We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Surfer Beach Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Surfer Beach Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

628 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Surfer Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 597: English reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2015 via mobile

Surfer is awesome every time, has the best location and price on the beach. Daniel at the front desk is great and super helpful and gave us an awesome price on the sunset suite. We are always happy with our stay here!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Destinychild25
Adam D, General Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DestinyChild25, Thanks for the five-star review. We hope to have you back again for next year's Spring Break. Sincerely, Adam M. Della Rocca

Reviewed 14 March 2015 via mobile

Could not check in at 4pm as told! Finally got into room at 4:45pm. Did not honor the room location as discussed on the reservation! The front desk was very unprofessional. When I walked into room the pillow case had orange stains on it. The toilet had obviously been used by the prior guests and had stains. It was disgusting!...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brady W
Adam D, General Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Brady W, I apologize for the late check-in, which I can assure you is a rare occurrence. We had two housekeepers call in sick, so were short-staffed and I apologize for the delay. A discount had already been provided in compensation for the inconvenience. When you checked-in, you asked for a room in another location of the hotel. We...

Beverly, Massachusetts
Reviewed 13 March 2015

Nice setting. Nice beach access. Nice TV in room, but beware. Their "standard rooms", which cost you ~$200, are on the ground floor and have absolutely privacy. The worst is #111. Smelly and stuffy, with no windows. It has a slider that looks out on the pool area, but it is on the only aisle that provides beach access to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tom C
Adam D, General Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tom C, I am disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay. Room 111 is indeed a standard room, without an ocean view, but many guests prefer this room for it's proximity to the beach. However, the behaviour of other guests passing through that area is a concern and I encourage our guests to reach out to...

Denver
Reviewed 12 March 2015

It's been a number of months since we stayed here, but I want to warn others that the photos of the suite rooms are misleading. Our room was terribly small and uncomfortable. When the sofa bed was pulled out, it was too small for our teenage son to sleep on and butted right up to the wall so there was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank DenverMom01
Adam D, General Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DenverMom01, I am sorry that your son had trouble with the pullout couch. Being a boutique hotel, not all of our rooms are identical in size and shape. Most of our junior suites have an arrangement where the pullout couch has plenty of room. I apologize that it was not configured correctly in your room. We have pictures on...

Reviewed 9 March 2015 via mobile

The Sunset Suite #200 is by far the sweetest spot on all of Pacific Beach Drive in my honest opinion. It has the sickest views of the ocean as well as anythin walkin past the HUGE Ocean facing Deck out back. It easily sleeps 4-couples/8-people comfortably even more if U get creative. Has a full size kitchen & frig wat...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adrian V
Adam D, General Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Adrian V, I am delighted that you had a five-star experience in our Sunset Suite. The Sunset Suite can only be reserved by going to our website or calling the hotel directly, however it is the best deal in Pacific Beach. It is much more affordable than a vacation rental with less hassle and all the convenience (and housekeeping...

Reviewed 6 March 2015 via mobile

Great service, great view, great prices! A really awesome boutique hotel with a killer view. Listening to the ocean was so peaceful. I loved ear plugs they leave for the guest who don't like the sound of the ocean. The staff was attentive and extremely friendly. Can't wait to go back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cougiehowser
Adam D, General Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cougiehowser, I am pleased that our team was able to provide you with a five-star experience. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Sincerely, Adam M. Della Rocca | General Manager

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 5 March 2015 via mobile

Favorite place to stay in PB! Right on the beach, awesome rooms, all the amenities. Daniel (front desk) was amazing and definitely hooked us up upon arrival. Will definitely stay here again on future trips and suggest you do, too!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alwaysfresh
Adam D, General Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alwaysfresh, Please allow me to express my gratitude for the five-star review! We enjoy reading the positive comments because we work hard to ensure our guests enjoy their stay. Daniel works most evenings and is the face that greets most of our guests upon arrival. He is a star member of our staff and I will pass along your...

Reviewed 5 March 2015 via mobile

This is the best you can get for your dollars. It's nog crazy overpriced compared to the other places. Daniel was really amazing checking us in and giving us a good deal. This place has a number one location with beach view rooms. Best place to end and start your day!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thomasbos
Adam D, General Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Thomasbos, Thank you for the five-star review. The Surfer is in an ideal location overlooking the Pacific. We understand the importance of good value for our guests and try to price ourselves accordingly. We are happy you had such a great time. Thanks again! Adam M. Della Rocca | General Manager

Reviewed 27 February 2015

I was suffering from mold and asbestos in my house and needed a neat place to stay for the week to forget the trouble. I walked in to many places trying to overcharge me, but Daniel at the surfer hotel helped me really out with my struggles. Being from Holland we have a saying "We had luck with un-luck". Daniel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Atesdeniz
Adam D, General Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Atesdeniz, I am so happy to hear that Daniel was able to turn your luck around! Sometimes our guests are here out of necessity and not for leisure and our staff are trained to respond to each situation uniquely. I am glad that Daniel rose to the occasion and was able to respond accordingly to your plight! Thanks for...

Avondale
Reviewed 25 February 2015

Every time we go to San Diego for a weekend vacation, we stay here! Just booked yet another weekend for this upcoming Friday and Saturday. As always, Daniel took great care of us and booked our room at a great price with zero hassle. Perfect location, right on the beach, everything you could possible need is within walking distance.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jay S
Adam D, General Manager at Surfer Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jay S. We very much appreciate the repeat business. Thanks for excellent review as well. It is an honor to be recognized by one of our loyal guests. See you next time! Sincerely, Adam M. Della Rocca General Manager

480 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (197)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
View from Room (25)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (86)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (238)
Viewed
Amenities (4)
Viewed
Beach (5)
Viewed
Ocean View Double Room (22)
Viewed
Ocean View Family Unit (29)
Viewed
Ocean View Junior Suite (23)
Viewed
Ocean View King Room (22)
Viewed
Pool Area (20)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Standard Room (17)
Viewed
Sunset Suite (61)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Ocean Park Inn
#32 of 278 in San Diego
1,009 reviews
Pacific Beach
Beach Haven
Beach Haven
#123 of 278 in San Diego
201 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Diamond Head Inn
Diamond Head Inn
#230 of 278 in San Diego
169 reviews
PB Surf Beachside Inn
#143 of 278 in San Diego
312 reviews
Mission Beach
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
#24 of 278 in San Diego
1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This boutique hotel in Pacific Beach has stunning views of the pacific ocean and breathtaking sunsets. Rooms offer refrigerators, free Wi-Fi,42 inch plasma televisions, and are located a few shorts steps away from the sand and surf. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Surfer Beach Hotel

Address: 711 Pacific Beach Drive, San Diego, CA 92109
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Pacific Beach
Price Range: ₹ 11,766 - ₹ 27,677 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Surfer Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Surfer Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfer Beach San Diego
Hotel Surfer Beach
Surfer Hotel
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Surfer Beach Hotel staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Surfer Beach Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do not stay here the view is not worth price and the rooms are horrible”
 of 5 bubbles diemart61, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Pick a beach view room. Every 3rd floor beach floor room has a great view of the sunsets.”
 of 5 bubbles T1906GFmichaell, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I would call the hotel directly!! They are super helpful.”
 of 5 bubbles 184karip, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you have an ocean or pool view...otherwise you are looking at the parking lot.”
 of 5 bubbles lizo79, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Do not get room 302 worst view it is of the roof of their restaurant”
 of 5 bubbles tucsongirl2012, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5