trying us. We hope you will change your mind.

275 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (66)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (22)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (202)
Viewed
Double Queen Room with Handicap Accessibility (37)
Viewed
Queen Suite (38)
Viewed
Standard Queen Room (34)
Viewed
Suite (47)
Viewed
The Hotel (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Beach Haven
Beach Haven
#124 of 279 in San Diego
204 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Shores Inn
Pacific Shores Inn
#230 of 279 in San Diego
427 reviews
Pacific Beach
Diamond Head Inn
Diamond Head Inn
#226 of 279 in San Diego
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Surfer Beach Hotel
Surfer Beach Hotel
#107 of 279 in San Diego
642 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#29 of 279 in San Diego
1,013 reviews
Ocean Beach Hotel
#147 of 279 in San Diego
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Featuring surfer style and modern amenities in the perfect beachfront location, our friendly hotel offers an appealing blend of style, setting and service. The beach is steps away, inviting you to stroll along the soft sands and soak in the salty sea breeze. You'll be dazzled by the choice of local restaurants within walking distance. Relax in our heated pool or on the rooftop patio. From BBQ grills to free continental breakfast, our hotel in San Diego is a comfortable setting for your beach vacation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about PB Surf Beachside Inn

Address: 4760 Mission Blvd, San Diego, CA 92109-2539
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Price Range: ₹ 8,053 - ₹ 19,183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — PB Surf Beachside Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your PB Surf Beachside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seacoast Palms Hotel San Diego
Seacoast Palms Inn
Seacoast Palms San Diego
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from PB Surf Beachside Inn staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from PB Surf Beachside Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you are traveling as a couple, ask for a third floor room.”
  • Backlit Full Size Mirror
  • One of the views from our room.
  • Closet
  • Shower
  • Room Bathroom
  • Queen bed
  • Fridge, microwave, and coffee maker
  • Queen room, clean and comfy
 of 5 bubbles katlovesboy, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rm 225 very quiet but view is roodtops, 301, 302 have a rooftop seating.”
 of 5 bubbles dalem138, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We were on the side away from the street, and on the third floor.”
 of 5 bubbles coletteb778, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“There are stairs to the second floor... a detail to consider if you need to drag heavy luggage. I asked for a room downstairs.”
 of 5 bubbles GabrielaL335, 20 May 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are good”
 of 5 bubbles tinasE6144MH, 11 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5