We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

243 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 236: English reviews
Start your review of Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area
 Click to rate
San Diego, California
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank danielmV7306JK
Reno, Nevada
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 20 March 2017

Wifi is in all room, nice pool, friendly staff and comfortable beds. Good location and the property is quiet. Recommend this motel for any traveler. Easy access to the freeway with fun things to do within walking distance

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jessica M
About Hotel's Favourite Review
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area, responded to this review

Hi Jessica, Thank you for giving us a perfect rating and for recommending our hotel to other travelers. I'm sure our entire hotel staff enjoyed catering to your needs as much as you enjoyed your stay. We hope to be your hosts again soon! Best wishes, Hotel Management

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed for a week at the Howard Johnson Inn, and had to deal with broken safes, uncleanliness and floods in my room and rude service. The room itself seemed to be fine, a good sized bed, with a TV, microwave and a little ensuite. I thought when I arrived that it was perfect, I was visiting a friend who...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zoe E
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area, responded to this review

Zoe, We can't tell you how disappointed we are that your stay with us wasn't as comfortable as you had hoped. Please know that the issue regarding the water in your room was unprecedented and we can only apologize for the delay in placing you in different room. Please be aware that we are investigating the cause of the problem...

lauranada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Good things - clean, good size room, decent shower and big bed. Bad things - very average breakfast (and grumpy staff in the morning) and strange smell in the room when we checked in (went quickly with the door open for half an hour) All in all was a fine budget option.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lauranada
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area, responded to this review

Hi, We are happy to have provided you with a spacious, clean room, at a very reasonable rate, and we appreciate your review outlining this. We are sorry that your room had not been aired sufficiently prior to your arrival, and we are very disappointed that you did not receive the friendly service from all of our staff, that we...

La Mesa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was a nice room I would come again but had to leave after only being there for a hr or 45 mins and I wish I could had got my money back or at less some of it...I had a emergency and had to take off so didn't even get to enjoy the room...front desk lady's was very nice

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ivaboykins
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area, responded to this review

We are so sorry that your plans changed so suddenly and you weren't able to stay with us. It really is a shame. We hope that your emergency was resolved to your satisfaction, and we hope that you will have an opportunity to have a much lengthier stay with us in the near future. Best wishes, Hotel Management

Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kennetha528
howardjohnsonsdsu, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area, responded to this review

Palo Alto, California
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank frequenttraveler594
howardjohnsonsdsu, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area, responded to this review

Tacoma, Washington
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel was in a decent neighborhood, within walking distance of shopping and restaurants. The carpets were in need of a good shampooing. We were only there long enough to sleep, but I would go back. Room was fairly clean. The amenities were sparse. Only shampoo and soap, no conditioner or lotion, my hair and skin were pretty dry in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kristalg7
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area, responded to this review

Thank you for your detailed feedback in relation to your recent stay with us. We are happy that you were satisfied with your stay, and that you would stay with us again, albeit there were a few things that perhaps disappointed you a little. We continuously review the amenities and services that we provide for our guests, and we will...

San Jose, California
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sarahpJ9732XE
howardjohnsonsdsu, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area, responded to this review

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 305sk8
howardjohnsonsdsu, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area, responded to this review

28 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Diego
2.7 km away
Rodeway Inn San Diego Near Qualcomm Stadium
0.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
2.3 km away
Days Inn & Suites San Diego SDSU
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East
25.8 km away
Quality Suites Otay Mesa
Quality Suites Otay Mesa
#183 of 279 in San Diego
69 reviews
3.4 km away
Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Newly Remodeled Rooms with Flat Screen LED TV.Walking distance to SDSU (San Diego State University), a block away from major shopping center and restaurants & bars. Very easy access to I-8 highway and very convenient location. 24 hour front desk, free Continental Breakfast & Wifi in all rooms and a large swimming pool and guest laundry facility available. Free Bus and Truck Parking also available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area

Address: 6440 El Cajon Boulevard, San Diego, CA 92115
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Price Range: ₹ 5,247 - ₹ 10,299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn - San Diego Hotel San Diego
Howard Johnson San Diego
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Trophy Club, Texas
11 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Howard Johnson Inn San Diego State University Area staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed on the second floor in the front area quiet loved that the restroom was by itself not close to the beds”
supernanamary53, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“No options”
Flyer000, 26 Dec 2016 | Read review
“there should be a plunger available at the office for guest who have a clogged toilet”
robmR6289QG, 4 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Avoid this hotel!”
RebeccaSmithFL, 4 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Book well in advance of your trip and you should be able to obtain a good room. Rooms at back are a distance from the road, making for a quiet stay.”
pavitts, 10 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5