We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

La Pensione

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
La Pensione
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

513 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for La Pensione
See the most recent reviews
Showing 453: English reviews
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

My small family of 3 stayed overnite after a trip to the San Diego Zoo -about 10 min drive. The hotel is one of the smallest we have ever stayed in however, do not judge by this. The place is clean & very well thought out. Everything you need you get along w a fun mod design. The bed is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 3TravelMonkeys
Marc H, General Manager at La Pensione, responded to this review

Thanks for choosing to stay with us as part of your Zoo adventure! We know our standard rooms are comfy, and are glad that our rates reflect such a great value. We're glad you liked our design and our layout. We're all about maximizing space and light! Being right in the middle of Little Italy, street noise is inevitable. Next...

Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed at the La Pensione hotel in Little Italy for five nights and used it as our base to explore the San Diego area. We had a recently refurbished corner room which was ideal for what we needed. The room was a little small, but nothing we are not use to in Europe. Our only real complaint was the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julers
Marc H, General Manager at La Pensione, responded to this review

I appreciate your taking the time to leave us a review! Glad you were able to explore and see so much of San Diego during your stay. We know wi-fi is important to all of our guests, so we're currently working on solutions to make it speedy and readily available. Thanks for your patience and we hope you'll have a...

Orlando, Florida
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I stayed here in July and thinking about going back around Xmas time and realized I didn't write a review for that July 2013 stay. I go to SD to visit my son and have always stayed here because of the location, the good price and the service I have received. Yes some of the rooms can be small.....but I...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ginanwayne
Marc H, General Manager at La Pensione, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for remembering to review your July stay! We really appreciate it. Glad you had the chance to have the full Little Italy experience! And yes, you are right. We always have the option of our larger rooms with two beds. Many of our guests are adventurous explorers just like yourself, so you were spot on when you...

Tampa, Florida
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I stayed here with a group of friends to celebrate a birthday. We bounced around greater San Diego and this was my favorite place we stayed. Great location, great service, great room and my room had a great view of Little Italy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bodine948
Marc H, General Manager at La Pensione, responded to this review

Sounds like a fun birthday trip, especially with exploring all of San Diego! Glad you had fun and thanks for picking us as your fave hotel out of the rest. Put a smile on my face! We hope to see you again soon!

Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here instead of the Hyatt because the price was so much lower. I read prior reviews which were mostly positive. I concur. If you want a huge spotless room with tons of storage space this is not the place for you. The room was very small and storage space for clothes to last a week...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlanBachrach
Marc H, General Manager at La Pensione, responded to this review

Hi Alan, It was great meeting you the other day! My team and I are so glad that you didn't experience any of the qualms that previous reviewers had. We're vigilant about these reviews and use each of them to make the hotel better and better. Sounds like you two had a wonderful vacation. We hope to see you both...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

La Pensione is a great gem. Many people complain about the size of the rooms - I guess people are not aware that rooms in boutique hotels are almost always smaller. With that said, the rooms do not lack anything and even have en suite refrigerators. The rooms are just lovely - modern and quite chic. The baths are complete...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cardozo92
Marc H, General Manager at La Pensione, responded to this review

First off, happy belated birthday! Thank you for picking us for the base of your celebratory vacation. We're happy that you had such a great time and that you were able to walk barefront throughout your room :) We're ecstatic to be your first choice for your next venture out to San Diego. Javier, Stephanie AND Penny say "hi" and...

Orlando, Florida
Reviewed 15 October 2013

You get what you pay for with this hotel. It's very affordable, especially for the great neighborhood it's in, but in return you have to expect small rooms and limited service. The parking in the garage is limited, and we weren't able to get in there until the second night of our stay, but because we stayed 5 nights, they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank circularmedia
Marc H, General Manager at La Pensione, responded to this review

Hello - we appreciate your staying with us and taking the time afterwards to write us a review! We're happy that we can offer such great rates, especially compared with other hotels in downtown San Diego. We also have rooms with two beds, which are considerably larger than our standard rooms with one bed. We're happy to reserve one of...

New York
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I saw a good deal on this hotel from Expedia and booked. The room was small but sufficient, very nice decor and clean. The room also had a mini fridge. The sink was in the room, shower and toilet in the bathroom. The location in Little Italy was great. It was also close to the County Line/Little Italy San Diego...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank legacytraveler
Marc H, General Manager at La Pensione, responded to this review

Thanks for selecting us on Expedia and for taking the time to write a review! Glad you took advantage of the trolley line. It's one of our favorite ways to get around without a car. We hope to see you again soon!

Augusta, Georgia
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

My Husband And I Had 3 Days In San Diego And Were Looking For a A Quaint hotel Within Walking Distance To Shops and Restaurants. This Hotel Was Perfect! The Rooms Are Very Clean And Homey! The Bed Was Very Comfortable And The Shower Was Fantastic. The Pictures From The Web Site And The Virtual Tour On The Web Site...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lorena S
Marc H, General Manager at La Pensione, responded to this review

Thanks for the glowing review! It was a pleasure meeting you and your husband and we hope you have a chance to visit us and the rest of Little Italy soon!

Cerritos, California, United States
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

What can I say? We had a great time in this hotel! It was a great find and we had such a great experience there. When I first saw the hotel listing for LA Pensione, I was skeptical because the rooms looked small. Luckily, it was offering 50 % off at the time so I decided on staying since it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marc P
Marc H, General Manager at La Pensione, responded to this review

Grazie tanti to you, too! You made us smile knowing that this was one of your best trips to San Diego. Thank you for picking us as your hotel and also for taking the time after your trip to write us a review. Fingers crossed that we'll see you again soon! PS. We love the cannollis too. Can't get enough...

114 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (94)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#78 of 278 in San Diego
517 reviews
Downtown
Porto Vista Hotel
Porto Vista Hotel
#110 of 278 in San Diego
1,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites
#175 of 278 in San Diego
472 reviews
Downtown
The Sofia Hotel
The Sofia Hotel
#80 of 278 in San Diego
1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Considered one of the most affordable and best-kept secrets in San Diego, La Pensione Hotel is a historic property located in San Diego’s Little Italy neighborhood. La Pensione Hotel offers 68 guestrooms, a relaxing courtyard area, free high-speed internet, limited underground parking spots, conference room and a workout facility. After a property refresh in summer of 2011, La Pensione now offers air conditioning in every room and a new class of guest rooms called the Argento Collection. ... more   less 

Additional Information about La Pensione

Address: 606 W. Date St., San Diego, CA 92101
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Price Range: ₹ 9,793 - ₹ 22,002 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Pensione 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Pensione reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pensione San Diego
La Pensione Hotel San Diego
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from La Pensione staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
3 days ago
over a year ago
New York City, New York
over a year ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from La Pensione staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Saturday nights can be a little noisy on the street, but the hotel is well insulated.”
 of 5 bubbles janel556, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms facing inside (courtyard) could be noisy around the clock.”
 of 5 bubbles Heidi_TJ, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you want it very quiet ask for room off the main street, but you may lose a view”
 of 5 bubbles X685RVbryans, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a 4th floor room facing west.”
 of 5 bubbles Erin218, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“With the breakfast coupon, it covers certain items, but if you want to go for something more expensive you can and just pay the difference.”
 of 5 bubbles TommoTravels, 28 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5