We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown

Booking.comUS$ 170*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 335*
US$ 170*
US$ 335*
US$ 170*
US$ 335*
US$ 171*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,474 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,409: English reviews
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed there for a couple of days. Right next to Little Italy. This Hampton Inn had exceptional staff, wonderful rooms, excellent location to activities. Great amenities too. Great value for any type of stay in San Diego.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 79Cooleen
Mark M, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to San Diego and for taking the time to share your experience. I'm so pleased to read that you found the hotel staff exceptional for they do work very hard to ensure all guests have a wonderful experience. We do hope to welcome you back again soon. Sincerely, Mark...

california
Reviewed 1 week ago

We chose this hotel solely on the fact that it offered shuttle from airport and to the cruise terminal. The hotel was a little noisy for our taste, but most of the noise came from other rude guests that stayed up laughing and talking loud till 2am. There was also a bachelorette party across from my daughters room that got...

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank calfair
Mark M, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this review

Hi Calfair! Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to San Diego. Thank you for rating your stay 4 stars but I do apologize for the noisy neighbors and do hope that your cruise was a wonderful experience. We do hope to welcome your back on your next cruise. Sincerely, Mark General Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We ended up in San Diego 13 hours before our scheduled check-in due to an emergency visit to the hospital. After 8 hours in the ER we were discharged at 2:30AM... Luckily Matt the night manager was on duty and let us check into our room early. It was a very stressful night and it was great to finally get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adam S
Mark M, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this review

Hi Adam! Thanks for taking the time to post a review and giving Matt a shout out as well. Working the overnight shift is not for everyone and we are sure happy that Matt is part of our team. He does a great job. Hope all is well with you and your family. We hope to welcome you back again...

Naperville, Illinois
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in room 513. When I made this reservation I was concerned that it may be too close to the train and trolley tracks, and while it was close, and you could hear some noise, it wasn't bad and it didn't wake us up. The hotels location is really great, being close to Little Italy and its many restaurants,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rb47
Mark M, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this review

Good morning! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience on your recent stay with us. What a wonderful review. Thanks also for giving Sean a shout out for he is a great asset to the team and does like to engage with the guests. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Sincerely, Mark

Kansas City, KS, United States
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I am overall pleased with Hampton Inns. The hotel was clean, right next to a trolley stop, had an available airport shuttle and had very welcoming staff. I wish that I had been told in advance that one side of the hotel faced construction. When I was told at check in, I was also told that if I wanted to...

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank D9282WAsarahm
Mark M, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this review

Good morning! Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to San Diego! I'm pleased to read that you were over all pleased due to the welcoming staff, clean rooms, and location. Sorry to read that the construction was a challenge and that there was not a better room location. We do hope you will return...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our reservation was originally with Holiday Inn Express but we got overbooked and Expedia transferred us to Hampton. We were very happy with the service and quality of our stay. Breakfast buffet was excellent. The staff were friendly & helpful. We would definitely come back.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank chingans2017
Mark M, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this review

Good morning! Thank you for staying with us recently and taking the time to post a review on your experience. I'm pleased to see that you rated your stay 5 stars. Thanks for sharing how friendly and helpful the staff was and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Sincerely, Mark Manis General Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The location close to the San Diego Gas Lamp district is perfect. The staff was very friendly and professional and the breakfast buffet was ok. Room was larger than what I was expecting for that location and price. Sadly though there was a construction site right next to the hotel which started work early. I hope this is finished by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Olivier W
Mark M, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this review

Hi Oliver! So happy to read you enjoyed your stay and found the location to be great. Sorry about the construction the noise will be ending soon for they are almost finished. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Sincerely, Mark Manis

San Jose, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Hampton is close to the airport with a free courtesy shuttle. It's also walking distance to Little Italy, the harbor attractions and the municipal trolley. They provide a nice selection of hot and cold breakfast items as well as coffee/tea all day. Would stay there again.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank GlenNGloria
Mark M, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your amazing feedback about Hampton Inn by Hilton San Diego. We appreciate it. It is great to hear you have enjoyed our ideal location to everything. Please think of us the next time you visit San Diego.

Bucharest, Romania
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My card was charged twice for the same stay. 2 weeks later, i am still trying to speak with someone from the hotel to solve the problem, and all i get is promises that i will be contacted. Do not recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexandru A
Mark M, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this review

Hello Alexandru! I'm very sorry to hear that you have had challenges with your billing. I checked with the accounting team this evening and I was pleased to hear they have been in communication with you via email on May 5th. I was informed that a hold for your incidentals was on your account. I'm sorry if this was a...

Tampa , Florida, United States
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I'd like to make this my home . The staff were accommodating , the breakfast had every desirable food prepared correctly and presented attractively . I would choose this location again as it is next to the trolley tracks that take you to every tourist destination with a minimum of fuss , money and time . Yes, there are distracting...

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank elizabethsY8480PP
Mark M, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words about Hampton Inn San Diego Downtown. We are so happy you appreciated our location, which is so close to all the great things San Diego has to offer. Please think of us again, the next time you visit our great city.

257 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (205)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Other (84)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (14)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
SpringHill Suites San Diego Downtown/Bayfront
Downtown
Best Western Plus Bayside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#120 of 279 in San Diego
2,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Right in the heart of the Embarcadero San Diego downtown, the award-winning Hampton Inn San Diego-Downtown hotel represents the best in California hospitality. We're a 177 guest room hotel dedicated to providing the finest level of hotel comfort. Experience fun and adventure as you sail around the cruise terminal. Savor delicious Italian food in Little Italy and the Gaslamp District. Get close to wildlife at SeaWorld and the San Diego Zoo. Catch a big league game at nearby Petco Park and Qualcomm Stadium. The possibilities are endless when you visit our friendly hotel in downtown San Diego, CA. We're conveniently located just off of I-5 - only a mile from San Diego Airport and the San Diego Convention Center. Two blocks from the beauty of the San Diego Bay, we're less than half a mile from the cruise terminal. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown

Address: 1531 Pacific Hwy, San Diego, CA 92101-2413
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Price Range: ₹ 10,400 - ₹ 20,283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown Hotel San Diego
San Diego Hampton Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown staff and other travellers.
26 questions
Ask a question
USA
Livonia, Michigan
Saint Cloud, MN, USA

See all questions (26)

Questions? Get answers from Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Close to cruise port”
DBSTexas, 24 May 2017 | Read review
“If Hilton member free wifi as noted when checking in.”
450juditha, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“Avoid rooms turned to railroad”
RodrigoFB, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask if the room is facing the construction site”
914olivierw, 9 May 2017 | Read review
“have your card charged twice.”
175alexandrua, 8 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$ 170* /night
View Deal
Hampton.comUS$ 170
Hotwire.comUS$ 171
AMOMAUS$ 335
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates